We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Comfortable, clean and centrally located.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa de los Angeles

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa de los Angeles
Ranked #19 of 112 Oaxaca B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable, clean and centrally located.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

We were lucky to find this B&B. Start with the breakfasts... fresh squeezed juice, sweet bread, coffee, fruit and yogurt. THEN scrambled eggs with salsa or some other amazing traditional dish. The rooms are modest but well taken care of. It's close to the historic district on a private side street. Rene, the host, is very helpful and encouraging even though our Spanish isn't so great. We've stayed there twice and recommended it to our friends who liked it too.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mariojames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
19
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

My husband and I stayed with Paula and Rene for 3 weeks in September 2010. Although this was my husband's 3rd trip to Oaxaca, we decided not to repeat any of his previous home stays. Casa de los Angeles was highly recommended by an acquaintance and now we agree. The house, bedrooms and bathrooms were spotless. Breakfast and 'la comida' were prepared with much skill and reflected the complex and varied flavors of Oaxaca. A 5 minute walk to Avenida Ninos Heroes and the Instituto Cultural, the neighborhood was quiet; no night-time disturbances or loud trucks. Best of all were the hosts, Paula and Rene, who kept up a lively and diverse conversation at meals, making sure that everyone, regardless of their Spanish skills, could contribute and understand. They were kind, helpful and knowledgeable about so many aspects of Oaxaca, including politics, society, culture and literature. We will definitely stay at Casa de los Angeles when we return to Oaxaca.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EllenMcCarthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willits, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

Rene and Paula offer a charming and comfortable stay close to the city center in Oaxaca. Their B and B is squeaky clean and very comfortable. Although the baths are shared, they are very private. There is lots of opportunity to be completely alone as well as share wonderful, intelligent conversation with Rene and Paula and the students who often stay in their home. And the best part is the food! Wow! It is fresh and healthy and some of the best food I have every eaten! Breakfast is part of the package and "la comida" is available at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NormaHanson33273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

Casa de los Angeles bed and breakfast is in a nice, quiet, safe location close to the main tourist spots. They serve large, amazing, authentic Oaxacan breakfasts every morning. The rooms are clean, simple and very comfortable in Rene and Paola's beautiful home. The hosts were very helpful and patient with our limited Spanish as well as offered advice about sightseeing. They also pick you up from the airport! I feel we were very lucky to have stayed at Casa de Los Angeles!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beansandrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca
0.7 mi away
Hotel Casa del Sotano
Hotel Casa del Sotano
#23 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 stars 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Azucenas
Hotel Azucenas
#21 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 stars 216 reviews
0.9 mi away
Casa de Sierra Azul
Casa de Sierra Azul
#19 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 stars 142 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casa Arnel
Hotel Casa Arnel
#68 of 111 in Oaxaca
3.5 of 5 stars 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de los Angeles

Property: Casa de los Angeles
Address: 2a Cerrada de Macedonio Alcala 207 | Col. Diaz Ordaz, Oaxaca 68040, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de los Angeles is an intimate family-run guest house offering bed and breakfast in the colonial city of Oaxaca, Mexico. The guest house provides terraces and patios to allow you to rest under the beautiful blue skies of Oaxaca. An elegantly decorated home with modern Mexican flair and Old World charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Casa de los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing