We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
One week in Oaxaca

We are experienced, "over 60" travelers who can appreciate a great find. Suzanne and Benito, an... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Marjorie P
,
Atlanta, Georgia
An Incomparable Oaxaca Experience

Our visit to Oaxaca and the surrounding areas couldn't have been more interesting, surprising and... read more

Reviewed July 27, 2021
valmarchese
,
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Read all 111 reviews
  
Google
Recommended experiences in and around Oaxaca
from $35.94
More Info
from $54.99
More Info
from $47.57
More Info
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveler rating
105
1
2
0
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
105
1
2
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bird watching her husband virtual tour monte alban excellent days memorable trip natural history highest recommendation comfortable vehicle highly recommend this company food tour rug weaving knowledgeable guide local market two weeks great guide benito
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 111 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2018

We went on 2 tours with Benito and Suzanne. The first was a day tour of the Eastern Valley including the Sunday Market at Tlacolula which was fantastic. They included Hierve El Agua at our request but thanks to Benito we still got to see everything including Mitla. A really worthwhile and good value tour. A couple of days later we did a food tour of Oaxaca City with Suzanne. Food tours are a great way to see cities and this was no exception. Lots of great street and market food and drinks including barbecued meats at the markets. Suzanne was well prepared and knowledgeable and it was another great value tour. I also liked the way Suzanne kept in contact to discuss options beforehand. Highly recommended.

Date of experience: June 2018
3  Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2018

We were very lucky to get Benito as our guide as part of the Tourradar tour while in Oaxaca. Benito picked us up by minibus and took as through a magical tour of the temples at Monte Alban, the Mineral Springs at Hierve el Agua, among other sites.
Benito was simply amazing and made this a memorable experience which will stay with me forever.

As background, Benito is not only highly educated, but also a local person who is proud of his heritage and culture. He is charming and able to impart his knowledge in a way that is guaranteed to fascinate anyone. His breadth of knowledge was astounding, covering local customs, the history and archaeology of the pre-Spanish cultures and a wide knowledge of flora and fauna. He has an in-depth knowledge of Monte Alban and Hierve el Agua and has some enlightening stories of his early explorations of both sites.

If ever you are in Oaxaca, I could not recommend Benito more highly. Where ever you chose to visit with him as a guide I can guarantee you will have an amazing experience. I certainly plan at some point to go back to Oaxaca and will definitely look him up for further tours.

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank Grantfettis
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2018

Having traveled extensively over fifty years in most parts of the world, I am very familiar with guided tours. The guide always is who makes the day what it is. Benito is not only a local, indigenous person, but also a highly educated, sensitive and thoughtful person who is extremely proud of his culture and his home. His love for the places and people around him comes through in his interactions with artists and his immense knowledge of the history of his home make for a fountain of information. Altogether I can’t recommend him too highly.

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank 644marcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2018

I first met and spent 4 days with Suzanne in 2006. Suzanne and her husband were relatively new to the business, however, the 4 days my wife and I (and a friend) spent with her in Oaxaca and the surrounding area were really terrific. She was so knowledgeable and eager - she "made" our first trip to Oaxaca special. 12 years later we had an opportunity to return to Oaxaca with friends who had never been to Oaxaca and we were thrilled to be able to, once again, engage the services of Suzanne. Our week in Oaxaca was a resounding success and our friends were as positive about Suzanne as we were. She is a terrific guide and I cannot recommend her highly enough.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank Jock31470
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne B, Owner at Discover Oaxaca Tours, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2018

It was such a pleasure to see you again after so many years and get a chance to show you some of the old favorites and a few new sites. I hope you won't wait so long before your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2018

My sister, her 2 kids (ages 11 and 14) and I took two day tours with Suzanne as our guide. One to Monte Alban and Tlacolula market and one to three artisan villages. She even arranged an opportunity for us to paint our own alejibres, which was a highlight for all of us.
She was an excellent guide! Very knowledgeable, laid back, and a genuinely kind person. She did a great job of juggling the different interests and attention spans of the people in our group. Being a mother herself, she was very good with the kids.
It was such a treat to take a private tour where the itinerary is of your own making and can be adjusted as needed, even as the day progresses. Worth every cent!
I highly recommend using Discover Oaxaca tours to show you the amazing history and culture that Oaxaca has to offer.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank AKwanderer77
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne B, Owner at Discover Oaxaca Tours, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2018

I had a great time with you and your family! I'm so glad you all enjoyed your stay in Oaxaca. It was fun painting alebrijes with you and showing you around some of my favorite places. I would love to see you back in Oaxaca again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews