We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
One week in Oaxaca

We are experienced, "over 60" travelers who can appreciate a great find. Suzanne and Benito, an... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Marjorie P
,
Atlanta, Georgia
An Incomparable Oaxaca Experience

Our visit to Oaxaca and the surrounding areas couldn't have been more interesting, surprising and... read more

Reviewed July 27, 2021
valmarchese
,
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Read all 111 reviews
  
Google
Recommended experiences in and around Oaxaca
from $35.94
More Info
from $54.99
More Info
from $47.57
More Info
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveler rating
105
1
2
0
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
105
1
2
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bird watching her husband virtual tour monte alban excellent days memorable trip natural history highest recommendation comfortable vehicle highly recommend this company food tour rug weaving knowledgeable guide local market two weeks great guide benito
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 111 reviews
Reviewed February 1, 2019

We first met Benito and Suzanne when we were doing importing for a fair trade program. They had been recommended by the people at Just Us coffee in Nova Scotia, and they proved to be marvels. In addition to taking us to the studios of weavers, woodcarvers, and potters for which the district is known, they also found us sources for a range of other products. When our source of hand-made paper in Thailand was no longer available, Benito found an even better source in Oaxaca. He also introduced us to silver-smiths and glass makers (beautiful hand-blown glass with high recycling rates) which we would never otherwise have been able to find.
Since retirement, we still come here for vacation, and Benito and Suzanne continue to open doors we hadn’t even known existed. There are endless guides that will offer to take one to the usual sites (Mitla, Monte Alban, the Hierve el Agua), but even at those locations, Benito and Suzanne’s knowledge of history and fauna makes them come alive in ways unexpected. I don’t have much interest in birds, but Benito has almost converted me. And Suzanne’s ability to bring history to life adds a wonderful dimension. In addition to those standard tours, however, they can bring one to places few tourists think to go, like the spectacular colonial churches in Coixtlahuaca and Yanhuitlán.
We cannot recommend Discover Oaxaca highly enough.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2018

My husband found Discover Oaxaca Tours on Tripadvisor and we highly recommend Benito’s tour! He is an extremely knowledgeable and intelligent tour guide, knowing the history, sociology, Archeology, and ornithology of the country. We have seen areas of the country we would NEVER have seen otherwise, met wonderful Oxacans, and shopped at ‘undiscovered’ artisan workshops and community markets. We give 2 thumbs up!

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank josephjlockhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2018

My wife and I were in Oaxaca Dec. 11-14. During that time, we took 4 tours with Benito and Suzannne. Benito took us on the Dominican route to see several Dominican churches about 2 hours from Oaxaca. he was a fantastic guide. We had Suzanne for 3 tours, including Monte Alban and the crafts towns. We saw a demonstration of how the black pottery is made. She visits different families instead of just going to one family so that everyone gets a chance.
My wife uses a walker and is limited physically/ Suzanne and Benito provided us a wheelchair for the entire trip so that I could wheel my wife up and down the pedestrian streets. This allowed us to enjoy everything so much more. They also gave my wife flowers for her birthday.
Benito and Suzanne also arranged for us to visit an orphanage, Ciudad de los Ninos. It was a wonderful experience. We met the children and donated some toys, clothes, a soccer ball, etc.
Suzanne even stopped at a pharmacy and supermarket to pick up needed items.
Oaxaca has a lot of festivals in December, such as Our Lady of Solitude and the Radish Festival.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank KevinJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2018 via mobile

Benito and Jose are absolutely first-rate. There is no better feeling traveling in such a foreign place and having a real local show you around. We are already planning on returning, and Benito will be our first call. There’s no way you could do better!

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank theamazingciderman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2018

Our family of 5 adults just came back from a 5-day family vacation in Oaxaca. Benito was our private guide to visit Monte Alban and surrounding areas. He drove a clean, spacious van and was an excellent driver who spoke very good English. Not only did he offer many insight of Oaxaca/Maxico culture and history, he also provided us very helpful and practical advice on public transportation from our airbnb to Zocalo/central and to Hierve el Agua(Petrified Waterfall). We took a taxi from central to the taxi/bus stop for Mitla close to the downtown stadium(50 pesos). There's a red-and-white shared taxi(30 pesos) or bus(20 pesos) that runs every 30 mins to an hour to Mitla (takes 45 mins to an hour). From Mitla we took a shared flatbed truck (50 pesos for a 45-min ride) to Hierve el Agua. Then just followed the sign/crowd to the amazing site of the waterfall. It took about 3 hours to get there but well worth it. The returned trip was the same and very easy to navigate and communicate. The shared ride was not too bumpy because the drivers were careful and drove slowly. The detailed direction provided by Benito saved us so much money for the day trip because we did not have to hire a taxi for 8 hours. We also joined a group evening outing with him for the Day of the Dead parade in a nearby village. Benito offered to drop us off at our airbnb (20 mins away from zocalo) since it's on his route. We were all grateful for his excellent service and help.

Date of experience: November 2018
3  Thank elmasukkaml
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews