We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Casa del Sotano
Ranked #20 of 109 Hotels in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great little hotel, great location”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We found this hotel on Trip Advisor. We were staying in the city already so we walked over to check it out and make a reservation.

The location is very convenient to the city center, the Zocolo. It is also very convenient to other areas of the city. We were shown a room which ultimately became our room when we migrated over a week later. Room 1, which has two double beds. It is not a large room but completely adequate. The bathroom consists of three chambers, a shower, sink area and toilet. A little difficult to navigate because of the door but by stepping into the shower you can close and open the door. Not as hard as it sounds. The shower is quite good. The hot and cold water controls follow convention which is not always the case in Mexico. There is an assist rail in the shower if needed.

The hotel is in the colonial style with multiple gardens and fountains. It is very attractive. There is a small patio restaurant with view of the city where you can have a good breakfast and other meals. There is also a small bar which is open from 6-10pm. Some food also served there as well.

One street over is Porifio Diaz which is laundry central. Very convenient.

There are 24 rooms in the hotel. Room 1 is closest to the street but not next to the street, but you might want one further from the traffic noise. We didn't find it a problem. None of the rooms has a street exposure.

We met several guests who report multiple visits and really like the place. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: The hotel has (I think) 27 rooms. None has a street exposure so they are all quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaguaroJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    107
    23
    5
    8
See reviews for
40
143
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I have traveled through Oaxaca several times. Such a wonderful city. I have stayed in some nicer hotels and some that I would never go back to again. This place is in a great location, a nice clean room, and a very reasonable cost. Now keep in mind, it is not a hyatt. But that has never been my reason for going to Oaxaca.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, WA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our seven days at the Casa del Sotano. Our lower-level room (a suite, really) was quiet although just a little dark. Breakfast at the on-site restaurant was wonderful and the views from there and the third-floor rooftop deck were spectacular. This is a well-situated hotel with great service all around. I recommend it and would stay there myself again.

Room Tip: I think the lower level rooms are quieter--the hotel is on a busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celeste1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Beautiful little boutique hotel that I would highly recommend. Great location for sightseeing, great breakfasts, great views and lovely friendly staff. Lovely roof area to sunbathe or relax with a drink

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CAST_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
1 review
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Very clear rooms, staff gracious, location - 10 min afoot max from Zocalo (center) - what else?! Rooms not big, but compact and comfortable enough! Near local food market)) in the hotel food pricey, but no problem eat nearby.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Hello, it was a good discovery. My husband and I totally recommend it. This hotel has a great location because it is walking distance of Santo Domingo and other atractions in downtown. The coffee shop at the hotel is a nice option to have a drink just before you go to sleep. Try the 'te de la casa' (tea of the house) and a carrot muffin.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mcarmen_munoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hortonville, Wisconsin, USA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Casa del Sotano is a pleasant small hotel with lovely gardens and facilities. We did have a lower level (courtyard view) room to gain space and a king bed. The room included a sitting room with sofa and table / chairs and a separate sleeping room. Planning ahead and requesting an upper room with larger bed is helpful. The views from the restaurant (very good breakfast prepared to order) and especially the mirador (roof deck) are great and center on the Santo Domingo church and monastery complex. Although the street on which the hotel is located is a major bus and car route into the city center, the rooms are situated in the rear of the complex (no room windows on the street), which reduces noise. The staff is friendly and helpful, and the location is a perfect take-off point for city site seeing and walking to tour and public transport departures.

Room Tip: Ask for the largest upper floor rooms! Check about air conditioning if desired, not all rooms have i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel CasAntica
Hotel CasAntica
#17 of 109 in Oaxaca
347 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
0.7 mi away
Los Pilares Hotel
Los Pilares Hotel
#12 of 109 in Oaxaca
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Trebol
Hotel Trebol
#21 of 109 in Oaxaca
211 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca
0.4 mi away
Casona Oaxaca
Casona Oaxaca
#10 of 109 in Oaxaca
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa del Sotano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa del Sotano

Property: Hotel Casa del Sotano
Address: Tinoco y Palacios 414 | Centro Histórico, Oaxaca C.P. 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Oaxaca
#17 Family Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casa del Sotano 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Casa del Sotano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Sotano Oaxaca
Casa Del Sotano Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing