We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Our Oaxacan home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa de Siete Balcones

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa de Siete Balcones
Ranked #6 of 111 Hotels in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our Oaxacan home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Fantastic little boutique hotel at made us feel right at home. Perfectly located in central Oaxaca, the owners were more than happy to help us out with everything - including booking a good tour to nearby Mitla.
Would stay there again in a second.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    47
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
49
88
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

We only stayed one night here, but would certainly recommend it to others. A very warm welcome from such hospitable and helpful staff. Nothing too much trouble. Beautiful building . Spacious room, individually furnished with antique furniture and fresh flowers. Trouble taken with detail. Clean. Good bathroom with toiletries. Tea and coffee facilities and water provided. Although fronting the road, it was quiet. Valet car parking included. Important in central Oaxaca. Let down by a somewhat disappointing breakfast.

Room Tip: Unable to help here as satisfied with room allocated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abandbarbseniors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

My husband and I spent five nights at the Casa de Siete Balcones during a 10 day trip to Oaxaca for our honeymoon. We absolutely loved our stay! The staff is just wonderful - they had our room decorated "honeymoon style" and a bottle of wine ready when we arrived. They were exceptionally kind, thoughtful, and did everything they could to make our stay as perfect as it could be.

The location is also awesome - just blocks away from all the major sights in the city.

It's not cheap, but for us totally worth it. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nutmeg618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Everything was amazing from the moment of making our reservation to the moment we left

Room Tip: Tell them what you leed and they will work it for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiGarGar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

We stayed in Casa de Siete Balcones for our trip in Oaxaca. The hotel was steps away from the Zocalo, Cathedral, and church of San Francisco. The hotel was right on the peatonal and thus very close to most of what the tourist wants to see in Centro Oaxaca.

The staff was very welcoming and helpful throughout our stay. Despite our arriving early for our stay, the staff received our luggage and had them waiting for us in our room later in the day.

The breakfast was good, continental, but given the great options available at nearby restaurants, our kids ate at the hotel and we went to a local cafe.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank digarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel. On our arrival we told Elsa, the reception manager, we were having car problems and she couldn't of been more efficient about calling our rental car provider and sorting out our problem. The rooms are large, beautifully decorated and very comfortable. Our room had a king sized bed (a bit too short for us though, our feet hung off the bed!) and staff were very accomodating with our 8 month old baby, providing a cot and baby chair for him. Our laundry was done in 24 hours and all rooms have double glazing, so we weren't bothered with noisy Oaxaca nightlife. Breakfasts are a bit disappointing, very weak coffee and dry bread buns. But you get a nice plate of fresh fruit, granola and yogurt. On the whole, we would definitely recommend and return to this hotel, it made our stay in Oaxaca very enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HRS78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Through a series of booking errors at NY’s Park Avenue Hotel years ago, management upgraded me into the best suite. It had a huge, corner wraparound balcony overlooking both 5th Avenue and Central Park. I was King for the weekend!

That is how I felt in the Bella Vista room at Siete Balcones.

This hotel is like the prow of a ship, floating over the historic zone. It is at an epicenter of colonial architecture. Traditional Oaxaca vibrations blast all senses, (yes, including the “sounds” other reviewers mention.)

Bella Vista is the flagship room, etched on the hotel’s logo. This corner gets most of the City’s processions and parades, perhaps because of the Acala (pedestrian only)/Morelos (automobile) combination. Parades come in any of four directions, with no notice. They can include giant balloons, carnival figures, traditional dancers, Jesus, and fireworks. On one day, the parades was 400 3-wheeled moto taxis bound for blessing at the Basilica down the street. Then came Carli and Adriana’s wedding, followed later by a re-creation of Viennese Waltzes as danced in old Oaxaca. Finally, a parade for Something I Never Figured Out went down Acala at dusk. Make sure your video camera has plenty memory---from your fly-on-the-wall vantage point, you see everything. (. . . and nobody notices you. Maybe TMI, but we watched the wedding procession in bathrobes!)

The hotel pays remarkable, consistent attention to detail and cleanliness. Maintenance is challenging for sensitively renovated colonial buildings. The hotel’s performance is astounding. It just *smells* clean, without perfuming chemicals. The lack of chips, cracks, idiosyncratic plumbing, etc. in the natural materials, is characteristic of hotels double the price. Soundproof outer balcony doors are so clean staff warns you not to bump into them.

Prior reviews about noise frankly scared me. I am sensitive to sound. (At home, I am in constant negotiation with my neighbor’s barking pit bull.) Yes, there are many sounds in Oaxaca. The hotel is smack dab in a vibrant city and may not be for everyone. Nevertheless, I did not lose sleep. The hotel has an interesting “soundproof” system. When you close the balcony doors, it is like turning off a loud radio. The only sound that got through was the traffic signal’s “chirper” for sight-impaired pedestrians. The City turns it off late at night, but one suggestion for hotel management: “Use your political power and turn down the chirper volume.

Room Tip: Tip for silence seekers: “Juriconsulto” is on the pedestrian side (Acala). “Bella Vista” faces bot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Cross-Culture-Maven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
0.5 mi away
Los Pilares Hotel
Los Pilares Hotel
#12 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 stars 106 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel CasAntica
Hotel CasAntica
#8 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 stars 301 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Quinta Real Oaxaca
#9 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 stars 444 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marialicia Suites
Marialicia Suites
#3 of 111 in Oaxaca
5.0 of 5 stars 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Siete Balcones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Siete Balcones

Property: Casa de Siete Balcones
Address: Calle Morelos 800, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 111 Hotels in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Casa de Siete Balcones reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing