We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay somewhere else!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa de Don Pablo Hostel
Ranked #10 of 117 Specialty Lodging in Oaxaca
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“stay somewhere else!”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

my partner and i walked in and couldnt even bring ourselves to stay one night, the sheets didnt fit the bed and i wouldnt want to sleep in those horrible sheets anyway. if u want a shower u have to get the guy to turn on the hot waeter and wait, the place was dingy and not worth the time. We figured we would meet some cool people but totally not worth the money for like another 5buck we stayed at a four star hotel that was awesome. To top it all off they had the nerve to put it on our credit card anyway

SO DONT WASTE UR TIME!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don_Pablo_says, Gerente at Casa de Don Pablo Hostel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thanks for your comments. We have worked hard to avoid situations you say, but we know you didnt use the bathroom, and you didnt use the room. In the time we received your comment, we contacted to you inmediatly to know more about your complaint but we didnt get a response.
We invite you to feel our hostel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    76
    29
    8
    5
See reviews for
7
41
49
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

This place has some real potential but at the moment it leaves you with mixed feelings.
The Room - ours was a 1st floor double private. Bed was comfy, had bedside shelves, lockable wardrobe/storage cupboard, mirror and dressing table and a coat hanger. There was a fan but didn't need it. The windows and doors let in noise from the courtyard so ear plugs are recommended.
Shared Bathroom - on the first floor there is a shower & toilet (more downstairs but didn't use them). Seemed relatively clean but the shower was pretty awful. Most of holes on the shower head have closed up with about 5 remaining all squirting in different directions. A new shower head would make this much better!
Breakfast - pretty good. You can choose 5 things from: toast, cereal, scrambled eggs, beans, rice, fruit, milk & coffee. Would recommend buying some butter or jam to keep in the kitchen.
The Kitchen - this was the real let down for us. We are on a long trip and can't afford to eat out every night so a kitchen is a must. There was only 1 knife a large chopping knife but that was it, a few plastic forks and a couple of spoons. Some of the pots and pans were still greasy/dirty and really put us off cooking. Plus the dead cockroach that was on the floor for a couple of days.
The courtyard - this was a nice place to sit out and relax and had a good feel about it. Plus you could fill up your water bottle for 2 - 4 pesos which was helpful. Staff were pretty friendly. Good location & reliable wifi.
Overall with a couple of improvements this could be a really nice place.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don_Pablo_says, Gerente at Casa de Don Pablo Hostel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Your opinion is very important. We have improved all your suggestions. Come again, and let us make you feel a nice experience! Thanks for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We had a quick overnight stay in a private double. Room and facilities were clean and comfortable. A good breakfast was included - you can choose any 5 items from a set menu. It had everything you need from a hostel and was well located. No complaints overall, but one suggestion - it would have handy to have a list of recommendations of places to find great Oaxacan food.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GMonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don_Pablo_says, Gerente at Casa de Don Pablo Hostel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
We are glad hearing you had such a nice stay in our hostel. We hope we can see you soon! Thanks for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

The Hostel is nice, its so clean and has excellent service, the people there is very friendly, you can feel like in home! It has a very tasty breakfast, and you can choose for five varieties of breakfast. The rooms are so comfortable and bathrooms are so clean. It has a terrace, with a very romantic ambience. It is ideal for youth and adults dynamic backpackers. The Downtown and the "Zocalo" of the city is very near. You can go walking in 10 minutes while you enjoy the view. I greatly recommend staying at the hostel. I want to come back to Oaxaca again, its so beautiful, and surely i will return to the Casa de Don pablo hostal.
Enjoy it!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bryans352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don_Pablo_says, Gerente at Casa de Don Pablo Hostel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Great you had a very good experience at our hostel. We love our job and we love making new friends and make them feel as home. See you soon! Thanks for your comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexico
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

This is a very nice place to stay, perfect blend of different people, friendly staff, Don Pablo needs to improve the morning breakfast.

Room Tip: any room is a good room, no bad experiences so far!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank victhetripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don_Pablo_says, Gerente at Casa de Don Pablo Hostel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Great you had such a nice experience in our hostel. See you soon! Thanks for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2011

we stayed at casa de don pablo for 4 nights and would recommend it to other travelers coming to Oaxaca. the double room was simple but had everything we needed: locker, fan, reading lights and privacy. nice shaded courtyard and breakfast included was quick and tasty! thanks.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daveandrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don_Pablo_says, Gerente at Casa de Don Pablo Hostel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
We are glad you have a nice experience in Casa de Don Pablo hostel. We wish having you in here again soon! Thanks for your comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2010

I stayed here with my boyfriend for a few days over the Day of the dead festival. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful - they sorted out a few things when we needed help with things & told us good places to go. We even built an alter with the staff as part of the celebrations which included going to the markets with them. We had a double room which was clean and comfortable. You change your sheets every 3 days which is fine and the room is cleaned daily. The shower and toilet was always clean. The breakfast was ok nothing amazing but not terrible either. There is free internet (3 computers). It is in a really good location about 5 minutes from the zocalo. The only thing bad I would mention is that sometimes people stay up in the courtyard and talk loudly which you can hear from all the rooms but you get that in a lot of places. It isn´t particularly luxurious but then it is only 7pounds a night (for a private double). We thought it was pretty good especially the staff!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank underthetropicalsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don_Pablo_says, Gerente at Casa de Don Pablo Hostel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Having a great experience in Casa de Don Pablo hostel is important for us. See you soon! Thanks for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.4 mi away
Casona Oaxaca
Casona Oaxaca
#11 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Quinta Real Oaxaca
#7 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Trebol
Hotel Trebol
#22 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
One Oaxaca Centro
One Oaxaca Centro
#10 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.2 mi away
Azul Cielo Hostel
Azul Cielo Hostel
#2 of 117 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostal de Las Americas
Hostal de Las Americas
#3 of 117 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Don Pablo Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Don Pablo Hostel

Property: Casa de Don Pablo Hostel
Address: Melchor Ocampo 412 | Centro, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 117 Specialty Lodging in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nice resting time, friendly breakfast and a warm welcoming are something you can get at Casa de Don Pablo hostel. You cannot miss it in Oaxaca! When coming Oaxaca, make our hostel your resting place to enjoy and explore the spotlights in the city. We have a comfortable choice of lodging for your style: private rooms en suite or private rooms with shared bathrooms and 4 bed and 10 bed dorms and female dorms, all of them with locker, fan, comfortable mattresses, you will have a nice sleeping experience. Casa de Don Pablo hostel is also well located in downtown of Oaxaca, some minutes walking from bars, galleries, colonial spots, museums, parks, coffee shops, markets and more. Just walk some steps and enjoy the city! Our breakfast is a complimentary; you can try some eggs, toast, turkey ham, coffee, milk, cereal, house made jam and fruit. There are markets nearby to buy groceries for cooking by yourself in our well equipped kitchen. We also provide WIFI, tours, touristic information and a big smile. When coming to Oaxaca, just join us! Be a happy traveler! Be a happy backpacker! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Casa de Don Pablo Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing