We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No hot water ...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
Ranked #9 of 108 Hotels in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Had a one night stay there in Oaxaca on my way back from Puerto Escondido. The hotel property is nice and the location is good. However, compared to the cheaper and just as pretty B&B's which I stayed in, both in Oaxaca & Puerto Escondido, the management seemingly did not give a hoot about the quality of your stay. This became evident during my checking in when the room was not ready as was promied, and further cutting out the hot water (I don't know if to my room, the whole 3rd floor or the entire hotel) in the morning of my departure. That did not help the sore throat I was nursing, which then turned into a something far more onerous thanks to Aeromexico turning an 8 hour flight back to the US into a 24-hour nightmare in Mexico City airport... There are so many nice B&B's and hotels in Oaxaca, I am sure you can do much much better. My 2 cents ...

Room Tip: Avoid room 306 which has no light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hojat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parador San Mig... O, Gerente at Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2012

We are really sorry to hear that your stay with us was not of your total satisfaction, our most sincere apologies because you had to wait for a room due to our hotel was complete the night before your arrival and our guests leave rooms about 12 pm, we had have to let you know about this circunstance when you did the booking. the Check in time is at 3pm, sometimes we can give to our clients rooms before that time but depending on our availability.

About the fact you did not have hot water early in the morning, there is not excuse! that should not happen, me and my staff feel very ashamed and promise you to work harder to avoid future problems with our next guests.

Sincerely, we appreciate you comments to give a better service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (360)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 360 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2012

My wife and I just returned from six nights at the Parador San Miguel, and couldn't have been more pleased. The staff was diligent, friendly, and hard-working. The place was very clean. The best aspects of it are its wonderful restaurant--we didn't find a better one while we were in Ciudad Oaxaca--and its terrific location only steps from the zocalo, or town square. I will caution that this is not a place to lounge around and watch the surf. Our room did not have an exterior window that opened to anything but the hallway, and we could always hear noise from the street. On the other hand, because of the interior courtyard, we were able to lounge under open sky, and we felt sufficiently sheltered from the street not to be stressed by it. Besides, Oaxaca is a place to get out and DO things, not sit around in a hotel room. Having a clean, safe refuge only steps from the action was priceless.

Room Tip: Ask for a top-floor room, away from the street if you are a light sleeper. I AM a light sleeper, tho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SneedCollard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

We felt the value was excellent; AC, king bed, location right in the middle of the centro (noisy but we wear earplugs and slept like babies); big shower; very helpful staff when we had questions; and the attached restaurant provided great variety and excellent Oaxacan specialties. We would also recommend the guide services of Juan Montes-Lara. We spent 4 days from 8 - 6 with him and really felt we'd learned about the history, culture and people of this area -- very fluent/nuanced English (as well as French and German!) and someone you felt you became friends with by the end of our short 5 days in Oaxaca. His email contact is: Juan MontesLara [juanmonteslara@gmail.com]. While we were there, we were also able to "participate" in a calenda for the Virgin of Solitude and Juan also brought us along as "family" to his neighborhood posadas -- moving and welcoming.

Room Tip: If you don't wear earplugs, ask for a room at the back/ off the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpokaneJan09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2011

Arrived after 5 hour trip and Reception not overly welcoming; told that breakfast was not included in the relatively expensive price. Room was very quiet, clean and sufficiently expansive albeit no coffee/tea and TV impossible to function. Interesting courtyard with birds in cages. Large somewhat hard bed but dark room brightened by plentiful lighting. Location to Cathedral and Zacola was good. Strongly recommend the covered markets, great fun especially the milk shakes.

Room Tip: We had a suite which was lucky in that it put us at the back of the building. The front rooms are ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JandJFarnhamCommon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2011

We stayed here for Muertos for 4 nights at end of Oct.-early Nov. For Mexico and for Oaxaca, this place is a bit pricey, but worth it. We asked for and got a room on the 3rd level in the back of the hotel, furthest from the st. It was quiet. We did have to ask for a fan, as there was no ceiling fan, and they brought us a fan right away.

The room was smaller in real life than in the pics online, but size was adequate w/king bed and a small equipale sofa and chair. Nice flat screen TV mounted up in the corner. Nice that they give you free bottles of water each day in the rm. The restaurant is good for breakfast and even better for comida - actually one of the better places we ate for comida. Front desk staff are nice but they leave you alone unless you need something. Excellent location, one block off of and behind the cathedral and zocalo.

There are a lot of other places to stay in Oaxaca but for our 25th anniversary I was not going to chance staying somewhere else. This place is nice. And they do cover the bird cages up at night to keep the birds quiet. It is a non-smoking hotel but my husband did smoke a cigar or two up on the big open balcony that overlooks the street in front of the hotel.

One other hint. We used Linda Hanna, who owns a local B&B and it very involved in the folk art scene in Oaxaca, as a tour guide. She took us on a great tour of the towns and artisans in the valley, and took us out to a cemetary for Muertos. Very good experience with her, and we are not ones who usually use tour guides.

Room Tip: When you email with them, if you are concerned about st. noise, ask them for a quiet room in the bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eileend10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parador San Mig... O, Gerente at Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2011

We would like to thank you for your confidence and for let us be part of your anniversary celebration, Congratulations!!!!! I'm sure you'll have unfforgetable memories of Oaxaca as well as our Hotel.
All the best, Judith Ilescas - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

This charming hotel is for travelers who care more about experiencing a sense of Mexico than having every single convenience (mini-bar, cable tv, etc) associated with an international chain hotel. That said, the hotel IS comfortable and generally well-equipped. It is well-located, just a couple blocks from the zocalo and within an easy walk to restaurants, shops, tour bus departure points, etc. Being so close to the zocalo, the rooms on the street side might be loud but there are lovely interior suites that are very quiet. The brightly painted rooms are fairly spacious and comfortable with Mexican tiles and locally made bedspreads and carpets. Bathrooms have tubs and showers but suffer from lack of storage for personal effects. Wifi can be a problem in the rooms, but there is a lovely courtyard filled with plants and bird cages where service is always accessible. The hotel felt very clean; each day brought a new surprise as we returned to our rooms to find fresh towels on our beds fashioned into animal figures like swans, elephants, etc! The staff is friendly and helpful, especially the housekeeping and restaurant staffs. Best of all is the piping hot oatmeal bread served every morning with breakfast. We hope to visit Oaxaca again next year and will definitely return to the Parador.

Room Tip: Interior suites are quiet and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NortNort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

the hotel is nice and cozy, two blocks walking from oaxaca main square

the rooms have good size, are clean and very reasonably equipped for its price(ipaid around 800 pesos for a double room). the bathroom is satisfactory, water pressure sufficient.... the bed was a bit hard and could improve. feather pillows were good

all the rooms are opened to corridors at the patio, but the acustic defenses are awfull, meaning that every noise is heard, either the birds in cages at the patio as from 6 am or the discoes in the viccinity, making difficultto sleep. fo those who can sleep with noises this will not be a big problem but itwas a problem for me. also too much light came inside the room as the courtains were not dark enough

no minibar at the rooms. an in room safe deposit was available. cable tv had a too basic selection

staff was friendly

the hotel has a good free wifi

breakfastat at the hotel was a good one a la carte, of good quality

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank atontao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel CasAntica
Hotel CasAntica
#18 of 108 in Oaxaca
352 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Quinta Real Oaxaca
#8 of 108 in Oaxaca
555 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique De La Parra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca
0.1 mi away
Casona Oaxaca
Casona Oaxaca
#11 of 108 in Oaxaca
191 reviews
0.7 mi away
Los Pilares Hotel
Los Pilares Hotel
#13 of 108 in Oaxaca
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca

Address: Avenida de La Independencia 503, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Oaxaca
#7 Family Hotel in Oaxaca
#10 Romantic Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range: $84 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a privileged location, 20 minutes from the airport. In the historical downtown area, only a half block from the Central Alameda. The beautiful colonial-style building has three floors with 23 rooms, including four suites.Located on one of the main avenues in the city, the facade had a grand entry door of carved cedar, opening to a lovely porch with a statue of St. Michael the Archangel.A wrought iron gate opens to the hotel vestibule, where walls of ochre, terra-cotta, beige and cream combine with dark green ironwork and green granite columns to provide a dramatic backdrop for the brilliant bougainvillea and geraniums that thrive in the home's central patio. From here you can catch a hint of the spellbinding flavors of our Oaxacan kitchen. In "La Cocina" you can choose a magical dish to your specifications.Small gardens lead to the first level rooms. A majestic green granite stairway crowned with glorious stained glass leads to the second and third levels. On the second level terrace, you could relax or sunbathe accompanied by canaries in a kaleidoscope of multicolored flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
Parador San Miguel Hotel Oaxaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing