We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Wonderful Experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oaxaca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Machaya Oaxaca Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #25 of 127 Oaxaca B&B and Inns
Mexico City, Mexico
2 reviews
“A Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband and I travelled to Oaxaca and stayed at Casa Machaya. Alvin is an amazing and very hospitable host. He shared his experience and knowledge with us on a variety of topics with respect to Oaxacan culture. His recommendations for food and places were always great. The room was very comfortable and the house is beautiful and has a beautiful view of the city. It was a tremendously enjoyable experience from start to end!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdriDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    12
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
32
64
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
México, D.F.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Casa Machaya and had an unforgettable visit to Oaxaca. The accommodations are beautiful and comfortable, Tito the dog befriended us and above all, Alvin so generously shared his boundless knowledge of Oaxacan culture and history with us at every step. What we learned about the indigenous communities, mezcal producers and regional foods truly enriched our stay. We can't wait for our next trip to beautiful Oaxaca and Casa Machaya.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

My partner and I climbed into the taxi at the airport, handed the Casa Machaya address and directions to the driver, and gazed around as we made the trip across the city and up into the hills on the outskirts of the city. This was our first trip to Oaxaca and it was much larger than we'd anticipated! We felt we'd been thrust into something much more complex than we'd bargained for.
Any anxiety we felt was quickly shed when we arrived at the front entrance to Casa Machaya, and were warmly welcomed by Alvin and Arlene Starkman, our hosts for the next 5 nights. After a leisurely visit over some delicious baked goods, Alvin showed us to our suite of rooms, explained everything we needed to know, and left us to settle in with an offer to drive us downtown whenever we were ready to go and explore.
That was the start of an amazing few days of exploration, and Alvin proved to be an outstanding guide for first timers. His knowledge of the area, its history, the many villages surrounding the city, and the people who live there, is extensive, and we drew on that knowledge over and over.
One of the best decisions we made was to book Alvin for a day of touring some of the towns, and visiting some of the craftsmen who produce beautiful and well-made goods. We explored a local weekly market, and made a side trip around the corner to have some drinking chocolate made up to order. With 2 kilos of hot, gooey, chocolate paste emitting a terrific fragrance from the back seat, my stomach announced it was ready to eat, and Alvin took us to an AMAZING restaurant that we could never have found on our own. Well fed and contented, we took off again for stops to San Bartolo Coyotepec to see how the famous black pottery is made, off again to watch a master knife maker turn an old rasp into a finely pointed weapon, to pick up some local weaving, and to see how mescal is still being made in a very traditional way. Our last stop was to the village of San Martin Tilcajete to see the process of turning wood into alebrijes at artist Jacobo Aneles' family studio - these are exquisitely beautiful carved and painted animals of all kinds.
On another evening, we returned home tired and hungry from our sightseeing - Alvin knows of THE best place for street food tlayudas, so he hopped into the car and took us over so we could pick up our dinner. Now that is providing a personal touch that we rarely find anywhere!
Alvin's knowledge and suggestions regarding what to see and do, and his connections and the excellent relationships he has with so many local people, really paved the way for us and enabled us to feel we had experienced a great deal of Oaxaca in our short time there. We left feeling that we had made new friends.
The guest suite is private, spacious and comfortable, and we loved having our own kitchen area in addition to the bedroom. Because the B7B is away from the centre of town, Alvin provides a ride into the centre every morning. Taxis back in the dark were an adventure as a couple of drivers got repeatedly lost and we weren't able to help them with directions. Keep Alvin's written directions and map with you at all times, and enjoy the adventures that may come it's all part of the fun.
We highly recommend Casa Machaya to anyone thinking of making a trip to Oaxaca city, especially for travellers who prefer to stay outside the city centre overnight.

Room Tip: Oaxaca December evenings are CHILLY so you will need warm clothes once the sun goes down, and in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JESEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wenatchee, Washington
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Its always a guess when choosing a place to stay. No different here but our choice was rewarded with a very comfortable apartment with the greatests of hosts. We chose two days of touring with Alvin which gave us highlights that we would never have seen had we found local tours. You won't find anyone more knowledgeable than Alvin about the history and culture of Oaxaca and his tours shouldn't be missed. Both Arlene and Alvin are the nicest people you can meet and we felt like we were visiting long-time friends. Their home is just outside the central part of Oaxaca and can be a bit of a challenge for some taxi drivers to find, but they provide a map for you to show the driver and their home on the hill provides a beautiful view and a relaxing haven.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffG39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

It's difficult to say adequately how much our time in Oaxaca meant to us. Leaving there has been like leaving a loved one. We could not have been happier with the lodging, food, and activities, including the rides with Arlene and the tours with Alvin. Arlene and Alvin's hospitality was outstanding -- we felt right at home and loved virtually every moment of our time there.

We were quite anxious and hopeful for this trip which was our first back to Latin America in many years and the first big trip for our boys (ages 12 & 14) out of the US & Canada in their lifetimes. As it turns out, it really could not have gone any better and this result is in large measure due to the efforts of Alvin and Arlene. Hopefully it won't be too long before we are able to return to Oaxaca and Casa Machaya again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenAndLynnBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

We totally enjoyed our six day stay at Casa Machaya. Alvin and Arlene were very generous hosts. Alvin has done a great deal of research in to the cultural landscape of the Oaxaca area and has written many articles for publication. Downtown Oaxaca is a stone's throw away. There was an abundance of space both indoors and out for us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avery s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morton Grove, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

Tucked in the northern Oaxaca city hills of Loma Linda, we enjoyed several days in the gracious and beautiful Starkman bed and breakfast, Casa Machaya. The accomodations were very clean, spacious, private and welcoming. Why in fact, I celebrated a milestone birthday while there and found a cake and dozens of balloons welcoming me (sweet surprise on the part of the hosts!). Having family in Oaxaca, we know the city and environs and were able to get around easily but would highly recommend the Starkman's as a city treasure trove of interesting things to do in and around Oaxaca. We especially appreciated the quiet, private space to have alone or to bring the family over for a little dinner. The Starkman's hospitality and charming home put that special touch on an already beautiful vacation. We look forward to returning soon! C&H from Morton Grove, IL

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank colleen1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
2.2 mi away
Marialicia Suites
Marialicia Suites
#2 of 113 in Oaxaca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Casa del Sotano
Hotel Casa del Sotano
#19 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Oaxaca
Hotel Villa Oaxaca
#14 of 113 in Oaxaca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Quinta Real Oaxaca
#9 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
1.9 mi away
Parador San Fernando
Parador San Fernando
#11 of 127 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Machaya Oaxaca Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Machaya Oaxaca Bed & Breakfast

Property: Casa Machaya Oaxaca Bed & Breakfast
Address: Calle Sierra Nevada 164 | Colonia Loma Linda, Oaxaca 68024, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Machaya Oaxaca Bed & Breakfast is now permanently closed, although Tripadvisor apparently refuses to delete the listing despite my several attempts to remove the listing from its website. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Machaya Oaxaca Bed And Breakfast
Casa Machaya Oaxaca Hotel Oaxaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing