We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, knowledgable, great hosts and lovely spot!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oaxaca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Machaya Oaxaca Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #25 of 126 Oaxaca B&B and Inns
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Charming, knowledgable, great hosts and lovely spot!”
Reviewed May 1, 2012

My husband, daughter and I utilized the upstairs guest bedroom at the Starkman's Casa Machaya, located fifteen minutes outside the main section of Oaxaca City -- living as though family members. Our hosts were kind, hilarious, vibrant and filled with great suggestions for experiences and day trips. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrs G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    12
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
32
64
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

My first visit to Oaxaca and Casa Machaya was just a few months ago. I was with my girlfriend and we loved all our experiences - the city, Casa Machaya, our hosts Arlene and Alvin, etc. It was such a great introduction that when I returned home and spoke to my friends about it, three of us decided on a guys' trip. This time I relied less on the advice of Alvin and Arlene since I already had first hand knowledge of the city and villages and some of the other sights, thanks to Arlene and Alvin during the first visit.. I had been raving about mezcal to my friends, and about the little factories that Alvin took us to, different flavours and formulations, and so on, and that was the impetus for us to arrange this trip. But of course we did more this trip than mezcal.

Alvin and Arlene were great at showing us bus routes since we wanted to do more exploration on our own than my first visit. First time around my girlfriend and I relied on his expertise more than this time, but just like the first visit, both Alvin and Arlene were there as our personal guidebooks.

Once again we were warmly welcomed into their home. They now have added yogurt and granola to their breakfasts (everything is provided by the Starkmans in your own kitchen). The deep well they'd been anxious to inaugurate was finished and operational so now they have city water in addition to well water. Of course there was always hot water for showing, unlimited drinking water, and anything else you could want to make sure you feel homey and comfortable.

Last time the two of us stayed in the main guest level, but this time I stayed in the extra upstairs unit consisting of bedroom and washroom and a separate additional patio, while my friends used the guest level.

You could not ask for more gracious hosts. From their welcome, to the accommodations, to the facilities (kitchen appliances, TV with cable and DVD, furnishings), to the free daily rides downtown, and to the advice about touring villages, sights, museums, etc. Your privacy is respected, while at the same time you know that Alvin and Arlene are always available and anxious to help you plan out your visit.

I may not be back in Oaxaca for a couple of years, but I'll be back, and I'll be back at Casa Machaya.

Room Tip: If you travel with any additional adults aside from your partner, even adult children, it's best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Recent reviews on the TripAdvisor site, together with some browsing among Alvin Starkman's many articles about the area convinced us to "splurge" a little on our visit to Oaxaca and ask Alvin to guide us for two days of our week-long stay in Oaxaca at his B&B, [an inexpensive cab ride up into a nearby hillside colonia above the bustle of Oaxaca's Centro.] We're comfortable enough with our limited Spanish to go exploring small towns via 2nd class bus on our own, without the use of guides, but with Alvin's depth of local knowledge and net of relationships among the families who are the creators of the handicrafts for which the area is famous, we were introduced to FAR MORE than we could have encountered on our own. Our lodgings were perfect. The main guest rooms are located above a hillside garden, part of a multilevel home designed in a way that allows privacy but proximity to the rest of the house. The Starkman's do not prepare breakfasts, but rather offer in the Guest Rooms a complete kitchen with breakfast foods, [Arlene arranged fresh bakery items daily as well as fruits, coffee, teas, eggs, yogurts, cereals, and filtered water] which allows guests to start their day at their own pace, dawn-early, or mid-morning late, depending on their tastes. With a large full-service grocery store a $4 dollar cab ride away, one has the option of "dining in" at night, indoors or on a private patio, giving one the sense of Living/Retired in a private hillside home. Guests are able to take advantage of Alvin's expertise at any level and at any pace. Along with the two guided days [structured as WE wanted them, rather than "set in concrete" tour agendas] Alvin offered us great suggestions for our own explorations, and included transport into town for our tours to Monte Alban and a number of city museums and local sights, Alvin also arranged for us a cab for a trip to a marvelous small-town indigenous Market with a stop beforehand at the major Ruins site at Mitla. ---Gracious hosts, great encounters with wonderful locals, all at a pace we were comfortable with...A magical week !!!

Room Tip: Canadian guests can save a substantial amount of exchange rate fees by prepaying room rates AND guid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vancouverite55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2012

Casa Machaya is an ideal spot for visitors wanting spend some time getting to know Oaxaca and its many cultures. Arlene and Alvin Starkman are extremely knowledgeable about a wide range of local subjects (and foods!), and they went out of their way to make sure we had the experiences we were after. Even though Alvin was away while we were there, he made arrangements for a guide to take us where we wanted to go, and Arlene was incredibly attentive to our needs. At my partners instigation, they arranged a special surprise birthday Oaxacan breakfast, complete with a trio serenade on our patio, that knocked my socks off.
The apartment is clean and well-equipped with everything we needed. The gardens below are full of fruit trees, which made for wonderful bird watching from the patio.
While our hosts didn't make breakfast, the kitchen was well stocked with fresh fruit, cereal, yogurt, bread, milk, eggs, etc. Arlene drove us to the market so we could buy what else we needed.
Casa Machaya is about 15 minutes outside of town in a residential neighborhood, but Arlene was very helpful in giving us rides in each day, and we actually appreciated being out of the downtown hubub.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ricewings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopl, Ca
1 review
Reviewed January 23, 2012

We feel so lucky to have stayed with Alvin & Arlene at the sweet, comfortable and very pretty Casa Machaya. Alvin's expert knowledge of the area and deep community ties made our experience rich, interesting and lively. We took one of Alvin's tours and had one of the funnest, and most wonderful traveling days ever. We felt safe & well cared for, and yet the day was one excellent adventure after another. Visiting ruins, hiking, waterfalls, artisan villages, dinner with a lovely local family, mezcal tastings -- all in a day with Alvin. Back home we were well cared for, driven daily to where ever we wanted downtown, provided with daily tasty food for breakfast and generally given top of the line service every step of the way. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedPepperFireFly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallbrook, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Casa Machaya is clean and comfortable and nestled in a neighborhood outside of the city central. A quick taxi ride gets you to town within 15 mins. The Starkmans are gracious and take helpful to a new level. We have young kids and were looking for a more authentic experience during our trip. Alvin's knowledge of the surrounding villages is excellent and gives a deeper meaning to ones stay. Staying at Casa Machaya was a nice blend of the authentic and tourist experience. The only draw back if going with kids is that the bunk bed area has a curtain separating it from the main room thus no privacy for the adults. I highly recommend Casa Machaya and would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We loved staying in this Oaxacan neighborhood with a view of the local culture out our kitchen window and an answer to any of our questions about the city, best restaurants and tour options just a few steps up to Alvin and Arlene's kitchen door. We had both privacy and personable attention when we needed it.
With the open patio and kitchen, we could "interact" with the neighborhood sounds and color or shut our doors to watch movies in the evenings.
Alvin and Arlene made our stay memorable and personal and were great to our teenage daughters.. We had an unforgettable day touring rugs, pottery, mezcal and the Oaxacan country side with Alvin (don't miss Hierve del Agua). He is a knowledgeable and flexible guide.
Christmas eve we found ourselves tasting local mezcals and learning about the artisan mezcal business with Alvin and Arlene as a prelude to our evening out..
These are lovely people and this is a beautiful warm home. What great memories!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank foodgirl1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Oaxaca
Hotel Villa Oaxaca
#14 of 109 in Oaxaca
73 reviews
1.8 mi away
Los Pilares Hotel
Los Pilares Hotel
#13 of 109 in Oaxaca
137 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Quinta Real Oaxaca
#7 of 109 in Oaxaca
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique De La Parra
1.9 mi away
Hotel CasAntica
Hotel CasAntica
#18 of 109 in Oaxaca
344 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Machaya Oaxaca Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Machaya Oaxaca Bed & Breakfast

Property: Casa Machaya Oaxaca Bed & Breakfast
Address: Calle Sierra Nevada 164 | Colonia Loma Linda, Oaxaca 68024, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Machaya Oaxaca Bed & Breakfast is now permanently closed, although Tripadvisor apparently refuses to delete the listing despite my several attempts to remove the listing from its website. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Machaya Oaxaca Hotel Oaxaca
Casa Machaya Oaxaca Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing