We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice base for exploring Oaxaca”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa de Don Pablo Hostel
Ranked #11 of 115 Specialty Lodging in Oaxaca
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice base for exploring Oaxaca”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I stayed here for 3 night with some friends over the day of the dead weekend. The hostel has a kitchen, living room and a pretty courtyard. The dorm rooms are very basic but comfortable enough and have lockers available (but bring your own lock), the showers, sinks and toilets are also basic but fine. Breakfast was good, there was bread, fruit and cereal but if you like to eat a large breakfast it might not be enough, we didn't use the kitchen for cooking our own meals but it seemed well equipped. There is wifi, but there isn't signal everywhere in the hostel. I enjoyed my stay here and would recommend it as an inexpensive base from which to explore the lovely city.
The only complaint I have is that our towels and sheets weren't ready when we arrived, and I wasn't provided with a towel until the next evening.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don_Pablo_says, Gerente at Casa de Don Pablo Hostel, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Great you liked our facilities: bathrooms, rooms, guest kitchen, patio, tv comnunal are, continental buffet breakfast.
We have served all kinds of breakfast: mexican ones, oriental/occidental ones, mix of all, etc, but we have noticed you are more happy with this kind of breakfast. Bue we are open to continue improving.
We will work to get towels ready when you need. Thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    77
    29
    8
    5
See reviews for
7
41
50
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Desk staff incredibly annoying and incompetent - told us we couldn't have our yha discounts unless we paid in exact cash and refused to give us change. Completely uninterested and unhelpful.
One sink and one shower for all guests! Outrageous. Rooms very basic and adjacent to the communal eating area so noisy.
The adds promised a great breakfast. The only person having a great breakfast was the manager, who ate hot eggs, beans and tortillas cooked by the chef while guests are only allowed cereal, lukewarm coffee and chewy toast. Infuriating

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lylecunningham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don_Pablo_says, Propietario at Casa de Don Pablo Hostel, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
We feel very very sorry about your experience about staff, we try to have very polite and helpful staff. Something happened and I will try to solve it right away.
The are more showers and sinks in all hostel, we will work for develop our information signs in all the building you can see them easily.
One of the communal areas are in a typical mexican patio house, We are strict at night about noise but, during the day we will figure out what we can do to avoid sounds.
The breakfast is continental buffet (fruit, cereal, coffee, orange juice, toast, butter, jam) and you can serve your self all what you want to eat, you can also cook something to add to your breakfast, so does the manager. Thanks for your review, it helps us to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Its not directly in the center but there are alot of interesting local places around the hostel such as a laundry, and little local restaurants, not ones that cater to the tourist. Its so easy to get a taxi from there and its so inexpensive. The breakfast is good with fresh fruit, cereal and bread/jam and also tea or coffee. The dorms are very clean and so are the bathrooms. When I was there very few people were there but the place is cheerful and is value for money.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank barbara m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don_Pablo_says, Gerente at Casa de Don Pablo Hostel, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
For us it is important you feel comfortable in our hostel, we try to help you you feel at home. Thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Casa de Don Pablo Hostel is a great place to meet fellow travellers. The courtyard and roof top are ideal for relaxing and socialising. Oaxaca is beautiful and well worth the visit.

The locks on the bedroom doors aren't brilliant and it can be fustrating waiting for someone to let you into the hostel as the front door is always locked. The bathrooms are reasonably old and have been ill-fitted into rooms originally designed for something else.

Staff were friendly, knowledgeable and spoke some english which is helpful if your spanish is poor. Breakfast and towels are provided and purified water can be bought for a couple of pesos for each water bottle re-fill.

Room Tip: The females only dormitory is more expensive than the mixed dormitory, however I was the only person...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Roslyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don_Pablo_says, Gerente at Casa de Don Pablo Hostel, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
It is important for us to keep main door close 24 hours for your security, for your comment we have developed our ring bell system. We try to have English spoken staff in hostel. Thanks you like our purified water, the best way to enjoy water from Oaxaca mountains for only some pesos in refill system.
The building is an tipical old mexican house, we have tried to fit our hostel trying to keep the original design of the mexican open patio houses. Thanks for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This hostel is in a charming building with lovely rooms overlooking a courtyard and great views of the town and surrounding mountains from the rooftop terrance. It was very clean and quiet, and made a great base from which to explore Oaxaca. Easy to get to by public transport from the ado terminal too, and close to the square and other attractions in Oaxaca. Not a party hostel but close to places to go. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eve_itchyfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don_Pablo_says, Gerente at Casa de Don Pablo Hostel, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
We are happy you had a nice experiencie at our hostel. There are more showers and toilets in hostel, we will improve the information signs.Thanks for your review. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 13, 2013

A fairly cool place, very good location, friendly staff. Our private room was clean, spacious and had loads of light, a lockable wardrobe with storage, a fan, the bed was ok, but I don't think it was an orthopaedic bed which they state on the Internet. The pillows had a plastic case so you will want to cover it up with something! It has pretty good wifi. Very cool courtyard. You get served breakfast everyday, but we didn't get the option to choose, still they were pretty good. There was only one shared bathroom on the top floor which includes both shower and toilet, they were reasonably clean, but the toilet needs a brush!! There is only one shower down stairs, so you may end up having to wait if there are a few people staying.
We also booked a day trip to the Petrified Falls, paying 250 pesos per person, it was your typical tourist day, but what was not included in the cost was all your entrance fees, to each of the sights we visited. So it ended up being a fairly expensive day, especially if you're on a travellers budget!
Make sure you shop around if you want to do this cheaper as the rest of the crew on the bus only paid 150 pesos!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jouslee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don_Pablo_says, Gerente at Casa de Don Pablo Hostel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thanks for your comments! We have worked to show we have more toilets and showers. We hope we can see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2012

my partner and i walked in and couldnt even bring ourselves to stay one night, the sheets didnt fit the bed and i wouldnt want to sleep in those horrible sheets anyway. if u want a shower u have to get the guy to turn on the hot waeter and wait, the place was dingy and not worth the time. We figured we would meet some cool people but totally not worth the money for like another 5buck we stayed at a four star hotel that was awesome. To top it all off they had the nerve to put it on our credit card anyway

SO DONT WASTE UR TIME!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don_Pablo_says, Gerente at Casa de Don Pablo Hostel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thanks for your comments. We have worked hard to avoid situations you say, but we know you didnt use the bathroom, and you didnt use the room. In the time we received your comment, we contacted to you inmediatly to know more about your complaint but we didnt get a response.
We invite you to feel our hostel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Trebol
Hotel Trebol
#20 of 109 in Oaxaca
206 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Posada del Centro
Hotel Posada del Centro
#32 of 109 in Oaxaca
189 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique De La Parra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Azul Cielo Hostel
Azul Cielo Hostel
#2 of 115 in Oaxaca
172 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostal de Las Americas
Hostal de Las Americas
#3 of 115 in Oaxaca
102 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hierba de Conejo Hostel
Hierba de Conejo Hostel
#20 of 115 in Oaxaca
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Don Pablo Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Don Pablo Hostel

Property: Casa de Don Pablo Hostel
Address: Melchor Ocampo 412 | Centro, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 115 Specialty Lodging in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nice resting time, friendly breakfast and a warm welcoming are something you can get at Casa de Don Pablo hostel. You cannot miss it in Oaxaca! When coming Oaxaca, make our hostel your resting place to enjoy and explore the spotlights in the city. We have a comfortable choice of lodging for your style: private rooms en suite or private rooms with shared bathrooms and 4 bed and 10 bed dorms and female dorms, all of them with locker, fan, comfortable mattresses, you will have a nice sleeping experience. Casa de Don Pablo hostel is also well located in downtown of Oaxaca, some minutes walking from bars, galleries, colonial spots, museums, parks, coffee shops, markets and more. Just walk some steps and enjoy the city! Our breakfast is a complimentary; you can try some eggs, toast, turkey ham, coffee, milk, cereal, house made jam and fruit. There are markets nearby to buy groceries for cooking by yourself in our well equipped kitchen. We also provide WIFI, tours, touristic information and a big smile. When coming to Oaxaca, just join us! Be a happy traveler! Be a happy backpacker! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Casa de Don Pablo Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing