We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Our fourth time there was even better than ever.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa de Siete Balcones

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa de Siete Balcones
Ranked #5 of 111 Hotels in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our fourth time there was even better than ever.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The last time I wrote a review of Siete Balcones, I said that it was 'our home away from home." I almost wished I hadn't said that because it is difficult when you return to a place even one that you took into your heart. But we needn't have any fear. Siete Balcones was all and more than we remembered. Though the rooms are large and lovely, It is not the fanciest nor grandest place in town but it is the place that makes you "happy' because you feel so "comfortable." From Lizbeth, the beautiful manager, to Elsa Linda, who is there to guide you in the day and the sweet faced Lisbeth, at the desk at night, questions get answered and any problems you have get solved. At night there is a smiling young man to keep watch. And there is the tiny Maria, who gets your bags up to your room, keeps the beds so pristinely white, puts fresh flowers in your room each day and seems to be around all of the time. Breakfasts are just enough with fresh fruits and Oaxacan breads. How nice to have such comfort so close to the zocolo with a balcony to watch the festivities and a glass door to shut out the sound if so desired. Oh! and by the way, the internet connection is strong.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carney-photo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    45
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
47
84
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I stayed in this lovely hotel for 4 nights in October and would highly recommend it. The staff were exceptionally welcoming and friendly; the room was a good size with a lovely balcony on to the street and the breakfast was fresh and delicious. The hotel is in the perfect location to explore Oaxaca. I look forward to visiting again.

Room Tip: We had a room on the main street side which was surprisingly quite and was fun to watch the action f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LilacLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Spent a week in this lovely gem of a hotel. It is a small hotel in a beautiful colonial building, carefully and delightfully refurbished and decorated. The staff is gracious and professional. The room was large, and it did indeed have a balcony. I spent a fair amount of time leaning my elbows on the balcony rail and watching life go on, up and down the street. Although the room faced the street, noise was cancelled out by triple-paned windows and beautiful wooden shutters. So sleep was quiet and peaceful. The room was provided with fresh flowers. Breakfast was a work of art. The coffee was good. There was impressive attention to detail in all things, from housekeeping to reservations. Elsa Linda at the front desk was exceptionally kind and helpful in all matters, including arranging for taxis and tours. WiFi worked well. The hotel is a ideally located at the corner of a pedestrian-only street, a couple of blocks from the zocalo and three blocks from the Church of Santo Domingo de Guzman and its museum. I loved this hotel and wouldn't stay anywhere else in Oaxaca.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gailsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We spent 3 nights here during an anniversary trip to Oaxaca. I recommend this hotel not for plush towels or a big breakfast (if those things are important to you, maybe look elsewhere), but for its exceptional location on the pedestrian-only street running through downtown and the wonderful attention and service provided by the staff. It seemed to me to be operated by an all-female staff, all very sweet yet professional. The building and rooms are truly beautiful, and the sliding glass doors ensured that we really didn't hear too much noise from the street below. We would love to stay here if we return to Oaxaca.

Room Tip: Bellavista, with its two balconies on the corner, was great for people-watching.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank krb11882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Fantastic little boutique hotel at made us feel right at home. Perfectly located in central Oaxaca, the owners were more than happy to help us out with everything - including booking a good tour to nearby Mitla.
Would stay there again in a second.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

We only stayed one night here, but would certainly recommend it to others. A very warm welcome from such hospitable and helpful staff. Nothing too much trouble. Beautiful building . Spacious room, individually furnished with antique furniture and fresh flowers. Trouble taken with detail. Clean. Good bathroom with toiletries. Tea and coffee facilities and water provided. Although fronting the road, it was quiet. Valet car parking included. Important in central Oaxaca. Let down by a somewhat disappointing breakfast.

Room Tip: Unable to help here as satisfied with room allocated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abandbarbseniors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

My husband and I spent five nights at the Casa de Siete Balcones during a 10 day trip to Oaxaca for our honeymoon. We absolutely loved our stay! The staff is just wonderful - they had our room decorated "honeymoon style" and a bottle of wine ready when we arrived. They were exceptionally kind, thoughtful, and did everything they could to make our stay as perfect as it could be.

The location is also awesome - just blocks away from all the major sights in the city.

It's not cheap, but for us totally worth it. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nutmeg618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca
0.5 mi away
Los Pilares Hotel
Los Pilares Hotel
#9 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 stars 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Oaxaca
Casa Oaxaca
#7 of 111 in Oaxaca
5.0 of 5 stars 193 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palacio Borghese
Hotel Palacio Borghese
#8 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 stars 145 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marialicia Suites
Marialicia Suites
#2 of 111 in Oaxaca
5.0 of 5 stars 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Siete Balcones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Siete Balcones

Property: Casa de Siete Balcones
Address: Avenida Morelos 800, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 111 Hotels in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Casa de Siete Balcones reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing