We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a fantastic hotel”
Review of Casa Catrina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Catrina
Ranked #38 of 109 Hotels in Oaxaca
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“This is a fantastic hotel”
Reviewed August 30, 2010

I loved this hotel. It was the perfect combination of Mexican style and atmosphere, with all the Western amenities and conveniences I like in a hotel. The service was personal and gracious. The location was great: close to the center where everything is, but on a nice, quieter street than some hotels. It was clean and everything seemed new and in great condition. I really couldn't have asked for more.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HighMaintenance_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    15
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
12
22
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for a couple of days. The hotel is very close to the main attractions. The staff is wonderfull and all of them show "customer focus".
The hotel doesn't have a main restaurant; however, it offers an excellent breakfast.
This is a classic boutique hotel with just 6 rooms, no restaurant, no swimming pool but great service.
Oaxaca is a City that offers excelent restaurants and great places to go, so you don't spend the day at the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roccox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plainfield, nj
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2009

Stayed here while visiting Oaxaca for the Days of the Dead celebrations. The hotel is well located, close enough to walk to everything, yet far enough away to allow for quiet. The rooms were comfortable and well maintained. English speaking staff attended to our every need and made our life simpler. Their warm and caring attitudes made them feel like family inspiring hugs all around when we left. The daily breakfasts were hearty, filling and delicious; a perfect way to start the day. When members of our party acquired travellers discomfort they offered up special food and drink which quickly put us back on our feet to enjoy all the town had to offer. Can't wait to stay with them again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank comicbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2009

I chose this hotel because it is expensive and in my experience in hotels the more expensive the better, but after these vacations I wil have to change my theory.
It is a 4 room house with no restaurant, no pool, no parking, no service room, no nothing. The rooms are dark because the windows are too amall and you don't have privacy because it is a house. If you are hungry you have to get out of the hotel because they don't even have the servi-bar they promise in the web page.
I wouldn' recommend this hotel to anyone. The Camino Real costs the same and is the best hotel in Oaxaca, I wish I knew this before.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank anyvalero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, QC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2006

http://www.casacatrina.com.mx/

Hotel has lovely rooms (see website), excellent breakfasts and a good location very close to Santo Domingo, but unfortunately the appeal ends there. For the price (almost $200/night, though these days all hotels seem to have become quite expensive in Oaxaca for what you get), I expected much more. Sheets and towels were rough, bed was too firm (though that's the case throughout Mexico), pillows seemed to be foam, no radio in the room, and the service, while friendly, was not competent. A complaint about a spraying faucet recieved a promise that it would be looked into, but nothing happened. Another complaint about the awful wi-fi connection received the same. Restaurant recommendations were weak. I feel I should have paid the extra $$ and stayed at Casa Oaxaca which looked very nice from the street.

Helpful?
5 Thank Daoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Boutique De La Parra
0.3 mi away
Casa de los Frailes
Casa de los Frailes
#33 of 109 in Oaxaca
122 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Azul
Hotel Azul
#16 of 109 in Oaxaca
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palacio Borghese
Hotel Palacio Borghese
#9 of 109 in Oaxaca
184 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa Los Cantaros
0.6 mi away
Casa de Sierra Azul
Casa de Sierra Azul
#28 of 109 in Oaxaca
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Catrina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Catrina

Property: Casa Catrina
Address: Calle Manuel Garcia Vigil 703, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 109 Hotels in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Catrina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa catrina a colonial oaxacan family home, has been beautifully renovated to create a new hospitality venue within the heart of vibrant and colorful oaxaca city. This quaint hotel is the brainchild of noted oaxacan artist Rolando Rojas, an internationally renowned painter.Six guestrooms are distributed around a central courtyard where exquisite full oaxacan breakfast can be enjoyed. While guestrooms ares similar in design, decor in each is based on a unique color scheme that matches the artwork that is featured in each accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Catrina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing