We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget lodging on pedestrian walkway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa de Siete Balcones
Ranked #6 of 109 Hotels in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
Denver
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Budget lodging on pedestrian walkway”
Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

Liked: friendly, caring staff tried hard to please us, especially Elsa
Location is central and convenient for walking to zocalo, restaurants, museums, shopping
Mattress was firm and comfortable
Air conditioner worked well, even on 95 degree days
Water pressure good, hot shower was available daily
Could open doors and stand on our balconies in corner room
Price is modest given location in heart of Centro

Disliked: pretty noisy at times like a Saturday night, even with windows, doors, everything shut
Had to ask for refills on toilet paper, soap, water - though they were gladly given on request, would have been nice to get refills without asking
Hotel booked taxi 2x price of a return trip we booked ourselves
Wifi worked most of the time, but inconsistent

If you need a good location at a reasonable price, this could work. If you are hoping for luxury, look elsewhere.


Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MJH161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    60
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
61
111
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Casa Siete Balcones. It is very well located in the city center, putting all the attractions of the main city in walking distance. The rooms are quite comfortable with excellent beds. The windows are really as soundproof as you can get but it is on a very busy street so if you are a very light sleeper, bring earplugs. The staff are extremely helpful and set us up with a great guide (Eric) for a walking tour of the city. The company they recommended for day trips to Monte Alban etc was also good. They know all of the restaurants and are happy to help you in any way!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allisonodenthal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Locationwise its a great choice. Just couple of blocks to Zocalo(city centre) & Santa domingo church. In general its a clean hotel and staff are so nice and helpful. The only thing was bothering me during our stay here was the noise from outside street as well as other guests inside. I would recommend this hotel to people who wants to be in centre of the town and have access to everything within couple of minutes. If you are looking for more relaxing time, go to other hotels far from centre such as hotel victoria.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Bita I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed in Oaxaca for a week in February and were not disappointed in our choice of Casa de Siete Balcones. Señora Elsa answered my emails in a timely fashion and booked us into the Reencuentro Suite.
The hotel has seven rooms so it always feels intimate. The house is well situated on the corner of Alcalá (a pedestrian walkway) and Morelos where cars are allowed. It is a safe area but to us all of Oaxaca felt safe. Restaurants, Coffee Shops, and stores galore nearby and mostly pretty friendly. Learn some Spanish and it gets even friendlier.
The bed was the biggest we had ever slept in and it was very comfortable. The room is spacious as is the bathroom. The shower had amazing pressure.
When we arrived the towels, kleenex, and toilet rolls had been fashioned into swans and birds. Lovely.
Even sitting outside our room in the inner courtyard was cosy. The street can be noisy but with the balcony door and the wooden shutters closed and the overhead fan working we heard nary a peep. They have air conditioning but often the overhead fan was all we needed to cool off.
Señora Elsa and the staff do all they can to make one's stay comfortable. Any questions we had were answered on the spot.
The Zocalo is two blocks away and the Church of Santo Domingo another two blocks in the other direction. Lots to see in both directions.
The breakfasts were fine. If you want bigger you can ask and for a bit extra they'll make you eggs or Oaxacan specialties like tamales (delicious).
One of my favorite pastimes at Siete Balcones was standing on our balcony watching the world go by with never ending fascination.
While in Oaxaca we visited the stand of Casilda in the Benito Juarez market for our daily "agua del dia" which is delicious and perfectly safe (they use purified water). Try the horchata con tuna (which is not really tuna but prickly pear-a delicious specialty of the house.)
We visited several of the nearby towns and villages and used a combination of taxis and colectivos. The taxis charge about 300 pesos and the colectivos 20 pesos per person. The difference being that the colectivos wait until they are full (5 passengers) before they can proceed. They also mostly come and go from the Mercado Abastos which is a bit of a walk to get to and back. But we are walkers so it was not an issue.
If you take a colectivo make sure you sit in the back because if you are the fourth passenger sitting in the comfy bucket seat in front you will be forced to squeeze over with your back up against the space between the two seats as soon as they find a fifth passenger. Not so comfy. Also be forewarned that you might not find a functioning seat belt in some colectivos. One we took didn't have a rear view mirror! But they took us where we needed to go pretty quickly once they got started.
We also walked north to the neighbourhoods of Xochimilco, an historic neighbourhood, and Reforma where the wealthier Oaxacans live. It will give you a more complete picture of Oaxaca than if you only stay in the downtown core.
But back to Casa de Siete Balcones. It was an excellent choice for us that I would recommend to all. Great for families as well as singles and couples.

Room Tip: The Reencuentra was a very nice sized room. The bathroom was large and the shower enormous. Overloo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelling_with_kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casade7Balcones, encargada del turno matutino recepción at Casa de Siete Balcones, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Many thanks to our dear guests who take their precious time for writting their best experiences in our beautiful city at "Casa de Siete Balcones" their home away home. For us, each of the guests who come to our spaces is very pleasant to meet and attend them, so they give us the opportunity to grow up in acknoledges and interchanging information about their own customs. It is really wonderful experience for all the staff. We also repeat that this job is very exciting and we like to do it every day. <Many thanks again to every body who write a nice message to "Casa de Siete Balcones" the home in Oaxaca of our dear guest s.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stayed here a total of 6 nights after discovering the place we rented on Air B&B was not habitable. It was tremendous luck to walk in off the street and find that they had a roomy king bedroom available with an adjacent tiny single room that had its own bathroom. Elsa, the property manager was friendly, efficient and spoke English and gave us a deal, essentially giving us the use of the compact single room for free.

We enjoyed being in the heart of the historical district as it was steps away from everything, yet this sweet little hotel felt very safe and was quiet. They also serve a decent breakfast in the morning with fresh squeezed orange juice. That was an unexpected bonus. Bed was firm and comfortable, nice feather pillows (and lots of them), high ceilings with fans, simple well done decor, kind of like you would expect if you were visiting a Catholic aunt with money and good taste. Bathrooms were roomy and the showers will blow you away - literally, no water savers on these babies and plenty of hot water. After experiencing shortages elsewhere on our Mexican trip, this was a nice find.

Elsa the manager is very helpful and friendly. She made it very easy for us to ship back a big box of purchases a day before we left via Fed-Ex. No mark-up from what I can tell and she's just the sort of person you like to have on hand to ask questions. Honest, no attitude and good vibes.

Housekeeping was great - don't forget to tip them as they do a terrific job. We left $20-30 pesos each day and that was well received.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabella L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casade7Balcones, Gerente at Casa de Siete Balcones, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear guest that stayed recently at your new home in Oaxaca. Thank you so much for all your nice and words about the services and attention to you. This is our job, and as you noted we love to work here and meet and help to all the visitors who come to our spaces. It is a great experience that allow to all the staff to improve the services in all the areas. We hope that in the next come back we can to see you and demonstrate to everybody with your kind words that at Casa de Siete Balcones" everyone are working for the best service. Many thanks again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaffrey, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 18, 2014

The people were so helpful and the place, a treat! Breakfast with fresh plentiful fruit, good cafe and lots of other goodies such a freah squeezed orange juice. A small boutique hotel, perfect location, helpful staff, so clean with fresh flowers daily and fantastic driver (Eric). It was just great.
We were traveling with our daughter and they put us in a room with an ajoining room and bath for her!

Room Tip: All are pretty interesting and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jinnie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casade7Balcones, Gerente at Casa de Siete Balcones, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear guest that stayed recently at your new home in Oaxaca. Thank you so much for all your nice and words about the services and attention to you. This is our job, and as you noted we love to work here and meet and help to all the visitors who come to our spaces. It is a great experience that allow to all the staff to improve the services in all the areas. We hope that in the next come back we can to see you and demonstrate to everybody with your kind words that at Casa de Siete Balcones" everyone are working for the best service. Many thanks again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

This is a very comfortable and beautiful boutique property in the heart of Oaxaca. It's right on the main pedestrian street and footsteps from the main sights.

There are seven beautifully furnished rooms with great attention to detail (towels folded like swans, fresh bottled water each day, coffee facilities) and a balcony (of course) overlooking the street. The rooms are very comfortable and feel artistic and romantic.

The breakfast is Oaxacan - a plate of fruit and pastries. It was a bit disorganised - unclear what time it started, but it was quite good. We were a bit disappointed to be charged for our daughter to have cereal (which we would think was covered by "continental breakfast") especially as we were staying three nights but leaving early and missing one breakfast. This seemed just a bit petty to us and unnecessary.

The only downside is, despite double glazing, you do get street noise, especially from the awful tourist bus which stops outside and then a guy touts for business on a loudhaler all afternoon.

And it would pay to brush up your Spanish. There aren't many people there who speak English and they may reply in Spanish even if they do understand.

We would probably stay again, but we might also look at something up closer to Santo Domingo church which is a nice (and nicer) area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwjg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casade7Balcones, encargada del turno matutino recepción at Casa de Siete Balcones, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
This is a thankfulness to your opinion by trip advisor . We are so sorry that our services in part was not at all to your expectatives. But if you have another visit to Oaxaca we will very very glad to demostrate you that in "Casa de Siete Balcones" always are worry for your comfort and happìness enjoying your stay in our spaces. About the windows with doubles glasses, we just mention that this can help to the sounds do not enter in less of 100 %percentage. But we reccommend to all of our guests that if anything does not work, they can to notify us immediately so we will look something that can help to them to be satisfied with our Hotel and its facilities and services. About the breakfasts: Continental breakfasts are included in the Mexican Pesos Rate. Sorry that the especifications were not clear enough in the site. Anyway, we now are in the best disposal to correct the disatisfaction of the services to you. Many Greetings!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
0.1 mi away
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Quinta Real Oaxaca
#7 of 109 in Oaxaca
532 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marialicia Suites
Marialicia Suites
#3 of 109 in Oaxaca
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Casona De Tita
Hotel La Casona De Tita
#2 of 109 in Oaxaca
187 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique De La Parra
0.1 mi away
Hotel CasAntica
Hotel CasAntica
#18 of 109 in Oaxaca
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Siete Balcones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Siete Balcones

Property: Casa de Siete Balcones
Address: Calle Morelos 800, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 109 Hotels in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa de Siete Balcones 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Casa de Siete Balcones reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing