We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“enchanting casa los arquitos” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Los Arquitos B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Los Arquitos B&B
Ranked #33 of 126 Oaxaca B&B and Inns
sydney
1 review
“enchanting casa los arquitos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2007

Juan and Patty the owners are the most warm and caring people I met during my trip. My stay in casa los arquitos was relaxing and quiet. Juan and Patty do what ever they can to ensure that you feel welcome and have a tranquil experience in their home., which was a beautiful contrast after spending days walking, touring and having ongoing amamazing and stimulating experiences in Oaxaca. The rooms are spotlessly clean, and full of Mexican charm, in a quiet and interesting historical part of town, just far enough away from all of the traffic, but close enough for a lovely stroll to shops, markets, great cafes and resturants. There is also a great organic market just a few minutes away 2 days a week, and the food is outstanding; fresh produce as well as locals cooking really interestng and delicious organic snacks. Casa los arquitos is really a hidden gem in the most tranquil area of Oaxaca.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
Thank rosa4ginga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    10
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
39
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2007

We spent 4 nights at this well positioned B&B. The room was very nice, very clean and comfortable. Our hosts Juan and Patricia were very friendly and helpful and went out of their way to make sure we enjoyed our stay in Oaxaca.
Casa Los Arquitos is well positioned for the historical part of the city, within a short walk of the main sites and with plenty of good restaurants within a 5 to 10 minute walk.
We have very good memories of our time in Oaxaca and would recommend the Casa Los Arquitos as a friendly, well situated and affordable B&B.

  • Liked — Clean and affordable with free internet access
  • Disliked — Nothing really
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Happygolucky6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2007

Our stay at Casa los Arquitos was unforgettable. We wanted to spend our time in a place that felt as close to home as possible, without the sterile feel of a hotel--and this was it. When we arrived we were surprised to see how tasteful the room was decorated, despite it being so affordable. We found ourselves taking pictures of everything on our cobblestone street (Rufino Tamayo). Although it is about 7 blocks from the Zocalo, the location was totally worth it. We looked forward to the walk down to the Zocalo. The rooms were cleaned everyday, the breakfast was a refreshing way to start our day, and having internet access was a plus. Juan and Patricia were more than happy to give us information regarding the city's history and places to see. They offerred us the option of going on a private tour with a reliable taxi driver. As a result, we got a close-up of nearby towns.

Juan and Patricia went beyond their role of hosts and were there for us when I injured my ankle at the Monte Alban ruins. I had to be transported to the Red Cross hospital via ambulance. It was reassuring to see them at the hospital when the ambulance doors opened. Patricia is a doctor so I was relieved to know that she was observing my treatment as well. The extra-special care they provided was something only a family member would do. They didn't even charge for all the extra work they did. We look forward to returning to Oaxaca and staying at Casa los Arquitos where we spent 12 magnificent days.

  • Liked — the hosts
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mirandakhalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2007

As my friend and I first drove through Oaxaca we were a little worried at our choice since we hadn't picked a spot away from the city. We were pleasantly surprised when we opened the doors to our B&B and Patricia and Juan greeted us with smiling faces. They were expecting our arrival and had everything to the tee ready for us. Fresh flowers in our room, wonderful breakfast. The rooms are clean, quaint and there are only about 5 of them so you feel like you are staying in someone's home, but you still have the privacy of your own room and paio area. I can't say enough nice things about the owners and I feel like they are our Oaxacan family now. The Zocalo and art shops are walking distance and we felt very safe. There is a computer/internet available right outside your room anytime for you to use. My friend and I had a wonderful time in Oaxaca and can't wait to go back next year for Day of the Dead!! and stay at Los Arquitos.. Real inexpensive half of what other B&B's were charging too...

  • Liked — The owners and the premises
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nesacol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2007

This B & B is an oasis in the city. The neighborhood is quiet and charming, yet centrally located. It’s on a cobblestone street, under the arches of the old aqueduct, with cafes and lots of excellent restaurants nearby, in addition to an organic market, a music school, a gym, and other positive neighborhood features. The Santo Domingo Church, the Zocolo, and other heart-of-the-city sites are a very short and pleasant walk. The B & B itself is tranquil, comfortable and pretty. Owners Juan and Paty Fuentes are gracious hosts, and made our stay special. Paty has an impeccable eye, and has decorated the premises tastefully, with black and white photos of old Oaxaca, hand weavings and ceramics; the decor is charming and simple, without being overdone or busy. Beds are firm and comfy. This was one of the nicest places I’ve stayed, during my many travels.

  • Liked — location, charm, price, tranquility, locally owned, gracious hosts
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ebecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, Calif.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2007

We loved this charming B&B and the quaint neighborhood it is in. The owners, Juan and Paty, are delightful and gave their all to make our stay comfortable. The location is great; about a mile from the Zocalo and an easy and beautiful walk downtown , also next to the organic Pochote market and close to Llano Park, which was full of interesting houses and unique shops and restaurants with an authentic untouristy feeling . The rooms are a great value, all well decorated with the indigenous crafts and good bathrooms and refrigerators. Two of the rooms are especially useful as they have microwaves and small stoves as well as frig for cooking mini meals. But the daily breakfast on offer is excellent also. There is a real ambience to the little courtyard and very secure and seemingly far from the active downtown area. I would return in a heartbeat and hope to stay there again.

  • Liked — Location and appearance
  • Disliked — Beds are a little hard as in all Mexico
  • Stayed February 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank suzy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2007

My wife and I vey much enjoyed our two weeks with Paty and Juan.
The location is perfect -- a few minutes from Santo Domingo Cathedral and a 10 minute walk to the Zocalo. The rooms are spotlessly maintained and your host are charming and very accomodatling.

Oaxaca, like most of Mexico, is noisy by American and Canadian standards but Casa Los Arquitos is about
as quiet a stay as we have had in our many trips to Mexico.

We would definitley return.

Steve & Julie Webster

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
Thank countwebula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.0 mi away
La Casa Carlota
La Casa Carlota
#9 of 126 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parador San Fernando
Parador San Fernando
#11 of 126 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#13 of 126 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Betulia Bed and Breakfast
0.7 mi away
El Diablo y la Sandia Libres
0.6 mi away
Posada mi Rosita
Posada mi Rosita
#37 of 126 in Oaxaca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Los Arquitos B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Los Arquitos B&B

Property: Casa Los Arquitos B&B
Address: Callejon Rufino Tamayo # 818 | Col. Centro, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Los Arquitos B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Casa Los Arquitos B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing