We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, helpful staff, & charming rooms.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa del Sotano

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Casa del Sotano to your Saves list
Hotel Casa del Sotano
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Tinoco y Palacios 414 | Centro Histórico, Oaxaca C.P. 68000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 110 Hotels in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great view, helpful staff, & charming rooms.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Loved the location, and the view from the restaurant a wonderful way to start of your day in Oaxaca. The staff was helpful, accommodating, and attentive. I recommend staying in the larger rooms on the upper floors that face the courtyard, the rooms lower down can be dark with no view.

It is about a five minute walk down hill to the center town, so you will have to walk back up... But you get a beautiful view for your effort (see picture).

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank trvlerbstn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Canyon Lake, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This was our 4th trip to Oaxaca City and we rented the suite at Hotel Casa del Sotano which gave us plenty of room and having the sofa and table was a plus. The patio had a great view and the food each morning was excellent as was the coffee. The staff was helpful and the location was good for walking down to the zocolo and enjoying the festivities of Day of the Dead. I would recommend this hotel to my friends.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank John61953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I can see why people like this hotel, it was attractive and welcolming, but as a few others have noted, our room was very small. After arriving from Mexico City and Puerto Escondido, where we had spacious quarters, we felt trapped in our tiny room. Perhaps it would have been okay for a single person, but not for a couple. The room was all bed without even a comfortable chair to sit in.By comparison, in Mexico City we had a two bedroom suite in the Zona Rosa for not much more than our room here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rnh17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

The Hotel Casa del Sotano exceeded my expectations--and at a very reasonable price. As others have written, the hotel is charming, quiet, and very clean with a lovely garden patio. The location is about a 5 minute walk from Santo Domingo (the walk back has one fairly steep hill if you have any mobility issues). I had breakfast every morning on the rooftop patio and thought it was excellent (including the cafe latte) and the staff was very sweet. If you need wireless, it's available in the reception area, and sometimes from the room if yours is close to the front. I was alone so the room was big enough for my needs. My only "complaint" is that the weather was chilly than usual and since I'm always cold I found the room to be colder than I would like a couple of nights. I highly recommend the Case del Sotano.

Room Tip: The hotel says there is no wireless in the rooms, just the reception area, but if your room is close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Hotel Casa del Sotano was quaint, cozy, classic and clean. Beautiful rooftop views of the city and cathedrals. Walking distance to dining, shopping and sites. Taxi arrangements were made on site for day drips. Made to order breakfast was available daily on one of the rooftop patios.

Room Tip: Rooms were small - service and atmosphere were wonderful. Would highly recommend room on a higher f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WldTrvlDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I spent three nights at this hotel and was extremely pleased with everything. The staff was helpful, the food was authenic Oaxacan cuisine and the property itself was magnificent with the various flowers and vegetation inside the courtyard. The rooms were comfortable and absolutely no noise from outside while you sleep. This location is #1 on my list.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wynton M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I loved everything about this hotel. I was traveling Solo. I stayed in two different rooms. I was only booked for 2 nights for my week but I checked out of my other hotel and back into Sotano for the remaining of my week. The location is near Santo Domingo. It was a one minute walk from my language school. There are lots of coffee shops, restaurants and shopping near by. The Zocalo is a 5-10 walk away. The on-sight rooftop restaurant serves very good breakfasts with a great view-especially at night. While I was there, a fellow and his son would come and sing. They were really good - it was special! There is a little bar downstairs open until 11. It was convenient to have it so close! The rooms are comfortable, clean, relatively quiet. One of my rooms had a little balcony which was nice to have.The interior courtyard and gardens are beautiful and provide a welcome respite from the busy city. All the folks who worked there were very friendly and helpful. Someone is on the desk 24 hours. It was perfect for me.

Room Tip: Having a room with a balcony was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gatopaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.6 mi away
Los Pilares Hotel
Los Pilares Hotel
#17 of 110 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 stars 74 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
0.3 mi away
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Quinta Real Oaxaca
#21 of 110 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 stars 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Posada del Centro
Hotel Posada del Centro
#34 of 110 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 stars 152 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca
0.2 mi away
Hotel CasAntica
Hotel CasAntica
#38 of 110 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 stars 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa del Sotano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa del Sotano

Address: Tinoco y Palacios 414 | Centro Histórico, Oaxaca C.P. 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Oaxaca
#17 Family Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casa del Sotano 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Casa del Sotano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Sotano Oaxaca
Casa Del Sotano Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing