We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful apartment, great hospitality”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oaxaca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Machaya Oaxaca Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #36 of 132 Oaxaca B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 25, 2011

Having read the reviews here, I had high expectations when arriving. They were easily- exceeded. Huge, nicely furnished bedroom, open-air kitchen and patio with a great view. One of the nicest places I've stayed.
Alvin and Arlene are kind, gracious and eager to help without being intrusive. They gave great tips and advice on getting around. My partner and I spent a morning with Alvin going to a market and touring some villages. They go out of their way to make sure guests have a great experience.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marcos05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
There are newer reviews for Casa Machaya Oaxaca Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 139 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2011

I recently had an opportunity to revisit Oaxaca, and I stayed once again at Casa Machaya. I was delighted to find that the accommodation was as delightful as on my previous visit. The hosts, Alvin and Arlene are as gracious and knowledgeable as one could possibly hope. Their intimate knowledge of the area can only enhance the enjoyment of your visit. The bed and breakfast is clean and well maintained, and I would not hesitate to recommend Casa Machaya to anybody visiting Oaxaca.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deblig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2011

Oaxaca is a great city and having spent a couple of months there last winter, we were anxiously anticipating our return. Where to stay was a forgone conclusion, it would be with Alvin and Arlene Starkman and Tito ( their affectionate boxer ) at Casa Machaya. Last year we arrived in Oaxaca intending to spend the winter but with only one week booked at Casa Machaya. The booking of that week was the best move we could have made! Alvin, who seems to know everybody, acted as interpreter, tour guide, chauffeur, etc. until we were able to procure an apartment in the right place for the right price.
This year we had a mere three weeks so Casa Machaya was the obvious choice for the entire stay. The guest quarters in this large beautiful home, exemplary of modern southern Mexican architecture, are basically a self contained apartment; complete kitchen, bath, large bed-sitting room with TV and internet and a very large private terrace overlooking the north Oaxaca neighborhood of San Felipe. You are fairly high up the mountain side so the air is fresher than downtown and it 's relatively quiet. I say 'relatively' because Oaxacans are famous for their robust lifestyle, music is everywhere and mornings are filled with the sounds of Mexican life. The ride to downtown is very short or, if you're into a walk, about twenty minutes on foot. The modern American- style mall is a ten minute ride the other way.
Oaxaca is a beautiful city with an endless number of fascinating adventures both within the city and in the surrounding towns and countryside and Alvin is as good a guide to it all as you are likely to find.
Needless to say we had a great three weeks and are already looking forward to next time.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Canadiences
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2011

It was a pleasure to be in such a lovely home with its myriad of Mexican art and crafts, and our hosts so knowledgeable and interested in Mexican life. The accommodation was comfortable, attractive and private. The Starkmans were available to help us with transportation, directions, and suggestions, if we asked. Alvin's more formal tours were pricey but a good value as we wanted to see Mexican life in a more personal way . He created a bridge of communication with the local artesians, where our inferior Spanish skills made discussion nearly impossible. It was one of our best travel experiences.

Room Tip: n/a
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mosquito081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2011

Alvin and Arlene Starkman helped make our 11th wedding anniversary a "Oaxaca dream."
We found their B&B a pleasant retreat from our daily explorations and adventures in the area. Alvin was always willing to drive us into town at a moments notice. Arlene was always willing to provide us with fresh fruit and bakery for the following morning. We were surprised and delighted by the bottle of wine they graciously left on our kitchen table as an anniversary gift.
During the one-day tour we arranged with Alvin, we were brought into the homes of Oaxaca families , sharing experiences the average tourist would never have access to, and even their friendly Boxer Tito, made us feel welcome every evening we returned "home" by taxi .This is a great place to stay. Gracias, hasta luego!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gunter33100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2011

Bed & Breakfast & Alvin

We stayed at Casa Machaya in January of 2011 for 5 nights and took 2 day long tours with Alvin. When we arrived on a late flight (no choice) from Cabo, he graciously waited up till around midnight to greet us with a great glass of Shiraz and the wagging tail of Tito

See: www.Oaxacadream.com

Also, see the link to Alvin’s articles at the bottom of the above Home page.

We rested the next day and loved the fact that we could have breakfast in our pajamas WHEN WE wanted to and could do it while looking over the Oaxacan countryside. On the second day and third days, we asked Alvin to focus on some specific activities which turned out to be REAL “GEMS”.

1. One was a visit with an Oaxacan family who raised maguey agave for their production and sale of Pulque (see Alvin’s article on Pulque). What was sooo wonderful about the experience is that ALL of us piled into a pickup truck (even us late 60’s Gringos), drove out to the Agave field (at sunset no less), walked thru the fields and actually drank “aguamiel” or “honeywater” right out of the Agave plant. Well, it was scooped out and THEN we drank it. UNBELIEVABLE!!! I believe the aguamiel is the sap of the agave plant which is distilled into pulque. Alvin’s article will tell you about Pulque (a kind of raw natural beer type drink) and Aguamiel. The whole family went to the field with us, the wife in what I would consider typical Oaxacan dress and apron, the husband, brother/brother-in-law, several children and daughter-in-law to be.

2. Another MUST DO experience was our visit to the countryside outside of the world’s capital of Mezcal… Matatlan. There are reportedly over 100 Mezcal Distilleries there and Alvin treated us to the experience of actually sucking the juices out of baked Agave hearts and seeing the Mezcaleros actually tending the mules pulling the round stone over the baked agave hearts just like they have been doing for 100’s of years. There were just too many priceless little gems of experiences to name or list at each stop…like siphoning mescal into an empty plastic 2 liter coke bottle just like you might do when you steal gas from someone else’s car. I could go on and on… more than I already have.

3. Then there was a visit to a Zapotecan family owned weaving business. Wherever you go, there is huge pride in passing their original and traditional art form on from generation to generation. In this case, one of their greatest prides was NOT using modern chemical colors but using old traditional materials to CREATE their colors out of naturally occurring materials. It is amazing to watch them transform and nuance one color into another color using some long forgotten technique only remembered by a few. The Mezcaleros had the same pride in maintaining their old traditional distillery methods…forget my Coke bottle story for a second. You can get the picture though. Alvin enabled us to have dinner with the Zapotecan weaving family later that night. Many of these experiences were not doable without Alvin.

4. The last example of a “STARKMAN TOUR” experience is going to an Alebrijes workshop where again only the old traditional methods were used … without chemical colors. The detailed wood carving and painting cannot be put into words. But I would suggest you look up Alebrijes on the internet and refer to Alvin’s articles as a starter.

There’s more, but I probably already lost 90% of you, so I will stop here.
Rest assured, the Starkman’s will take good care of you and they know what they are doing

Joel and Barb
Hamilton, Ohio

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scrennicdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2011

The Starkmans provided excellent hospitality and guidance as we put together a six day visit that included an outstanding cooking class, tours to artisan villages, restaurant suggestions and the comfort of living in a Mexican neighborhood. Accommodations were comfortable and spacious, with a lovely mountain view.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank khermes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
1.8 mi away
Los Pilares Hotel
Los Pilares Hotel
#12 of 108 in Oaxaca
142 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Quinta Real Oaxaca
#8 of 108 in Oaxaca
549 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel CasAntica
Hotel CasAntica
#18 of 108 in Oaxaca
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
1.7 mi away
Hotel Casa del Sotano
Hotel Casa del Sotano
#19 of 108 in Oaxaca
302 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Casa Carlota
La Casa Carlota
#10 of 132 in Oaxaca
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Machaya Oaxaca Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Machaya Oaxaca Bed & Breakfast

Address: Calle Sierra Nevada 164 | Colonia Loma Linda, Oaxaca 68024, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Oaxaca
Price Range: $50 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Machaya Oaxaca Bed & Breakfast is now permanently closed, although Tripadvisor apparently refuses to delete the listing despite my several attempts to remove the listing from its website. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Machaya Oaxaca Hotel Oaxaca
Casa Machaya Oaxaca Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing