We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
Ranked #9 of 109 Hotels in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 23, 2006

We two seniors arrived in Oaxaca after a week in Mexico City. This was our first time in Oaxaca, although we have travelled extensively in Mexico. What a beautiful city! The Zocalo is a joy.

The Parador San Miguel is extremely well located - we walked to all the sites of interest. The hotel is on a busy street and there is no parking, but you do not need a car. Although the traffic is noisy, you do not hear it inside.

The hotel is immaculate - not a spot of dust or dirt anywhere. There is always someone cleaning, painting, fixing, working. The front desk staff speak excellent English and are uniformly friendly and efficient. The rooms are superb. We booked a standard room which was entirely acceptable except for the fact that it contained only a shower and no tub. We upgraded to a "suite" (not really a suite as it is only one room, but that room is enormous - around 20 x 40 feet) with a huge bathroom complete with 2-person jacuzzi. The decor is stunning and the bed very comfortable. The view is of the inside courtyard which is lovely.

The food is not outstanding but entirely acceptable. Breakfasts are fine, sandwiches are very good. Food at the Zocalo is only 2 blocks away and you have dozens of choices.

An example of the service: one evening there was a private party in the restaurant and we had to take dinner (we only wanted a sandwich) on a very comfortable sofa in the courtyard. A maintenance man, speaking perfect English, came down off the ladder on which he was cleaning the wrought-iron railings, came over to us, and apologized on behalf of himself and the hotel for the inconvenience. Really!!

The hotel is not expensive for what you get. Do not use their Internet service or their bottled water, which ARE expensive relative to what is available elsewhere. Also, arrange your own airport transportation when you arrive and before you leave - 58 pesos per person for a colectivo rather than US$20 for a private taxi.

Would we stay here again? Absolutely!!

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank FrequentTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (373)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 373 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2005

My fiance and I were in Oaxaca over Thanksgiving weekend (Nov 24-27) to plan for our wedding there next year and I can't say enough good things about the Parador San Miguel. It is a beautiful little hotel in a perfect location (about a block and a half from the center) with all the amenities you'd want...from a/c to hot water and cable tv. The people are very friendly and were accomodating with everything we asked for. They even arranged for a driver to take us around the city so we could make our plans. It is very clean and the food is good too. It is also very reasonable at only USD $78 for low season rates. I highly recommend this hotel for any stay in Oaxaca. Email me if you have any questions. I also have more pictures of the hotel and the city.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Alameda, CA
527
Reviewed November 12, 2005

Nice hotel in a great location. Very clean! Very friendly staff and restaurant is good. My only complaint is the price...I went during a high season-Dia de los Muertos and paid $120.00 a night. While there are cheaper hotels in Oaxaca I was not upset that I paid that money because I felt I got my money's worth...but still a bit much for mexico. For sightseeing...ask the front desk to set you up with their list of trusted taxi drivers that take you where you want as opposed to the inflexible tour operators.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Tucson, AZ
131
Reviewed July 31, 2005

My husband and I stayed at the Parador San Miguel from April 18th to April 24, 2005. We loved the hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. They gave us the name to several private tour guides who were very friendly and reasonably priced. The hotel itself is in great condition and very well maintained; it is very close to the zocalo (about a 2 minute walk). Our room was very cozy and well decorated with traditional oxacan decor. The AC worked perfectly and it was nice to have because April is a very hot month in Oaxaca. The only thing that some people may find unnerving is the size of lowest cost rooms. They are very small but very nice. Our bathroom was very small too but very clean and pretty with good water pressure. Our room had a TV with cable (some English but mostly Spanish channels- you aren't going to Oaxaca to watch tv).

The food was great and well priced. While their menu has a wide variety of good food, you are always given the option to go with the daily specials. There were usually two specials per day (US$6) and whatever you chose would come to you as a four course meal. We ate there every day for breakfast and dinner and we enjoyed everything we had. Guests also have a full view of the kitchen from the courtyard. Even their kitchen is spotless, perfectly decorated, and full of fresh vegetables and beautiful dishes.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
31  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
Thank MyGitrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
Thank kana0516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradorsanmigueloa, Propietario at Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.3 mi away
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Quinta Real Oaxaca
#7 of 109 in Oaxaca
566 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel CasAntica
Hotel CasAntica
#24 of 109 in Oaxaca
357 reviews
0.7 mi away
Los Pilares Hotel
Los Pilares Hotel
#14 of 109 in Oaxaca
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique De La Parra
0.7 mi away
Marialicia Suites
Marialicia Suites
#3 of 109 in Oaxaca
163 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca

Address: Avenida de La Independencia 503, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Oaxaca
#10 Romantic Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range: $83 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a privileged location, 20 minutes from the airport. In the historical downtown area, only a half block from the Central Alameda. The beautiful colonial-style building has three floors with 23 rooms, including four suites.Located on one of the main avenues in the city, the facade had a grand entry door of carved cedar, opening to a lovely porch with a statue of St. Michael the Archangel.A wrought iron gate opens to the hotel vestibule, where walls of ochre, terra-cotta, beige and cream combine with dark green ironwork and green granite columns to provide a dramatic backdrop for the brilliant bougainvillea and geraniums that thrive in the home's central patio. From here you can catch a hint of the spellbinding flavors of our Oaxacan kitchen. In "La Cocina" you can choose a magical dish to your specifications.Small gardens lead to the first level rooms. A majestic green granite stairway crowned with glorious stained glass leads to the second and third levels. On the second level terrace, you could relax or sunbathe accompanied by canaries in a kaleidoscope of multicolored flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
Parador San Miguel Hotel Oaxaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing