We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
One week in Oaxaca

We are experienced, "over 60" travelers who can appreciate a great find. Suzanne and Benito, an... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Marjorie P
,
Atlanta, Georgia
An Incomparable Oaxaca Experience

Our visit to Oaxaca and the surrounding areas couldn't have been more interesting, surprising and... read more

Reviewed July 27, 2021
valmarchese
,
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Read all 111 reviews
  
Google
Recommended experiences in and around Oaxaca
from $35.94
More Info
from $54.99
More Info
from $47.57
More Info
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveler rating
105
1
2
0
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
105
1
2
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bird watching her husband virtual tour monte alban excellent days memorable trip natural history highest recommendation comfortable vehicle highly recommend this company food tour rug weaving knowledgeable guide local market two weeks great guide benito
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 111 reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2019 via mobile

We took the tour that is inclusive of Monte Alban, Alebrijes en Arrazola, Cuilapam de Guerrero and San Bartolo Cyotopec. The tour bus was new, comfortable and air-conditioned. Driver was excellent navigating the mountain roads. Guide was bilingual. Very reasonable for a full 8 hour tour. 150 Mexican pesos - approximately $7.50 per person. Didn't include admission to Monte Alban which was 75 pesos per person.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank pauline459_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne B, Owner at Discover Oaxaca Tours, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2019

Hi Pauline, Descubre Oaxaca is a different company that has, unfortunately, a very similar name to us! I'm glad you enjoyed your tour with them. Sadly, many of their customers have not and we have gotten some of those reviews on our profile as well. We are Benito and Suzanne, expert bilingual guides, and we offer high-quality private tours through our website discover-oaxaca.com. I encourage you to move your review to the correct location. Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2019

My young teenage son and I recently visited Oaxaca for the first time and we hired Suzanne of Discover Oaxaca Tours for a custom/private half day tour of Oaxaca City and Monte Alban. We've traveled extensively around Europe and Asia but had never been to Oaxaca, much less Mexico! Our Spanish was very very limited and I thought having someone "introduce" us to historic Oaxaca city would be a good jump start to our week there. We were SO smart to do so and we were SO grateful/fortunate to have chosen Suzanne :) While we do typically like to work with local/native guides in whatever location we're visiting - and Suzanne herself is not native Oaxacan - her husband and children are and she has been an immigrant transplant now for many many years. Her interest, immersion, and level of enthusiasm for the history and culture of Oaxaca is deep and very apparent. We spent the morning walking through the major areas of Oaxaca City from Santo Domingo to the Zocala, stopping in to the major markets to roam and snack, eating at a couple of street food vendors, being introduced to food items and cultural specificities. We then went to Monte Alban together. At this point, my son was a bit tired from a pretty late arrival the night before and Suzanne was a gem at being flexible in shortening what would normally be a much longer visit at this incredible site. For myself, I found Suzanne to be exceptionally knowledgable about history, archaeology, culture and regional details that I was curious about. She perfectly combined deeper academic knowledge with more run of the mill "tourist" facts. She is also very very friendly and easy to be with and I was thankful for her humor and kindness overall. I found myself wishing I had had the foresight to book with Suzanne and Benito for a couple of other excursions during the week as I did not think other guides we used compared to Suzanne in terms of knowledge depth and cultural sensitivity for my tastes. I cannot recommend them highly enough and would not hesitate to book an excursion with them next time we are in Oaxaca (and we will definitely return!)

Date of experience: March 2019
1  Thank psaseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2019 via mobile

Our art group of four hired Suzanne because of a personal recommendation. She has been accommodating, professional, extremely knowledgeable and gracious.

We had two full days of seeing what was important to us. Her recommendations for dining have been fantastic...and we’re vegetarians...we were never disappointed.

If I ever return to Oaxaca, I will call her to plan my trip...and if you come here...you will be happy you hired her company to discover Oaxaca.

Thank you Suzanne!

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Sherri O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2019 via mobile

We have used the services of Benito and Suzanne for every trip to Oaxaca for nearly the past 12 years and every time has been nearly perfect!!! They have extensive contacts and take us to artists, events and locations that they know we would like.

Apparently there is another similarity named company that the two negative reviews are mistaking for this one. This Company only consists of Benito and Suzanne and the others mention other people so you know they reviewed the wrong company.

They help us (our Spanish is bad) with translations and interacting with everyone and their Day of the Dead places they took us were off the beaten path and very authentic and lovely. In addition their knowledge of the archaeological, church and ecology of the region is substaintial.

We totally recommend Benito and Suzanne, why else would we hire them year over year? If you do read the negative ads, check the names and you will know they are totally inaccurate for this company

Sincerely,
Michael & Kim

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank mormacar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne B, Owner at Discover Oaxaca Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2019

Thanks for your kind words, Michael and Kim! We always enjoy the time we spend with you. One of the best parts of this job is meeting nice and interesting people from different places and sometimes, like in this case, becoming friends. We're already looking forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2019

Ask for either Suzanne or Benito when you book and you will know you are booking with the right company (not another company with a similar name that does not provide outstanding service!) This is the second time we have used Benito and Suzanne as our guide while in Oaxaca. First, the are experts in all things Oaxaca - we wanted to go to some off-the-beaten path churches and they were very knowledgeable about our unusual requests. They can take you to all the best crafts and artisans and markets for shopping. Second, they are flexible and so accommodating and work with your schedule. They always go the extra mile - took me to Fed Ex to mail home my purchases and when I had a problem with a purchase that was mailed but did not arrive, Suzanne made a trip to the store to help me. We are so glad we met them and have had the chance to work with them twice and hope to do so again. We recommend them without reservation - you won't be sorry if you book with this great team.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank HONEYWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews