We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem hotel in Oaxaca”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Casa del Sotano
Ranked #20 of 109 Hotels in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem hotel in Oaxaca”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

After searching for hours for a hotel while visiting Oaxaca, I decided on this one and I'm extremely happy that I did. The hotel is a hidden gem in the heart of the city and is walking distance to local attractions. Our room had a king bed and was very comfortable unlike many of the reviews I read. The room was traditional in style and just perfect for a romantic getaway. Yes the bathroom is small but serves the purpose. We had no complaints. The hotel staff was very friendly and helped provide things to do while we were visiting. When we return, this will be our hotel of choice!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveling_Bruces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    105
    21
    5
    8
See reviews for
39
139
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bora Bora, French Polynesia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We loved the view over the city during our delicious breakfast and enjoyed our stay during our two days at Casa Sotano. The bathroom is tiny and the rooms are rather small, but everything was clean and the staff very helpful in arranging our airport-transfer as well our trip to Monte Alban. We will be back one day for sure!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Knutschito1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We didn't have a reservation, but luckily they were able to accommodate us. My wife was feeling a bit sick so the quiet and comfortable room was perfect. The roof deck has a fantastic view overlooking the city and is a great place to enjoy and beer and snack.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bgagosian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Behind a modest facade opens an elegant hotel with small but comfortable rooms, traditional-style furniture and a spot of antique art, beautiful garden and a magnificent terrace with a view of Qaxaca’srooftops and church towers..
The rooms and bathroom are small but neat and clean. Breakfast is not included , but can be served on the terrace.
The hotel's location is very convenient. Coming out of the hotel to the right , you turn right again and in 5 minutes you’ll find yourself in front of the church of Santo Domingo . On the road from Santa Domingo in the direction of the Zocalo is full of restaurants, cafe (we recommend La Brujula), artshops (the wooden fantasy animals).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sms307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

This is a very nice hotel right in the city about 3 blocks away from Santa Domingo church. So it's really easy to wander around the city from the hotel. The rooftop terrace has a great view of the city. The breakfast in the hotel is cheap and really delicious. We had breakfast there every day! The staff are all very helpful and friendly. We were even allowed to check in into our room at 9am in the morning! Highly recommended.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank az72az
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

in the end, i was sorry to leave. after two nights it started feeling like a home. great location. nice rooms. beautiful garden. very nice staff. do not miss a chance to have a breakfast at the terrace. definitely recommended.

Room Tip: my room was in the corner on the ground floor. no wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bona77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We only stayed 1 night due to our tight schedule, but we are glad we discovered this lovely hotel. We got a good deal because it was low season. Our room was very comfortable and clean. The hotel was nicely decorated with beautiful gardens. Breakfast was not included but the hotel has a nice restaurant that is reasonably priced. Five minutes walk to the beautiful zocalo and many other attractions. 20 minutes in a taxi will get you to the Monte Alban ruins.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LIS266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel CasAntica
Hotel CasAntica
#17 of 109 in Oaxaca
343 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
0.4 mi away
Casona Oaxaca
Casona Oaxaca
#10 of 109 in Oaxaca
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Los Pilares Hotel
Los Pilares Hotel
#12 of 109 in Oaxaca
134 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Quinta Real Oaxaca
#8 of 109 in Oaxaca
521 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Trebol
Hotel Trebol
#21 of 109 in Oaxaca
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa del Sotano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa del Sotano

Property: Hotel Casa del Sotano
Address: Tinoco y Palacios 414 | Centro Histórico, Oaxaca C.P. 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Oaxaca
#17 Family Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casa del Sotano 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Hotel Casa del Sotano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Sotano Oaxaca
Casa Del Sotano Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing