We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
One week in Oaxaca

We are experienced, "over 60" travelers who can appreciate a great find. Suzanne and Benito, an... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Marjorie P
,
Atlanta, Georgia
An Incomparable Oaxaca Experience

Our visit to Oaxaca and the surrounding areas couldn't have been more interesting, surprising and... read more

Reviewed July 27, 2021
valmarchese
,
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Read all 111 reviews
  
Google
Recommended experiences in and around Oaxaca
from $35.94
More Info
from $54.99
More Info
from $47.57
More Info
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveler rating
105
1
2
0
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
105
1
2
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bird watching her husband virtual tour monte alban excellent days memorable trip natural history highest recommendation comfortable vehicle highly recommend this company food tour rug weaving knowledgeable guide local market two weeks great guide benito
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 111 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2018

We had two full days with Benito and Suzanne to have a feel of Oaxaca and surrounding areas.
Our interests are Culture ( Monte Alban - larger than Machu Picchu, Santo Domingo museo with a great jewelry collection-more than at the National Museum of Anthropology, Mexico City), Food (really sweet Mendoza sisters(5) at Tlamanalli- fabulous mole. Frida Kahlo look alike in Ocotlan market with also good mole. Good pozole in Oaxaca city) . Famous black pottery revived by Dona Rosa. And if you have to choose one Mezcal palenque tour-get Benito to bring you to an ancestral, instead of artisanal palenque. He has known the family for years and you get to taste and bring your own favourite mezcal back).
Benito and Suzanne will enhance your Oaxaca experience!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Kc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2018

Had a great half-day street food tour of Oaxaca with Suzanne. We stopped at a taco stand, a local market, a tortas stand, and another bigger market. The tour and food were fantastic and featured quesadillas, tamales, maize-coconut jelly, beverages (horgada, hibiscus, chocolate), chorizo torta, barbecue, and roasted grasshoppers (optional!). Suzanne is a great host--knowledgeable, cheerful.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank WhoHearer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2018

This is the third time I have been lucky enough to visit Oaxaca. It is easy to get around and just a wonderful experience. This time, for the first time, my wife and I thought it would be good to have a guide. A friend in Oaxaca recommended Benito. The best advice ever. We knew we wanted to visit Mitla. Then we told him "we enjoy history and nature, take us wherever you think we should go." He took us to Aga de Hierve (a bit disappointing, but that was the site, no fault of Benito's) Mitla, then on the way back to Oaxaca, we stopped at Yagul, Dainzu (one of the oldest sites, with amazing stone reliefs of ball players), Tlacochahuaya (beautiful early colonial church with stunning fresco decoration and a baroque organ) and then the Tule tree. At Mitla he also took us to some of the unexcavated pyramids - very cool. Benito knows so much and is able to communicate it so well. He quickly understood what we were particularly interested in and organized what he said around us. You get all the information but no overload. Benito is great!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Nick32215
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2018

We thoroughly enjoyed our three-hour market and street food walking tour with Discover Oaxaca Tours. Make sure to come hungry. This was our first trip to Oaxaca, and the tour was a great way to learn about local cuisine and city history. Suzanne was a fantastic guide -- friendly and knowledgeable, and able to tailor the itinerary to our interests. One of our friends wasn't feeling well, and we were so appreciative that Suzanne went out of her way to buy him herbal tea at the market. We enthusiastically recommend this tour company to anyone visiting Oaxaca.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Connie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2018

We’ve visited the Oaxaca region for 40 years, but we understand it much better now. We took a two-day hike in the Sierra Norte with Benito between two of the “Pueblos Mancomunados,” Benito Juarez and Neveria. It is so clear that Benito truly loves his region and knows it down to every flowering plant, singing bird and, in season, mushroom. When we expressed an interest in mushrooming, he immediately knew the right place and the right people to talk to, in this case a spirited nine-year-old “mushroom master” who seemed as comfortable in the woodlands as city kids would be in a mall. Benito takes every care to look after your comfort and safety and to actualize what it is that you would like to experience. He doesn’t give canned tours, he is in conversation with you. A very special person to be at your service.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews