We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B I stayed in whilst traveling through Mexico”
Review of Oaxaca Ollin

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oaxaca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oaxaca Ollin
Ranked #2 of 130 Oaxaca B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed there for 3 nights. This place is perfect in every aspect and deserves more than 5 stars! I loved it and here is why...

Breakfast:
It's a beautiful building complex with large breakfast area, where every day a different breakfast is served. The food is extraordinary: for instance papaya with sesame crumble, followed by cactus slices with mole, cheese and tortilla. Some guests who weren't up to that ordered scrambled eggs instead - and that was not a problem.

Location:
The place is huge and neatly decorated, one immediately feels welcome and at home.

I can't understand how people say this area is noisy. It's so quiet, you can sleep without ear plugs and the small side street is also very quiet as there's hardly a car passing by. You could hear the staff laughing every now and then, because they were enjoying themselves and you could tell they liked working there - which gave the entire place a place of warmth and familiarity.

The rooms are spacious and clean. On the first level is a terrace with a comfortable hammack. We spend two evenings sitting on a table on the roof which is a pleasant and private atmosphere.

From Ollins it's only a 5 minute walk to the center, so that is a plus.

Service:
We checked in at 5 in the morning and were invited for breakfast, and when we checked out, we left our luggage their until the late afternoon when we took the nightbus to San Cristobal de las Casas - we appreciated the kindness and flexibility.

Overall the service was excellent - the staff was extremely helpful and they really tried to make your stay special. The English and Spanish speaking couple who owns this B&B are very nice and kind people. They gave us some good advice on sights (they gave us a printed out map of Oaxaca), trips, hammack purchase, etc.

Extra's:
- Computer with internet access in the lobby area for free use
- You can fill up your bottle's with water
- Using refrigerator to keep your drinks cool
- Trying different types of Mezcal for 20 pesos

When we come back, we'll stay longer at Ollin's.

Room Tip: Rooms 3 and 4 (both on the 1st level) are nice and quiet. Room 4 has a balcony facing the interior...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P_on_the_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (506)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 506 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2013

We chose Casa Ollin B&B based on the terrific reviews posted on Tripadvisor. The facility is within walking distance to the main zocolo (which is amazing) but it's a bit of a hike and unless you are really in shape, it becomes old very quicky. The rooms are comfortable with adequate bathroom space but the shower head was so high that I had to stand back against the wall to avoid having it come down on my head. I'm not always wanting to wash my hair or get it wet when I'm showering. My husband is 6' so he didn't have the same problem. Breakfast is included which is a nice benefit so you don't have to run out first thing to find coffee and something to eat. However, everyone is served at a large dining table. Since I treasure waking up slowly I find the noise and constant chatter a bit annoying. It was like eating in a grade school cafeteria. Speaking of noise, the accoustics are dreadful and the whole facility is extremely noisy. You can hear people talking in the sitting room, the lobby, the balconies, the pool area, etc. And the sound carries and is not diminished at all; as a matter of fact, it seems like it was magnified. We like B&B's for the homelike comfort and restfulness and this was not what we found at Casa Ollin. All day long, you can hear the owner talking to the guests, giving travel advice, etc. etc. etc. I decided to use the hammock on the sundeck to relax and perhaps take a short nap. NOT! The deck opens on the side to an area downstairs that houses the work tools, etc for the houseworkers. Their constant chatter, laughing, etc was ANNOYING and loud. I can honestly say that we will not stay here again. The couple we were traveling with felt the same way and a couple we met while there emailed us later and said they left a couple days early because of the noise. The facility is very nice, decorated beautifully, designed to take advantage of the space available and if something could be done about the accoustics or lack thereof, I would give it a 4-5.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boscoebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We didn't have any complaints or problems during our stay at Casa Ollin. We also didn't feel that our experience offered anything we couldn't find elsewhere for a more reasonable price. The room was clean, everything worked, the staff members were friendly and helpful, the breakfasts were tasty (and catered to our limited diet) and the location wasn't bad. There are nice perks like sunhats you can borrow, shared fridge, water bottle refills, and packing materials you can use, but we learned that other places offer the same things. If it weren't for the many extremely positive reviews and the relatively high price, we would have been quite satisfied. However, we were expecting more.

We were in Oaxaca during Semana Santa but we had to learn about what interesting events were happening on our own. The advice we got from the owners was usually good but sometimes inaccurate (ie times of events, prices, etc.) and we found the best source of information regarding Semana Santa festivities to be Sofia, the cook but for non-Spanish speakers most of the staff don't speak a lot of English so communication can be difficult when the owners aren't present. While the location was in a quiet neighborhood, it was a bit of a walk to many of the central areas and sights of Oaxaca. It is only a 15 minute walk to the Zocalo, but we like to pop in and out of our hotel during the day so for example we carried a bottle of sunscreen all day rather than walk 30 minutes there and back to re-apply. The rooms don't have AC so the rooms were hot during the time we were there.

Room Tip: Room 6 had enough space for three but a poor layout as the separate room for one has no ventilation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaRth2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The people who work at Casa Ollin are very special. We had the best customer service we've ever experienced from a hotel. The rates are very reasonable, the rooms comfortable and clean, the neighborhood quiet yet close enough to town center. Everyone in our family group was very happy with Casa Ollin!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay at Oaxaca Ollin. The proprietors and staff were extremely helpful and accommodating. The food was delicious. We got excellent advice about the logistics of getting around to many sites and restaurants. It was a fantastic 5 days and we would return again in a minute.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RussA900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

This was our first stop on this trip to Mexico. We came in Friday night and took a collectivo to the B&B. We were the fifth stop, and there were parts of the trip in that seemed like we had entered a Mad Max movie. We were concerned about checking in after 9:30pm, but we need not have worried, while we were looking for the front door, a polite young man walked out and we were quickly made to feel at home.

The room was plenty nice (room 5 - Xochitl-king-terrace). We never heard the other guests except when they were out on the shared terrace and our door was open. The only noise was Sunday morning when there are a large party or something in a courtyard next door (PA system, speeches, music). This was not a major problem and we were able to have a nap (with the terrace door closed)

The breakfasts were among the best meals we had during our stay - particularly the chicken mole tamales. At breakfast we were usually sharing the table with two other couples....other people were heading out on an earlier schedule.

The staff was great and Judith set us up with a driver for a couple days. Easy peasy. The place offers free purified water and tea. When we showed up late in the evenings it was nice to sit in the indoor/outdoor sitting area and listening to the wind while sipping tea before bed.

The pool was fairly cold, but for us it was a great way to cool off mid day. I didn't see anyone else use it (so there was no noise issue)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TJ G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Casa Ollin, in a pleasant upper-middle class residential neighborhood, has everything: ideal location, comfortable (and immaculate) rooms decorated in excellent taste, delicious breakfasts and all conveniences that one could ask for (free WiFi, bottled water, refrigerator etc). The Cornell School of Hotel Management could learn a thing or two here. The entire staff is exceptionally well trained: courteous, responsive, cordial and English-speaking. Customized place cards encourage conversation at breakfast; during our 9-day stay, we met guests from Canada, France, Germany, and throughout the US. Judith, the co-owner, is an incredible resource -- and not just for tourist planning. When I needed immediate medical attention for an eye problem on a Sunday, Judith instantly looked into and then arranged for emergency care. Even though my Spanish is quite fluent, I would have had no clue where to turn without her help. We unhesitatingly give Casa Ollin five stars in all respects.

Room Tip: You will be lucky if you can snag Room 6, which has a king size bed in a large room, plus an adjoini...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sweetpea2529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.3 mi away
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Quinta Real Oaxaca
#8 of 109 in Oaxaca
562 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Casona De Tita
Hotel La Casona De Tita
#2 of 109 in Oaxaca
203 reviews
0.8 mi away
Marialicia Suites
Marialicia Suites
#3 of 109 in Oaxaca
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Casona Oaxaca
Casona Oaxaca
#11 of 109 in Oaxaca
191 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa de Siete Balcones
Casa de Siete Balcones
#5 of 109 in Oaxaca
256 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa de Las Bugambilias B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaxaca Ollin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaxaca Ollin

Address: Calle Andres Quintana Roo 213 | Oaxaca City, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 130 B&Bs / Inns in Oaxaca
Price Range: $80 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ollin Features Mexican gourmet breakfast, Multilingual Staff, Upgraded beds and linen, Library. New -- computer with high speed connection available for guest use -- also available WiFi connection. Swimming Pool, Three outdoor patios to choose from. All rooms non-smoking. Assistance with all of your sightseeing needs. Free local calls, Free long distance calls to the United States. Laundry service available. Medical services on call. Roof Top Terrace. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing