We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Gracious, Friendly Hotel in Central Oaxaca at a great price!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa de Siete Balcones

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa de Siete Balcones
Ranked #5 of 111 Hotels in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
Berkeley, CA, USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Gracious, Friendly Hotel in Central Oaxaca at a great price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We just spent 3 nights at this jewel of a hotel, and loved it.

The location is superb, the staff is gracious and friendly, the breakfast of fruit, break, granola, yoghurt, juice, and yoghurt is perfect to start the day.

The location - just a few blocks from The Zocalo. The hotel is at the corner of Morelos and Calle Macedonio Alacala (the pedestrian street), so if you can book one of the rooms on that side. One room is on the corner and the particularly looked airy.

Free wireless for guests, I found myself sitting at one of the chairs at the top of the stairs, settling in, and checking email to the sound of the fountain.

Be sure to check out the little elevator they use to get the luggage to the 2nd floor - smart, very smart.

Carol was intrigued by the "aztec temple" atop the building to the west - best viewed from the steps on the 2nd floor patio.

We hope you'll be as delighted by the people, location, and hotel as we were!

The windows have double glazed glass, so even if you open the shutters, you still have to open the sliding glass doors to hear the street life and occasional parade down the pedestrian street.

Room Tip: Get a room on the pedestrian street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BerkeleyHomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    45
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
47
84
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

My friend and I recently stayed at Casa de Siete Balcones for 7 nights. From start to finish, the staff made sure that we had everything we needed (and more)! When our flights out of Newark were delayed by one day, Elsa and both Lisbeths (yes, there are 2!) reorganized the rooms in which we stayed, so that we would not have to change hotels. Since we wanted 2 separate beds, we first stayed in Jurisconsulto, a lovely room that was quiet and charming. We then moved to the Compania suite, very much enjoying 2 separate bedrooms and bathrooms. The beds were all very comfortable, and everything was meticulously clean. Breakfasts (included with the rooms) were delightful, with fresh fruit and orange juice, bread and sweetrolls, granola and yoghurt. One can also request eggs. The standard coffee and tea are also good. Location is ideal! But the most wonderful part of our stay was the staff, all of whom were friendly and who went out of their way to make sure we were well taken care of! Thanks so much to Elsa Linda and both Lisbeths for their efforts on our behalf! Cannot recommend this hotel more highly!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chercheure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlebury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
57 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I stayed 6 nights in 2 different rooms in this charming accommodation. Both rooms were large and well appointed and both had very small bathrooms. The bathrooms lacked towel racks and space around the sink for toiletries and I felt needed to be updated. The hotel/rooms were very clean and the continental breakfast was adequate. As others have said, the staff was very attentive and helpful. Being 2 blocks from the Zocalo and on the corner made the accommodation noisy even with windows and shutters closed. I would suggest ear plugs if you plan to stay at Siete Balcones.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We had to stay another night in Oaxaca and had no accommodation book. We found this place on-line and was pleasantly surprised.

Service - the staff (two ladies both named Lisbeth) were so friendly and helpful.

Room - charming, comfortable and cosy. The hotel grounds are just as gorgeous.

Food - our breakfast requirements were met even though we had to leave very early (6.30am!)

Location - this hotel is at the heart of the centro historico, which means the cathedral, shops, cafes and restaurants are right out of your doorstep.

Value - excellent value, having just stayed at other hotels that charged twice as much!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iskoolboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marin County, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Why this hotel hasn't been discovered by the guide books is really a mystery. A perfect location right on the Alcala, the promenade of Oaxaca, two blocks from the Zocolo and 10 minutes from everywhere else in town. The staff was wonderful and helped us with every need we had from restaurant reservations to drivers. The double pane glass doors onto the balaconies cut what little noise there was, so plenty of sleep. This is really a find thanks to Trip Advisor.
Gary and Tom

Room Tip: We stayed in the Belle Vista room which overlooked the Alcala, however, the other rooms were bigger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tepoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

***I loved everything about this hotel. Our stay was perfect. The hotel is a beautiful, charming old building. It is very well maintained and clean. Rooms are spacious and ours had a nice balcony. Service is warm and personal. Location is perfect. This would be my choice if I visit Oaxaca again.*********************

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank NadiaQ07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the 7 balcones just one night, time enough to realize that it probably is one of the best options in town. The location is unbeatable and the service very warm and efficient. My room had a small balcony -Jurisconsulto- and was quite silent at night. The breakfast was too light for my taste... In anycase, I shall return for sure!

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank RM00184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca
0.5 mi away
Los Pilares Hotel
Los Pilares Hotel
#10 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 stars 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Oaxaca
Casa Oaxaca
#7 of 111 in Oaxaca
5.0 of 5 stars 193 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palacio Borghese
Hotel Palacio Borghese
#8 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 stars 145 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marialicia Suites
Marialicia Suites
#2 of 111 in Oaxaca
5.0 of 5 stars 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Siete Balcones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Siete Balcones

Property: Casa de Siete Balcones
Address: Avenida Morelos 800, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 111 Hotels in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Casa de Siete Balcones reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing