We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Personable, cozy and accomodating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Diablo y la Sandia Libres
Ranked #4 of 128 Oaxaca B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
seattle, wa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Personable, cozy and accomodating”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Thanks! We very much enjoyed our stay at El Diablo y La Sandia. Great location, easy parking and very accommodating when we needed last minute space as a family of four. We appreciated your going out of your way to make sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. Breakfasts were lovely and we were grateful for the coffee/wine honor bar. A perfect central location for our 4 day stay in town.
rcw
san miguel de allende, mx

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moniandbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    38
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
34
133
25
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
Reviewed June 7, 2014

We stayed for 6 nights at the end of May, and we couldn't have asked for a more enchanting B&B. The breakfasts were gourmet, the service was impeccable and the location was perfect for getting around the city. There is a very comfortable community living room for watching tv, getting coffee or a tequila that was very convenient. We stayed in the Luna room, which was romantic and cozy. We especially appreciated the map the B&B provided with recommendations for restaurants, museums and shops. We will definitely go back!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

El Diablo y La Sandia is just what you hope for in a B and B. We stayed 5 nights in March and found it to be in a good central location, large clean rooms (we had Luna, up stairs), great bed, and a different well prepared breakfast every morning. Some days we were out early and the staff had an early breakfast ready for us before we left. We used the laundry service offered by the B and B.... and it was quick and a fair price.

At the end of our trip we had planned on shipping some items we had purchased and discovered that UPS would be closed on a Monday due to a holiday and we were leaving on for home early Tuesday ...so we packed everything up and Maria was kind enough to drop it off at UPS for us when the office reopened .....She made it seem like things sometimes happen and was so very nice to help us out in this way.

Hope we are lucky enough to book a room again at El Diablo when we return to Oaxaca.

Room Tip: We made reservations months in advance and got lucky and stayed in Luna for 5 nights. This is the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KRISANDBILL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We stayed at el Diablo y La Sandia in April of this year and had a wonderful 2 nights here. It was an oasis of calm and set in such a beautiful building with a lovely courtyard in the centre. The staff were friendly and really helpful and we had a really good nights sleep here. It was really nice to sit around chatting to other guests at breakfast time and learn about their experiences of their time in Mexico. The breakfasts were delicious. Yummy buckwheat pancakes and fruit, homemade jams and toast and delicious fresh juices. The rooms are clean, quiet and really cool in design - so is the whole place - they have lovely little touches here and there. I would definitely stay here again. Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosie_Red_Shoes75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Oaxaca is such a beautiful city! and staying at El Diablo y la Sandia made more pleasable my stay in the city.
Inside the B&B you can see some of the Oaxacan colorful decoration, the rooms are really cozy, the bed really comfortable,in the living room you can find anything not to get bored.
Every morning for breakfast there was a different option! and always with company from Maria or other visitors.
I did not know that the B&B allows pets, so next time I am bringing my dog with me!

Room Tip: Any room! seriously
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yulliel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ensenada, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2014

It was luck that i got a room at this lovely B & B. My friend was already staying there and when a room opened up i quickly booked it and cancelled my hotel stay. Unfortunately the B&B was not open for my last night and i had to go stay at the hotel. BIG DIFFERENCE.

the hotel was sterile, rooms were nice but adequate.

El Diable y la Sandia was delightful. colorful, quaint, wonderful owner and staff. Breakfasts were different, flavorful and plenty of food to start the day.

i loved it there!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irka D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

Why wife, 21 month-old son and I stayed at the B&B for 5 nights at the end of March. We loved the breakfasts (very tasty, with a different dish every morning); we slept very well at night (thanks, in large part, to some open windows and a ceiling fan-- even though temps during the day were in the 90's, our room was much more comfortable at night than our stay in a more northern city's hotel room with air conditioning); Maria was very nice-- and gave my wife a recommendation for a spa treatment that she absolutely loved; we found the common spaces (especially the upstairs patio with hammocks) to be very comfortable and inviting.
We found it a little removed from the city's center (about a 10 minute walk to zocalo) and the traffic noise was a little loud sometimes (the B&B is on a bit of a busy street). These are things out of Maria's control.
As a side note, our son had a few meltdowns during a few of our afternoons at the B&B. Not fun for us, and I'm sure not fun for anyone who was in the building. Maria never mentioned it, and was always very kind and welcoming. We greatly appreciate this fact, and hope that we will be welcome at her B&B in the future.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mass_Dave35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.3 mi away
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Quinta Real Oaxaca
#8 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
0.3 mi away
Los Pilares Hotel
Los Pilares Hotel
#12 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Marialicia Suites
Marialicia Suites
#3 of 113 in Oaxaca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Oaxaca
Casa Oaxaca
#5 of 113 in Oaxaca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casa del Sotano
Hotel Casa del Sotano
#19 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Diablo y la Sandia Libres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Diablo y la Sandia Libres

Property: El Diablo y la Sandia Libres
Address: Calle Libres 205 | Col. Centro, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 128 B&Bs / Inns in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quaint hotel that has a different, fun feel to it. Our guests enter and lounge just as they would at home, made easy by our personalized attention and warm environment. We enjoy spoiling you with a morning breakfast, hearty and healthy, as well as providing an orientation upon your arrival to this wonderful town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your El Diablo y la Sandia Libres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Diablo y La Sandia Hotel Oaxaca
El Diablo y La Sandia Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing