We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel exceeded my expectations” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Casa del Sotano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Casa del Sotano
Ranked #23 of 112 Hotels in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
NY, NY
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel exceeded my expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

The Hotel Casa del Sotano exceeded my expectations--and at a very reasonable price. As others have written, the hotel is charming, quiet, and very clean with a lovely garden patio. The location is about a 5 minute walk from Santo Domingo (the walk back has one fairly steep hill if you have any mobility issues). I had breakfast every morning on the rooftop patio and thought it was excellent (including the cafe latte) and the staff was very sweet. If you need wireless, it's available in the reception area, and sometimes from the room if yours is close to the front. I was alone so the room was big enough for my needs. My only "complaint" is that the weather was chilly than usual and since I'm always cold I found the room to be colder than I would like a couple of nights. I highly recommend the Case del Sotano.

Room Tip: The hotel says there is no wireless in the rooms, just the reception area, but if your room is close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    101
    21
    5
    8
See reviews for
38
134
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Hotel Casa del Sotano was quaint, cozy, classic and clean. Beautiful rooftop views of the city and cathedrals. Walking distance to dining, shopping and sites. Taxi arrangements were made on site for day drips. Made to order breakfast was available daily on one of the rooftop patios.

Room Tip: Rooms were small - service and atmosphere were wonderful. Would highly recommend room on a higher f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WldTrvlDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

I spent three nights at this hotel and was extremely pleased with everything. The staff was helpful, the food was authenic Oaxacan cuisine and the property itself was magnificent with the various flowers and vegetation inside the courtyard. The rooms were comfortable and absolutely no noise from outside while you sleep. This location is #1 on my list.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

I loved everything about this hotel. I was traveling Solo. I stayed in two different rooms. I was only booked for 2 nights for my week but I checked out of my other hotel and back into Sotano for the remaining of my week. The location is near Santo Domingo. It was a one minute walk from my language school. There are lots of coffee shops, restaurants and shopping near by. The Zocalo is a 5-10 walk away. The on-sight rooftop restaurant serves very good breakfasts with a great view-especially at night. While I was there, a fellow and his son would come and sing. They were really good - it was special! There is a little bar downstairs open until 11. It was convenient to have it so close! The rooms are comfortable, clean, relatively quiet. One of my rooms had a little balcony which was nice to have.The interior courtyard and gardens are beautiful and provide a welcome respite from the busy city. All the folks who worked there were very friendly and helpful. Someone is on the desk 24 hours. It was perfect for me.

Room Tip: Having a room with a balcony was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gatopaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

This is my second time at the hotel. The new twist this time was the small cafe bistro at the front of the hotel. On our last night in Oaxaca, we ate at around 9pm with a few appetizers before closing out the day. The tamales were very tasty. The Guacamole was very good and fresh! They have fresh more healthful take on Nachos, sans the ugly cheddar that usually covers the traditional Nachos. The closer was a great aged mezcal called Yalreiin. I rarely drink hard liquor, but I found myself enjoying this very smooth flavorful mezcal. So much so, I bought a bottle to take home. The quality of the breakfast was very good. Very good taste and presentation on the chilaquiles with the green sauce. What it shows overall, is that the hotel staff is improving in all areas.

Room Tip: Wifi can be dicey in the rooms tucked way in the back. If you really need wifi, then ask for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank delgadogarces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Beautiful hotel, with a very good location (5minutes away from the center).
Rooms are beautiful, very quiet because they face a patio and not the street.
Staff was very friendly, lending games to wait for the rain to stop, and offering good advice on restaurants & activities to do & any practical details.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariiiiiiiiiiiiiiiie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

I have stayed at Casa del Sótano on two occasions, each time for multiple nights. It is clean & quiet, & the staff is friendly & helpful. This is an unpretentious yet rustic & nice little hotel. It is a pleasant three- or four-block walk from the pedestrian center street, Alcala, yet it seems a little off the beaten path, which is very nice. The "mirador" (the large upper deck of the hotel) has an incomparable view of the city & surrounding mountains. We had a delicious breakfast of chilaquiles and enchiladas with fresh green & red salsas one morning at the quaint outdoor breakfast cafe. There are nice views of the surrounding mountains from the outdoor breakfast space, as well. On our last evening we shared a very affordable meal of three different appetizers in the cafe bistro in the front of the hotel. The ingredients were very fresh (as most all of Oaxacan food is). Our dishes were pretty, affordable & most importantly delicious. The guacamole with chapulines (crispy, seasoned crickets sprinkled on chunks of fresh avocado mixed with lime, tomato, onion & jalapeño or serrano) was especially delicious. The service was friendly, efficient & knowledgable, making for a very enjoyable & informative experience at a great price. The room's bathroom & shower are simple and somewhat small. The beds are comfortable & the rooms are rustic. The wifi is free & works. This hotel is not for those who like high-end places; rather it is for folks who enjoy more rustic & simple yet unique & affordable places.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank acmaestra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.4 mi away
Casona Oaxaca
Casona Oaxaca
#12 of 112 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.6 mi away
Los Pilares Hotel
Los Pilares Hotel
#11 of 112 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aitana
Hotel Aitana
#35 of 112 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Trebol
Hotel Trebol
#19 of 112 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel CasAntica
Hotel CasAntica
#13 of 112 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa del Sotano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa del Sotano

Property: Hotel Casa del Sotano
Address: Tinoco y Palacios 414 | Centro Histórico, Oaxaca C.P. 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Oaxaca
#15 Romantic Hotel in Oaxaca
#17 Family Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casa del Sotano 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Casa del Sotano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Sotano Oaxaca
Casa Del Sotano Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing