We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
One week in Oaxaca

We are experienced, "over 60" travelers who can appreciate a great find. Suzanne and Benito, an... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Marjorie P
,
Atlanta, Georgia
An Incomparable Oaxaca Experience

Our visit to Oaxaca and the surrounding areas couldn't have been more interesting, surprising and... read more

Reviewed July 27, 2021
valmarchese
,
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Read all 111 reviews
  
Google
Recommended experiences in and around Oaxaca
from $35.94
More Info
from $54.99
More Info
from $47.57
More Info
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveler rating
105
1
2
0
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
105
1
2
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bird watching her husband virtual tour monte alban excellent days memorable trip natural history highest recommendation comfortable vehicle highly recommend this company food tour rug weaving knowledgeable guide local market two weeks great guide benito
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 111 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2015

We have waited much too long to thank you for the absolutely wonderful trip that we took with Benito on March 20th! The birding excursion to the village of Cuajimoloyas was exactly what we were looking for and was definitely a highlight of our trip to the Oaxaca area. Not only did we see new bird species, we learned more about the Zapotec culture, the forests of the Sierra Norte mountains and even a little bit of Mexican politics. One very special memory for Wendy and me was giving Cecilia, the squash farmer, a ride up to her farm in the mountains. We can still see her standing at the van door with her hand out requesting assistance getting in. It was also a treat when she had us stop the van so we could see la mujer de las montan~as!

Thanks, once again, for your hospitality and for our very rewarding experience with Discover Oaxaca Tours. It seemed less like a tour and more like exploring with a friend. We have fond memories that will last a lifetime and ones that will definitely bring us back to Oaxaca.

Date of experience: March 2015
2  Thank Don G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne B, Manager at Discover Oaxaca Tours, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2015

Thanks very much for the review, Don! We're glad you and Wendy enjoyed your day trip to the Sierra Norte with Benito and we look forward to seeing you again on your return to Oaxaca.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2015

Two days of touring with Benito were amazing. He went out of his way to personalize our itinerary and the breadth of his knowledge from nature, archeology and crafts to life in Oaxaca made the trip magical.
We highly recommend Benito to anybody planning a visit to Oaxaca.
Maureen and Audrey

Date of experience: April 2015
1  Thank mowvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne B, Manager at Discover Oaxaca Tours, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2015

Thanks so much for your comment, Maureen and Audrey. We're very glad you enjoyed your time in Oaxaca and look forward to welcoming you back on another occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2015

Can't say enough about the tours lead by Benito and arrangements for our B&B made by Suzanne.The B&B El Diablo y La Sandia was a delight, with house pet rabbit hopping about to meet one and all.. Tours into the country side to visit craft villages, frozen water falls, snowmen made out of hail in the mts. what more could you ask for! Traveling Grandmother and college aged Grand daughter traveling together..Granddaughter practicing her Spanish!

Date of experience: March 2015
2  Thank Camille A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne B, Manager at Discover Oaxaca Tours, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2015

We really appreciate your comments. It was a pleasure to meet you and your granddaughter and we're happy we could help make your trip to Oaxaca a success. We hope to welcome you back again sometime soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2015

My wife and I hired Benito for our last full day in Oaxaca to visit Etla and the surrounding sites we had missed. We both said we wished we would have hired him when we began our stay here. Benito provided wonderful insights into the people, the history, the culture, and the language of the region. His knowledge and easy going style were a gift. We did not know of his birding expertise and continued to be delighted as Benito pointed out different birds at the many sites we visited. He was knowledgeable, timely, conscientious, and friendly. What more might one ask for in a tour guide?

Date of experience: March 2015
2  Thank Raymond1288
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2015

We took a birding tour around Oaxaca City and areas South over the mountains and to the coast with Benito Hernandez in Feb. of 2015. We were thoroughly delighted with Benito's schedule, knowledge and choice of accommodations. He really aims to please and Suzanne, altho we never had the opportunity to meet her, was behind the scenes with answers to our emails. The trip was easy to book as well.

Benito also knew where to take us for whatever our needs were whether it be the local restaurants, bakery's or shopping for black pottery. You will not be disappointed.

Date of experience: February 2015
2  Thank Chica1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews