We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Casa de Siete Balcones

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa de Siete Balcones
Ranked #6 of 111 Hotels in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
Middlebury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
57 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Convenient Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I stayed 6 nights in 2 different rooms in this charming accommodation. Both rooms were large and well appointed and both had very small bathrooms. The bathrooms lacked towel racks and space around the sink for toiletries and I felt needed to be updated. The hotel/rooms were very clean and the continental breakfast was adequate. As others have said, the staff was very attentive and helpful. Being 2 blocks from the Zocalo and on the corner made the accommodation noisy even with windows and shutters closed. I would suggest ear plugs if you plan to stay at Siete Balcones.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    46
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
47
85
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We had to stay another night in Oaxaca and had no accommodation book. We found this place on-line and was pleasantly surprised.

Service - the staff (two ladies both named Lisbeth) were so friendly and helpful.

Room - charming, comfortable and cosy. The hotel grounds are just as gorgeous.

Food - our breakfast requirements were met even though we had to leave very early (6.30am!)

Location - this hotel is at the heart of the centro historico, which means the cathedral, shops, cafes and restaurants are right out of your doorstep.

Value - excellent value, having just stayed at other hotels that charged twice as much!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iskoolboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marin County, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Why this hotel hasn't been discovered by the guide books is really a mystery. A perfect location right on the Alcala, the promenade of Oaxaca, two blocks from the Zocolo and 10 minutes from everywhere else in town. The staff was wonderful and helped us with every need we had from restaurant reservations to drivers. The double pane glass doors onto the balaconies cut what little noise there was, so plenty of sleep. This is really a find thanks to Trip Advisor.
Gary and Tom

Room Tip: We stayed in the Belle Vista room which overlooked the Alcala, however, the other rooms were bigger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tepoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

***I loved everything about this hotel. Our stay was perfect. The hotel is a beautiful, charming old building. It is very well maintained and clean. Rooms are spacious and ours had a nice balcony. Service is warm and personal. Location is perfect. This would be my choice if I visit Oaxaca again.*********************

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank NadiaQ07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the 7 balcones just one night, time enough to realize that it probably is one of the best options in town. The location is unbeatable and the service very warm and efficient. My room had a small balcony -Jurisconsulto- and was quite silent at night. The breakfast was too light for my taste... In anycase, I shall return for sure!

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank RM00184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The last time I wrote a review of Siete Balcones, I said that it was 'our home away from home." I almost wished I hadn't said that because it is difficult when you return to a place even one that you took into your heart. But we needn't have any fear. Siete Balcones was all and more than we remembered. Though the rooms are large and lovely, It is not the fanciest nor grandest place in town but it is the place that makes you "happy' because you feel so "comfortable." From Lizbeth, the beautiful manager, to Elsa Linda, who is there to guide you in the day and the sweet faced Lisbeth, at the desk at night, questions get answered and any problems you have get solved. At night there is a smiling young man to keep watch. And there is the tiny Maria, who gets your bags up to your room, keeps the beds so pristinely white, puts fresh flowers in your room each day and seems to be around all of the time. Breakfasts are just enough with fresh fruits and Oaxacan breads. How nice to have such comfort so close to the zocolo with a balcony to watch the festivities and a glass door to shut out the sound if so desired. Oh! and by the way, the internet connection is strong.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carney-photo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I stayed in this lovely hotel for 4 nights in October and would highly recommend it. The staff were exceptionally welcoming and friendly; the room was a good size with a lovely balcony on to the street and the breakfast was fresh and delicious. The hotel is in the perfect location to explore Oaxaca. I look forward to visiting again.

Room Tip: We had a room on the main street side which was surprisingly quite and was fun to watch the action f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LilacLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca
0.5 mi away
Los Pilares Hotel
Los Pilares Hotel
#12 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 stars 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Oaxaca
Casa Oaxaca
#5 of 111 in Oaxaca
5.0 of 5 stars 202 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palacio Borghese
Hotel Palacio Borghese
#10 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 stars 146 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Quinta Real Oaxaca
#9 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 stars 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Siete Balcones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Siete Balcones

Property: Casa de Siete Balcones
Address: Calle Morelos 800, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 111 Hotels in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Casa de Siete Balcones reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing