We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hosts & location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa de Siete Balcones
Ranked #6 of 113 Hotels in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful hosts & location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

We stayed at Siete Balcones for 3 nights - the location was excellent, just a block away from the Cathedral and down the road from Santo Domingo. But the service was what made it stand out, absolutely suberb! Very helpful and friendly staff, and delicious breakfasts with quesadillas and tamales...Highly recommend it for anyone that wants a lovely hotel with a local taste of Oaxaca.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PauLezama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    58
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
59
111
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

This hotel is in an excellent location - right on the corner of the main pedestrian walking street in the heart of the city. What you get for the price is quite good - clean rooms with comfortable beds and friendly staff who are very knowledgeable on local attractions.

However, despite the hotel's best efforts to reduce street noise (double paned windows) there is quite a bit of noise at night which made it hard for us to sleep well. Right outside the window is a heavily trafficked cobblestone street with cars and trucks passing at all hours. This a problem I imagine most hotels in Oaxaca have, not just Casa de Siete Balcones, as most hotels are also located on busy streets. Bring earplugs and a white noise machine.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lali2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

We loved Casa de Siete Balcones. The staff was extremely helpful and extremely friendly. Our room and (balcony!) faced a pedestrian street where something was always happening (although once the balcony door was closed, all sound from the street was silenced). I loved the fresh breakfasts, clean room, vivid colors and artwork, and, most of all, the LOCATION!!! It is a block from the zocolo where it is a parade of all things Oaxacan.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa_53CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

We had an excellent vacation staying here. Location is great, few blocks away fron zocalo and located at Andador Aldama which has great restaurants, coffee shops and galleries. Staff is amazing. Room was nice and our bed was super comfortable. I would only recommend a bathroom renewal.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank travelmiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
119 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

Oswaldo, Elsa Linda, Jonathan and all the rest of the staff are just wonderful. I regret that I had only one Tripadvisor Outstanding pin to leave there. Each and every one of them went out of their way to be helpful. The breakfasts were perfect. The room was ever so comfortable. And we were able to walk virtually everywhere. Our room had a king size bed, a table with two chairs and a sofa, with lots of room left over. It was right over the main street, but with the double windows closed and the air conditioning on not a sound came through. The entire place is clean, clean, clean and they provided bottled water. There will be stairs to get to your room, but there is a "lift" to get your luggage up. This is one of those places you hate to leave, so we will be going back. Our thanks to the entire staff.

Room Tip: Our room had a substantial up from the bedroom to the bathroom, if that is a problem for you, ask if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LYNNE O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

All of the positive comments on this hotel are very well deserved. This hotel is close to the action, yet quiet and serene. Sitting outside your room overlooking the courtyard is the best at all hours -- The walking street is just a few steps from the hotel. This will take you to the Zocolo in one direction and to the Santo Domingo church in the other.

Elsa and all of the front desk staff are extraordinarily helpful -- even going to great lengths to help us interact with the local bank to find a lost ATM card. (Successful!)

We used the services of the driver referred by the hotel -- Erick was fantastic, taking us to Tule, Sunday Market, Mitla, Monte Alban and to and from the airport. Trustworthy, likeable and very reliable. I highly recommend booking your out-of-town sightseeing with him through the hotel.

The only thing missing is a swimming pool -- but we didn't visit Oaxaca to sit around a pool!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eurotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casade7Balcones, rerecepcionista femenino turno matutino at Casa de Siete Balcones, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you so much for thinking and writing about us in the great way you our distinguished guests can do it, We always think that this job is unique, great and marvellous!! this is the reason for trying to improve day by day, We enjoy to help to our guests and everybody tocome to our hotel,the Oaxacan home away home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

You have to realize that going to Oaxaca, that part of the city's charm is its historic roots. Many of the buildings are hundreds of years old, yet have withstood the test of time and have been repurposed for several things. This hotel is no exception. A former convent, this hotel has the charm of its historic construction and features a small courtyard, and some original doors. If you compared it to a modern hotel in a bigger city, it would seem primitive by comparison, but for Oaxaca, I would say it's fairly luxurious.

The rooms are somewhat small, but do not feel cramped. The shower is very basic but functional. The TV, surprisingly has a large number of cable channels. The Wi-Fi was difficult to use at times because of the thick walls, but the fact that there was Wi-Fi available in this hotel was a pleasant surprise.

The service was excellent. The staff was very nice and helpful.

One big benefit of this hotel is its location. Centrally located and right next to the acala' which is a pedestrian walkway with most of the shopping, the hotel was the perfect place to walk right out and be in the middle of the action.

We decided to get the popular two balcony room on the corner of the building, and it was nice to go out on the thin balcony and watch the people go by.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seamonkeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.1 mi away
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Quinta Real Oaxaca
#9 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marialicia Suites
Marialicia Suites
#2 of 113 in Oaxaca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Casona De Tita
Hotel La Casona De Tita
#1 of 113 in Oaxaca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palacio Borghese
Hotel Palacio Borghese
#7 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Siete Balcones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Siete Balcones

Property: Casa de Siete Balcones
Address: Calle Morelos 800, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 113 Hotels in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa de Siete Balcones 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Casa de Siete Balcones reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing