We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and quaint in an excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa de Siete Balcones
Ranked #5 of 109 Hotels in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Comfortable and quaint in an excellent location”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We spent 3 nights here during an anniversary trip to Oaxaca. I recommend this hotel not for plush towels or a big breakfast (if those things are important to you, maybe look elsewhere), but for its exceptional location on the pedestrian-only street running through downtown and the wonderful attention and service provided by the staff. It seemed to me to be operated by an all-female staff, all very sweet yet professional. The building and rooms are truly beautiful, and the sliding glass doors ensured that we really didn't hear too much noise from the street below. We would love to stay here if we return to Oaxaca.

Room Tip: Bellavista, with its two balconies on the corner, was great for people-watching.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank krb11882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    60
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
62
112
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Fantastic little boutique hotel at made us feel right at home. Perfectly located in central Oaxaca, the owners were more than happy to help us out with everything - including booking a good tour to nearby Mitla.
Would stay there again in a second.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

We only stayed one night here, but would certainly recommend it to others. A very warm welcome from such hospitable and helpful staff. Nothing too much trouble. Beautiful building . Spacious room, individually furnished with antique furniture and fresh flowers. Trouble taken with detail. Clean. Good bathroom with toiletries. Tea and coffee facilities and water provided. Although fronting the road, it was quiet. Valet car parking included. Important in central Oaxaca. Let down by a somewhat disappointing breakfast.

Room Tip: Unable to help here as satisfied with room allocated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abandbarbseniors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

My husband and I spent five nights at the Casa de Siete Balcones during a 10 day trip to Oaxaca for our honeymoon. We absolutely loved our stay! The staff is just wonderful - they had our room decorated "honeymoon style" and a bottle of wine ready when we arrived. They were exceptionally kind, thoughtful, and did everything they could to make our stay as perfect as it could be.

The location is also awesome - just blocks away from all the major sights in the city.

It's not cheap, but for us totally worth it. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nutmeg618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Everything was amazing from the moment of making our reservation to the moment we left

Room Tip: Tell them what you leed and they will work it for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiGarGar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

We stayed in Casa de Siete Balcones for our trip in Oaxaca. The hotel was steps away from the Zocalo, Cathedral, and church of San Francisco. The hotel was right on the peatonal and thus very close to most of what the tourist wants to see in Centro Oaxaca.

The staff was very welcoming and helpful throughout our stay. Despite our arriving early for our stay, the staff received our luggage and had them waiting for us in our room later in the day.

The breakfast was good, continental, but given the great options available at nearby restaurants, our kids ate at the hotel and we went to a local cafe.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank digarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel. On our arrival we told Elsa, the reception manager, we were having car problems and she couldn't of been more efficient about calling our rental car provider and sorting out our problem. The rooms are large, beautifully decorated and very comfortable. Our room had a king sized bed (a bit too short for us though, our feet hung off the bed!) and staff were very accomodating with our 8 month old baby, providing a cot and baby chair for him. Our laundry was done in 24 hours and all rooms have double glazing, so we weren't bothered with noisy Oaxaca nightlife. Breakfasts are a bit disappointing, very weak coffee and dry bread buns. But you get a nice plate of fresh fruit, granola and yogurt. On the whole, we would definitely recommend and return to this hotel, it made our stay in Oaxaca very enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HRS78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
0.1 mi away
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Quinta Real Oaxaca
#7 of 109 in Oaxaca
535 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marialicia Suites
Marialicia Suites
#3 of 109 in Oaxaca
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel CasAntica
Hotel CasAntica
#17 of 109 in Oaxaca
347 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Casona De Tita
Hotel La Casona De Tita
#2 of 109 in Oaxaca
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Siete Balcones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Siete Balcones

Property: Casa de Siete Balcones
Address: Calle Morelos 800, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 109 Hotels in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa de Siete Balcones 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Casa de Siete Balcones reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing