We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (177)
Filter reviews
177 results
Traveler rating
117
44
6
6
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
117
44
6
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop pool pedestrian street santo domingo american plan a superior king room juliet balcony windowless room rain shower ac works concierge service retractable roof perfect location included breakfast hot cakes old colonial building absolutely stay here again no window
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 177 reviews
Reviewed May 14, 2019 via mobile

The hotel is very well situated close to the main sites in Oaxaca. The rooms are spacious as is the bathroom and hall.
The breakfast is adequate no more than that.
The staff are pleasant but under no circumstances ask them to send a taxi to pick you up from the airport. They will charge you FOUR times the cost we paid to go back. This experience left a bad taste.
Otherwise the hotel was good value for money and we enjoyed our stay there.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Leslie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Director General at Parador De Alcala, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2019

Dear Leslie B.,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. All your comments are essential to improve the service. I'm glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and I regret that you left with a bad taste by the cost of the arrival private transfer from airport to hotel. I want to explain you that it's more expensive by the obligatory payment of a federal fee at the airport, in terms of vehicle access for tourist transportation and passenger collection. On the contrary, leaving passengers is exempt. I hope this information will be of your interest and tranquility.
Please, don't hesitate to contact me for anything else I can help you. All the best,

David Pozo / General Manager
dpozo@paradordealcalaoaxaca.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2019

Smiles, everyone here smiles. Front desk, Eric, so accommodating, Travel, Gabriel, managed to achieve reservations we could not, all the restaurant staff, the housekeepers, they enjoy serving. This is a first class operation. Our rooms, we had to change due to our late planning, were each immaculate and very well equipped. Linens were wonderful. Bathrobes a great touch. The location is ideal and the windows ,double paned for silence. The pool is beautiful, peaceful, with an amazing view. Our last morning, our wake up call was to the minute, we were leaving too early for included breakfast, so...they gave us a lovely lunch, not requested, to take away. These folks love what they are doing, and do it very well.

Room tip: Request a room with window on street. Some, not sure how many, rooms, have " internal" windows. Our 2 rooms were very quiet.
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Director General at Parador De Alcala, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2019

Dear Mr. Hudson,

Thank you very much for your kind comments about the hotel and to recognize the effort of Eric and Gabriel. It makes us proud to meet the needs of our customers in the best way we can. Please, don't hesitate to contact us for anything you need. All the best,

David Pozo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2019

Have been to Parador de Alcala many times for lunch and dinner, this trip we decided to stay. Best decision we made, booked a couple of the basic classic rooms which were roomy with comfy bed and bedding. Large bathroom with a big shower. Spotlessly clean. Breakfast is great, service is excellent from the dinning staff-housecleaning-front end. Very professional, The location is ground zero for Oaxaca city, Everything you need and want is just outside the front door.looking forward to our next stay.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OgreYVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Director General at Parador De Alcala, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2019

Dear OgreYVR,

Thank you very much for your trust and share your feedback. I am very happy to know that you enjoyed our hospitality. There is nothing that makes us happier than customers like you repeat. Please, feel free to contact me for anything you need. All the best,

David Pozo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2019 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Parador for one night on our honeymoon. The staff knew it was a special occasion and had local welcome cocktails for us, chocolate dipped strawberries and a hand written note on arrival.

Our room was enormous with all the expected amenities, hair dryer, full size iron and board etc.

We used the concierge service to assist us in changing a dinner reservation. The staff member had enormous difficulty getting ahold of the restaurant, however said she would keep calling until she got through - which she eventually did.
She also made some great recommendations for meskal tastings and local restaurants.

The breakfast was also amazing. It offered both American and local options for main course and was ready in the blink of an eye.

The only downfall was that our ground floor room was a little noisy and did not have windows. However we moved to Quinta Real Hotel on the second night and were given another ground floor room with windows to the busy street which we could never open, so maybe this was for the best.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank ElizaM88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Director General at Parador De Alcala, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2019

Dear ElizaM88,

Thank you very much for sharing your recent experience. I'm glad to know that we lived up to your expectations. We would have liked them to stay longer with us. I hope to welcome you again. All the best,

David Pozo / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2019 via mobile

My husband and I had breakfast at the Parador de Alcala. The hotel/restaurant is beautiful, the service was excellent and the food delicious. We each had an omelet and it came with a side of refried beans. Fresh juice and a basket of bread. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank trvlbufChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Director General at Parador De Alcala, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2019

Dear trvlbufChicago, Thank you for giving us a perfect rating and for recommending our restaurant to other travelers. We hope to see you again. All the best,

David Pozo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews