We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
One week in Oaxaca

We are experienced, "over 60" travelers who can appreciate a great find. Suzanne and Benito, an... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Marjorie P
,
Atlanta, Georgia
An Incomparable Oaxaca Experience

Our visit to Oaxaca and the surrounding areas couldn't have been more interesting, surprising and... read more

Reviewed July 27, 2021
valmarchese
,
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Read all 111 reviews
  
Google
Recommended experiences in and around Oaxaca
from $35.94
More Info
from $54.99
More Info
from $47.57
More Info
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveler rating
105
1
2
0
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
105
1
2
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bird watching her husband virtual tour monte alban excellent days memorable trip natural history highest recommendation comfortable vehicle highly recommend this company food tour rug weaving knowledgeable guide local market two weeks great guide benito
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 111 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2019

Suzanne led a customized tour for me and my partner around Oaxaca City. Her in-depth knowledge of the city's history, culture, food, geography, and more was impressive. We had a private tour, and while we saw the main landmarks, she tailored the tour to what we were interested in and had not yet seen. I appreciated her kindness, humor, attention to detail, and patience (we asked lots of questions). She has lived in Oaxaca for many years and has a background in anthropology- both show! I cannot recommend her tour enough.

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank LRS77
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2019

We hired Benito for two days on our recent visit to Oaxaca. We were traveling with our two early teen boys. The tours were customized to suite our intrerests and the pacing avoided our boys getting board. On th first day we visited Monte Alban and a pottery studio in San Bartolo Coyotopec. Our visit to the pottery stuido coincided with a firing being unearthed. The potter also provided a demonstration. On our second day we visited the tule tree, Hierve de Agua, a roadside mezcal distillary and a weaver.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank lawrencea677
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2019

We booked a one-day tour through our hostel and when the tourist bus picked us up we found out it was through the agency "Discubre Oaxaca". The bus was comfortable, the driver kind and always ready to help out. We enjoyed the visit at Mitla and Hierve el Agua, even if the time at the last stop was not sufficient to fully enjoy the magnificent place, hike around and enjoy a cold coconut water staring at the beauty of nature. The visit at the mezcaleria and the tessil place were superficial, we did not get any significant insights and we felt like the final aim was to have us buy overpriced souvenirs. The first fact that disappointed us the most was the lunch, because we knew it was not included, but we expected to have a choice on where to eat and how much to spend, instead the bus stopped on a huge touristy buffet restaurant in the middle of nowhere and we were given 50 minutes to eat. It felt like a scam, because the buffet cost 150 pesos each and it did not include beverages (where in Oaxaca we ate at a 60 pesos buffet, incl. agua del dìa and even the buffets on the main square cost less). The final surprise was that they also charged us for the service (at a buffet?!?!), so we ended up paying almost 400 pesos in two, way too much considering we are in Mexico and we ate average food at a buffet. I want to be able to decide where I spend my money. The second big disappointment was the lack of a guide, because on our bus they sold all the available seats, therefore our guide was shared with another group, making every explanation extremely rushed. The worst part was at Mitla, were our guide was with another group, so we were reunited with other groups (30-40 people in total), where the guide had to provide both Spanish and English explanations, resulting in a huge mess (not the guide fault, she did her best and was extremely polite).

Date of experience: July 2019
2  Thank Martinnsss
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne B, Owner at Discover Oaxaca Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2019

Your experience was not with our company. We are Suzanne and Benito, expert tour guides with many years of experience. We offer deep insight into the places we visit. We don't offer group tours and we always guarantee our clients' satisfaction. If your guide was not Suzanne or Benito, you did not tour with us! Unfortunately, a company with a similar name that offers low-quality group tours is being confused with us. Your review belongs in a different section. Next time, book through our website discover-oaxaca.com and you won't have these issues.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2019

Our family of 4 recently had the opportunity to take several tours with Discover Oaxaca and we loved them. They were very flexible and customized several tours for us to maximize our time in Oaxaca. We took a customized Eastern Valley day tour that also included a visit to Hierve al Agua which was really great. Do it on a Sunday to visit the Sunday market at Tlacolula, a real treat. We also customized another day tour that included the city walking tour with a visit to Monte Alban and a visit to the village of San Antonio Arrazola for alebrijes, no doubt one of the highlights of our trip to Oaxaca. Benito our tour guide was exceptional. Friendly, knowledgeable and a pleasure to tour with. His demeanor and attitude were very engaging and he was always very flexible and attentive to our likes. We would highly recommend using their tour services in Oaxaca. You will not be disappointed, as I can't imagine another tour company with as much passion and knowledge for their city.

Their love for Oaxaca was very evident and really brought out what this great city and its surroundings has to offer the conscientious traveler.

Date of experience: May 2019
1  Thank gusg986
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2019

I cannot rate our experience of Discover Oaxaca highly enough, it was a truly memorable experience from start to finish. Benito was absolutely the perfect guide, as knowledgeable about culture and history as he was about nature, it made for a fascinating day out that was completely tailored to what we wanted to do.

One of things we particularly liked was that Benito took us to smaller businesses to eat lunch and to see Mezcal being made, feeling like he was making a real effort to support smaller businesses and not just go to the same places as everyone else.

This was my second visit to Oaxaca and I learnt to much more than on my previous visit all thanks to Benito - when we return I wouldn't hesitate to use their services again to get further off the beaten track as the experience was wonderful in every way.

It was also super simple to book and to discuss options on the phone in advance - we dealt with Suzanne and she was equally as friendly and as helpful as Benito.

Finally, I hate tours that take you to places that pressure you to buy, and this was absolutely not the case with Discover Oaxaca.

Date of experience: April 2019
1  Thank Geoff-SW4
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews