We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
One week in Oaxaca

We are experienced, "over 60" travelers who can appreciate a great find. Suzanne and Benito, an... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Marjorie P
,
Atlanta, Georgia
An Incomparable Oaxaca Experience

Our visit to Oaxaca and the surrounding areas couldn't have been more interesting, surprising and... read more

Reviewed July 27, 2021
valmarchese
,
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Read all 111 reviews
  
Google
Recommended experiences in and around Oaxaca
from $35.94
More Info
from $54.99
More Info
from $47.57
More Info
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveler rating
105
1
2
0
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
105
1
2
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bird watching her husband virtual tour monte alban excellent days memorable trip natural history highest recommendation comfortable vehicle highly recommend this company food tour rug weaving knowledgeable guide local market two weeks great guide benito
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 111 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2018

My husband and I had a wonderful 2 days touring , markets, churches, Archeological sites, craft villages and the famous Tule tree with Benito as our guide. His depth of knowledge and love for his culture made our time together delightful and interesting. He had a great sense of what we would like to see and catered the tour to meet our needs. He was kind, courteous and very respectful to anyone we came in contact with. Benito knows so much about history, archeology , flora , fauna and indeginous culture we were learning things the entire time driving not just at the sites we visited. We highly recommend Benito as a guide and loved our time in Oaxaca!

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Susan U
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2017

We loved our two days with Benito. His passion for archeology, nature and Oaxaca life and culture is evident in everything he does.

He is knowledgeable, warm and interesting to talk with and ensures the experiences he provides truly meets the needs of his clients.

Thanks Benito, come to Toronto again!

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank ijacobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2017

With Suzanne and Benito as our guides, we had access to an amazing amount of information about the arts and crafts, the birds, the plants and the history of Oaxaca. They were able to follow our interests and provide a most memorable 3 days of guided tours-2 for birding and 1 for the arts and crafts in the southern villages, providing history of the area along the way! Incredible! Also, they are just considerate and enjoyable people to spend time with exploring the area and are helpful in other ways as needed, like replacing a lost tourist card. Needless to say probably, but I highly recommend using their tour services.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank Shirley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne B, Owner at Discover Oaxaca Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2017

Thanks so much for your comments. Benito and I enjoyed getting to know you and spending time with you here in Oaxaca. We hope you'll come back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2017

Just got back a week ago from a 10 day stay in Oaxaca. Thanks to other TripAdvisor reviews, I found Benito and Suzanne of Discover Oaxaca tours. I am so glad that we did. We were two senior women traveling alone and it made all the difference to have them with us. We could never have seen so much without their help - and we wouldn't have left with such a deep appreciation for the places we had been.

We spent 7 days with them, some with Benito alone and some with Suzanne alone. Each of them is an experienced and knowledgeable guide, but they are so much more. They are friendly, giving and warm people who want to share their Oaxaca with you, all the while making suggestions and small adjustments to planned activities that reflect what they learn about your preferences over the course of time.

They are a wealth of information about the history, culture, religion, cuisine, archaeological sites, master artisans, religious iconography and art....and they make every effort to share as much as they can with you. They also know the most skillful masters of Oaxaca crafts like making alebrijes and rugs - and when they take you to the workshops they are greeted warmly by the masters themselves.

Benito has also developed additional expertise in both birding and plants, which also enriched the experience that we had.

Our trip was made immeasurably easier by not having to worry about our rudimentary Spanish, by not having to drive or figure out bus schedules, or find taxis or wander around and hope that we found the best food or the best artisans.

I cannot say enough good things about Benito and Suzanne or about our experiences with them. The day of our first tour I wrote my husband and said: "We hit the jackpot and I can't wait to come and share this wonderful place with you - sometime soon, with Benito and Suzanne to show us around." The best thing is that he said "yes"!

If you come to Oaxaca, I hope you are lucky enough to have Benito and Suzanne as your guides as well. I have no doubt that it will be a marvelous experience.

Date of experience: October 2017
3  Thank nancy v
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne B, Owner at Discover Oaxaca Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2017

Thank you so much for your kind comments! We had a wonderful time with you and greatly enjoyed showing you the Oaxaca we know and love. We're very much looking forward to welcoming you back again, this time with your husband!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2017

We spent a wonderful day with Suzanne visiting the village studios of several Oaxaca area artisans who carve and paint the fantastic wooden animals known as alebrijes. We have a particular interest in this art. Suzanne, a Canadian ex-pat, is an absolute delight, friendly, relaxed and very knowledgeable. We give her the highest possible recommendation.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank gartner2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne B, Owner at Discover Oaxaca Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2017

I enjoyed the day I spent with you very much - it was a pleasure for me to take you around to see some of the many talented artisans in the Oaxaca area. I'm glad to hear you had a great day too. I hope to see you back for another visit sometime soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews