We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value and a comfortable bed”
Review of Hotel Casa Vertiz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Casa Vertiz
Ranked #32 of 109 Hotels in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
118 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Excellent value and a comfortable bed”
Reviewed November 26, 2010

Large rooms, comfortable beds and very nice bathrooms at a fair price is what you will find at this centrally located gem. Only a block from Santo Domingo it is well placed. Free internet is a plus. We paid around 900 pesos per room for two rooms. We were very pleased.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dclang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    21
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
16
32
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
atlanta, ga
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2010

we stayed here for three nights in the middle of september. no breakfast included, but a solid hotel with nice, clean rooms and a pretty garden. breakfast is on the pricey side, but actually the restaurant is frequented by locals, so that speaks well. small spot. think i would prefer this hotel versus camino real or something like that.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank casiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2010

LOCATION - A / perfectly situated on one of the nicer streets
ROOM - B / roomy with some nice details; quiet
BED - C / firm, very firm
SERVICE & FRIENDLINESS - A
INTERNET ACCESS - B / free but painfully slow
PARKING - N/A
GYM & SPA - N/A
AMENITIES & "EXTRAS" - N/A
OVERALL VIBE - B+ / very charming setting and "feel" compared to other Oaxaca hotels (and we toured A LOT!)

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TandemWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mérida, Venezuela
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2010

Nice room, no frills. Quiet, simple and clean. Good restaurant for Mexican food and excelent breakfasts (not included in rate.)

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlutxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2010

The location couldn't be better. The service is great and the rooms are very clean and comfortable. After a bad experience at a B & B several blocks away, we were SO happy to be at such a warm, friendly place. Though the place is not "Americanized" and thus, if you don't speak Spanish, you will need to communicate as best you can, it was definitely easy enough and the people could not have been more accommodating or nice. Our plans needed to be changed overnight and we needed two rooms. Our internet reservation never got through (they said it's more reliable to call), so when we walked in, they weren't expecting us. But they found us great rooms and helped us as much as they could. The breakfast at the cafe in the beautiful courtyard was really fantastic, they make a mean margarita in the bar, and the restaurant right next door, La Olla, is one of the best in all of Oaxaca.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KCHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2010

I LOVED this hotel!!! It was the best possible location - about 3 blocks from the Zocalo, 1/2 block to the Santo Domingo Church and Ethnobotanic Garden, yet was still quiet. It had one of the best restaurants in town for breakfast and lunch, AND the whole staff of the Hotel Casa Vertiz was friendly and accomodating. I would (and am) absolutely recommending this place to everyone I know. We stayed over Christmas (high season) and it was around $85/night, and well worth it. Breakfast and lunch for 2 including tip came out to around $12. They roast their own coffee, it was excellent!! Check out the pictures of the food and the view. If you're a plant lover, be sure and check out the Ethnobotanic Garden, only 1/2 block north on Reforma.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AZViajera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2009

When my husband and I decided to marry in Oaxaca we had to find a hotel big enough and affordable to house our immediate family. We chose Casa Vertiz after touring the place and we were happy with our decision.

Everyone enjoyed the openness of the hotel and the friendliness of the staff. The rooms are nice and quaint. Beds are a little firm but I was able to sleep. The AC was good. The bathrooms are beautiful! The hotel was able to provide pack & plays for those who brought babies. Even when the hotel ran out of them, they were able to get a couple for our guests at no extra charge. The food was delicious. I highly recommend the coffee! The only small issue I had was with the bathroom smell. Every now and then you could smell sulfate from the pipes but this also happened at another 5 star hotel I stayed at in Oaxaca for my wedding night so I don’t blame the hotel, I blame the sewage system. The hotel staff was quick to provide me with messages left at the desk for me or get us taxis. The hotel is centrally located around the corner from Santo Domingo and walking distance from El Zocalo. I recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GB_Pesce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.2 mi away
La Catrina de Alcala
La Catrina de Alcala
#31 of 109 in Oaxaca
48 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa de los Frailes
Casa de los Frailes
#33 of 109 in Oaxaca
122 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa de Sierra Azul
Casa de Sierra Azul
#25 of 109 in Oaxaca
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Boutique De La Parra
0.4 mi away
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
0.3 mi away
Casa Catrina
Casa Catrina
#40 of 109 in Oaxaca
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Vertiz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Vertiz

Property: Hotel Casa Vertiz
Address: Calle Reforma 404, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 109 Hotels in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Vertiz 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Casa Vertiz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing