We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice But Stingy”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Catrina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Catrina
Ranked #40 of 113 Hotels in Oaxaca
Evanston, IL
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice But Stingy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Overall, Casa Catrina offers pleasant accommodations and is well located. They were the first hotel I've ever stayed at to refuse to provide a second washcloth! Many places in the world don't provide any, but Casa C provided only one in the bathroom?! When I asked for another, they refused and told me that was all they had! There were two of us in the room, did they think we would share a washcloth? While the breakfast service is prompt, its a very meager offering of a roll or two and juice, and the coffee is horribly weak. I'd just as soon pay another 50-60 pesos a night and have a breakfast that seemed hospitable and generous.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silkboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    15
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
10
22
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2011

Love the reviews as they are veryhelpful but hopefully some reviewers give accurate information, the hotel has 6 rooms not 4, andit is true expensive doens't mean better that is the reasons for reviews so you as a customer in advance have an idea on what to expect and of course while in the hotel make sure everythign that was offered is on the contract. We spend 4 wonderful day in our honey moon in Casa catrina, breakfast was fine iwth us, we didn't want to spend the whole day inside a hotel, there are plenty of good places out there in Oaxaca. Service was great and we use the basement "bar" for a farewell party with some of our guest asther the wedding. Love the place, extra pay for privacy was worth it.

Room Tip: The Red room was great and we have a surprise welcome decoration with flores, fruits and some drinks
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank serenpidity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
100 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

We spent 9 days at Casa Catrina for the Dia de los Muertos celebrations in Oaxaca. This is a lovely boutique hotel/B & B with only 6 rooms. Our room was wonderful (the Rojo suite), very clean, and we had excellent service. Full delicious breakfast was served each morning in the lovely inside courtyard. Our king size bed and down pillows were excellent. The staff is amazing and treated us with every kindness. Good location in a bustling area, about 7 blocks from the Zocolo. Great restaurants and shops abound. We hope to return again in a year or so and will try to stay again at Casa Catrina

Room Tip: Try to get a room with windows. A couple rooms are interior rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeaninelouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

This hotel is a small but very personal and detailed hotel, food is excellent, rooms are all different all very nice, service is excellent and very personalized. Very very close to all major attractions (walking distance). Hotel is secure and beds and linens are excellent quality. Spacious bathroom with hot water and AC for those very hot days.

Room Tip: Biggest room is the Red Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alejandro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puebla, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

For us like a family (3 kids) it's very important to have a nice and beautiful hotel. Otherwise vacacions won't be relaxing. At Casa Catrina we felt like home - even the kids. It was our 2nd stay there and we'll will regress for sure.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank utemausi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2010

I loved this hotel. It was the perfect combination of Mexican style and atmosphere, with all the Western amenities and conveniences I like in a hotel. The service was personal and gracious. The location was great: close to the center where everything is, but on a nice, quieter street than some hotels. It was clean and everything seemed new and in great condition. I really couldn't have asked for more.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HighMaintenance_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
71 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for a couple of days. The hotel is very close to the main attractions. The staff is wonderfull and all of them show "customer focus".
The hotel doesn't have a main restaurant; however, it offers an excellent breakfast.
This is a classic boutique hotel with just 6 rooms, no restaurant, no swimming pool but great service.
Oaxaca is a City that offers excelent restaurants and great places to go, so you don't spend the day at the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roccox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.4 mi away
La Catrina de Alcala
La Catrina de Alcala
#34 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.5 mi away
Los Pilares Hotel
Los Pilares Hotel
#11 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Boutique De La Parra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
0.3 mi away
Hotel CasAntica
Hotel CasAntica
#17 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa de Sierra Azul
Casa de Sierra Azul
#24 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Catrina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Catrina

Property: Casa Catrina
Address: Calle Manuel Garcia Vigil 703, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 113 Hotels in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Catrina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa catrina a colonial oaxacan family home, has been beautifully renovated to create a new hospitality venue within the heart of vibrant and colorful oaxaca city. This quaint hotel is the brainchild of noted oaxacan artist Rolando Rojas, an internationally renowned painter.Six guestrooms are distributed around a central courtyard where exquisite full oaxacan breakfast can be enjoyed. While guestrooms ares similar in design, decor in each is based on a unique color scheme that matches the artwork that is featured in each accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Catrina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing