We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home in Oaxaca? This is it!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Casa del Sotano
Ranked #19 of 113 Hotels in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Home away from home in Oaxaca? This is it!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

The accommodating, friendly staff along with a very clean hotel made this extended stay wonderful. We stayed at 2 other hotels before we found Casa Del Sotano and once here, we were not going to stay any where else. Good location, beautiful views from the breakfast room and terrace, closed to non registered guests but who can blame them when tourists are running in to take the best photo of Santa Domingo!
A great find in Oaxaca with exceptional value!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Astut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    104
    21
    5
    8
See reviews for
39
138
22
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
oregon
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in January. Nice place, very comfortable. The rooms on the bottom floor (in the basement) toward the back are very quiet - we heard little road noise and slept well at night. The staff were very helpful. The cafe has good food and even hot water for tea. Beautiful gardens for relaxing.

Room Tip: rooms on the bottom floor in the back were smaller but much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank diane_rains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
112 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

Reservations that were somewhat complex w/ multiple family members coming and going (including during busy christmas week) were all handled well and professionally on the internet by the hotel. The rooms are simple and altho there is a slight msuty smell in one part of a corridor, the rooms and the rest of the hotel were fine. We stayed in 3 different rooms with no problems. The little cafe is nice for coffee and eggs in the morning. The staff were all very helpful as well. There is off site parking if necessary a few blocks away. Oaxaca is a great town to walk in and the location of the hotel is w/in an 8-10 minute walk to the main plaza, the markets and the Cathedrals. Nice rooftop and view too.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BarbTacoma_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

I loved this hotel. It's a very authentic Oaxacan hotel with a great vibe, amazing staff, and a fantastic courtyard and terrace with a view that can't be beat. I was traveling with friends but had my own room and felt very taken care of and supported during the stay. The location was great and the creativity with the towels and toilet paper--having them in shapes--was such a lovely touch and typical of the warmth and natural artistry of Oaxaca and Oaxacans. The breakfasts were great especially the hot cakes though food in many spots on Oaxaca is extraordinary. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony overlooking the courtyard and try to be upstairs rather than down. (But I saw the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaikonLettuce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marin County, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

We stayed for seven nights, and our grown daughter joined us for four of those nights in her own room. The people running the hotel were friendly and welcoming, and the place is well maintained and spotlessly clean. (They even wash the sidewalk outside the front door every morning.) Prices are very reasonable. The hotel is conveniently located in the historic district. It's on a busy street, but the rooms are toward the back of the hotel and so street noise is not much of a problem. There is a beautiful courtyard, a charming outdoor breakfast area (with umbrellas for shade if needed), and a rooftop patio with stunning city views. The hotel has free Wifi.

The rooms are reasonably priced, but some of them are dark. Ask for a room with a balcony on the second or third floor. Our room, #19, had French doors to the (small) balcony, a king-size bed, and a nice view over the courtyard. The room just above us, #24, is probably even brighter.

Breakfast is wholesome and tasty. It is not included in the room price but the cost is reasonable. And the fact that breakfast is extra leaves you free to explore the nearby coffee shops and restaurants in case you want more variety in breakfast offerings.

There are a couple of drawbacks to this hotel: Some of the rooms are dark; the staff speaks minimal to no English; and they attempted to add on an extra charge for a dirty towel that I easily cleaned with a little handsoap. Nickel-and-diming us $50 MXN when we spent $13,000 MXN on ten nights of room stays was surprisingly ungracious. On the other hand, they did back out the charge when we disputed it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second or third floor with a balcony. Rooms on the first floor and those witho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gskenney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
390 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2011

We just stayed here for 12 days. A long time to stay any place and what worked was that we had their one king suite, which meant we actually had a king bed and large bedroom, with another separate sitting room which included a couch, small refrigerator, TV and DVD player, small writing table and two chairs. This gave us some room to spread out ourselves, as well as some more room for all of our stuff. I understand that the other rooms are on the smaller side, which probably works for shorter stays.
The bathroom was quite large in this room, with a good sized bathtub/shower, and plenty of hot water and water pressure. Did I mention that the room is also air conditioned and works well? Negative side is that this room is on the ground floor and doesn’t have lots of natural light; which meant, good news, that it stayed dark in the morning and didn’t get too hot during the day when locked up. During some days we took advantage of all the outside space available to work (doing some writing) and reading; for example, on the terrace where breakfast is served and even up on the upper floor terrace which is quite large and has an even more dramatic view of Santa Domingo and the hillsides. There is a bathroom up there and it is quite quiet.
A lovely touch is that the clean towels each day are folded on the bed in various swan configurations. Quite charming.
Breakfast is cooked to order on the outside terrace each morning over a 3-hour time frame, which provides great flexibility. The food is good, fresh and there are a number of alternatives, and reasonably priced (not part of the lodging charge). However, we did go outside the facility about every other day just for variety on breakfast, and there are lots of deals for a good cooked breakfast (e.g., juice, fruit, eggs, coffee) at about $4-5 U.S. We particularly enjoyed Café Café which is just around the corner for breakfast or even an evening coffee.
The location is fine; about three blocks to Santa Domingo. It is downhill, so be prepared for some uphill on the last block to the hotel on any return. There is some noise from the street in the early morning, which might bother some light sleepers, but even the light noise from the air conditioner canceled out the sound and we were at the front of the facility (most rooms are further away from the street). There are lots of great restaurants within a few blocks of Casa, including some we enjoyed like: La Biznaga, La Olla, Las Danzantes, Maria Bonita, Casa Crepo, Pan & Co., and Casa Oxaca.
Finally, while the staff has limited English language skills, we didn’t find this a problem and we were impressed with their attentiveness and quality of their service. They were always friendly and did a good job at whatever they were doing or asked to do.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BarryandJackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

We had two short stays at this hotel, before and after a trekking trip. The staff couldn't have been more helpful during our stays and even looked after our luggage whilst we were on our trek. The view from the street is not that good, but once through the gates you are in a lovely courtyard full of plants and flowers. All the rooms face into this, and some can be a bit dark. On our first visit we had a suite, which was on the ground floor and very dark. On the second visit we had a king room on the first floor, which although much smaller, we really preferred as it was much lighter. Both rooms and nicely decorated and furnished with antiques. The hotel is ideally located - only a few minutes walk from the centre but in a relatively quiet area. Breakfast on the terrace was freshly cooked and offered lots of choice.

Room Tip: The ground floor is very dark - choose a room on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sue888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.4 mi away
Casona Oaxaca
Casona Oaxaca
#12 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
0.3 mi away
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Quinta Real Oaxaca
#9 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Los Pilares Hotel
Los Pilares Hotel
#11 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca
0.2 mi away
Hotel CasAntica
Hotel CasAntica
#17 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa del Sotano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa del Sotano

Property: Hotel Casa del Sotano
Address: Tinoco y Palacios 414 | Centro Histórico, Oaxaca C.P. 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Oaxaca
#15 Romantic Hotel in Oaxaca
#17 Family Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casa del Sotano 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Casa del Sotano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Sotano Oaxaca
Casa Del Sotano Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing