We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Warm hospitality and fabulous food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa de los Angeles B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa de los Angeles B&B
Ranked #17 of 122 Oaxaca B&B and Inns
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Warm hospitality and fabulous food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

I stayed at Casa de los Angeles for three weeks while studying Spanish at the Instituto Cultural de Oaxaca. The Casa is located within walking distance of the main sites in the center of the City. The family couldn't have been more welcoming, and provided information on various features of Oaxaca. The room was spacious and immaculate, as was the bathroom. And the food was freshly cooked, delicious and so plentiful that I only was able to eat 2 meals a day.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
19
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

We enjoyed our stay with the hosts, Paula and Rene, for six nights. They are generous, kind and most helpful. Marta's breakfasts are wonderful.... best Oaxacan dishes we ate. The house is spotless. Location is very good -- about a 10 minute walk to major sites in town and two minutes to the Instituto Cultural and the first class bus terminal.

Anna and Peter
Ottawa, Canada

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 155004Peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2011

This is an excellent choice of location for a stay in Oaxaca. It is a fifteen minute walk from the heart of the city in a quiet and pleasant neighbourhood. The rooms are clean and comfortable and offer good value. The breakfasts are always well cooked and present a great opportunity to practise Spanish - something we are both in need of! We're looking forward to returning one day if we ever have the opportunity.

Room Tip: Rooms on the road side can pick up noises from the street if the window's are open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barra_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2011

We recently stayed three weeks in Casa de los Angeles and would certainly go back again. The food was interesting and always different, and of excellent quality. For us one of the main benefits was that the house was located on a quiet street, and we were always able to get a good night's sleep. The family was very helpful, and assisted in any problems that arose - went out of their way in my opinion. Rene was excellent in the manner that he spoke Spanish to people staying there; always slowly and at the level that people could follow.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChemistSaskatoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2011

I have just returned from my second stay at Casa de los Angeles in Oaxaca. If I am fortunate enough to return to Oaxaca I will be sure to plan my trip around another homestay with Paula, Rene and Marta. Their lovely home is situated in a secure location, a perfect walking distance from the zocalo. It is <5 minutes walk from a major road where there is easy access to taxis and buses. The first class bus station is within walking distance or a very short cab ride if you have lots of luggage. I rarely ate out as I hated to miss the fellowship and incredible meals. The food is delicious, healthy and provide a daily lesson on the best of Mexican cuisine. Paula and Rene are very kind, both quick to help with any inquiries. They are extremely patient as non-Spanish speakers tentatively try their new language. Their home is very comfortable and clean with a shared lounge for the exclusive use of guests, equipped with TV and Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jvandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2011

We were lucky to find this B&B. Start with the breakfasts... fresh squeezed juice, sweet bread, coffee, fruit and yogurt. THEN scrambled eggs with salsa or some other amazing traditional dish. The rooms are modest but well taken care of. It's close to the historic district on a private side street. Rene, the host, is very helpful and encouraging even though our Spanish isn't so great. We've stayed there twice and recommended it to our friends who liked it too.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mariojames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2010

My husband and I stayed with Paula and Rene for 3 weeks in September 2010. Although this was my husband's 3rd trip to Oaxaca, we decided not to repeat any of his previous home stays. Casa de los Angeles was highly recommended by an acquaintance and now we agree. The house, bedrooms and bathrooms were spotless. Breakfast and 'la comida' were prepared with much skill and reflected the complex and varied flavors of Oaxaca. A 5 minute walk to Avenida Ninos Heroes and the Instituto Cultural, the neighborhood was quiet; no night-time disturbances or loud trucks. Best of all were the hosts, Paula and Rene, who kept up a lively and diverse conversation at meals, making sure that everyone, regardless of their Spanish skills, could contribute and understand. They were kind, helpful and knowledgeable about so many aspects of Oaxaca, including politics, society, culture and literature. We will definitely stay at Casa de los Angeles when we return to Oaxaca.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EllenMcCarthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca
0.9 mi away
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
0.7 mi away
Hotel Casa del Sotano
Hotel Casa del Sotano
#21 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Los Pilares Hotel
Los Pilares Hotel
#12 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
2.5 mi away
Fiesta Inn Oaxaca
Fiesta Inn Oaxaca
#5 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
1.0 mi away
Casa de Sierra Azul
Casa de Sierra Azul
#19 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de los Angeles B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de los Angeles B&B

Property: Casa de los Angeles B&B
Address: 2a Cerrada de Macedonio Alcala 207 | Col. Diaz Ordaz, Oaxaca 68040, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 122 B&Bs / Inns in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de los Angeles is an intimate family-run guest house offering bed and breakfast in the colonial city of Oaxaca, Mexico. The guest house provides terraces and patios to allow you to rest under the beautiful blue skies of Oaxaca. An elegantly decorated home with modern Mexican flair and Old World charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Casa de los Angeles B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing