We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Stay in Oaxaca” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oaxaca Ollin

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oaxaca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oaxaca Ollin
Ranked #1 of 126 Oaxaca B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Port Townsend, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay in Oaxaca”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

My husband and I spent four days at the Casa Ollin. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful and the breakfasts are wonderful! The rooms are very comfortable and clean and the pool area is a great place to relax after a busy day of sightseeing. The name cards at the breakfast table are an especially nice touch, as it makes it easier to share experiences with fellow travelers when you are reminded of their names.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 677sharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    39
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
69
227
43
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

We just returned from our second stay at Casa Ollin. Each time (three years ago and just recently) we stayed for a full two weeks and were so glad we did. As eveyone has pointed out, Casa Ollin is a great place. The food, the location, the cleanlinesss and all the comforts: these alone would justify a five star rating. But what really sets this place apart is the staff. There's a combination here of relaxed good humour along with consistent attention that strikes just the right balance. Guests feel well very well taken care of and also free to explore Oaxaca in any of a numer of ways (tours, Spanish lessons, yoga, walks in the park, or just hanging out). Jon and Judith set this happy and light tone which extends to all of the rest of the wonderful staff. We've traveled quite a bit and many places seem to seek this magic formula for making guests happy. Casa Ollin nails it!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank nancy800154943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

After taking an overnight bus from Huatulco to Oaxaca and arriving from 32C to 6C was a big change, however the staff was very nice and let us do an early checked in, which suit me just fine, I had the chance to sleep on a comfortable-warm bed before going to explore the city, which is beautiful.
Judith is a great person, she gave good recommendations on places to visit and things to do, they always cooked regional food for breakfast, which was great, I suggest if you are not use to food with condiments, ask for regular scrambled eggs or so, otherwise you can have tummy troubles for the food change.
The pool was lovely, however with the cold weather, we never went in.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petmoliere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile


From the moment we walked through the door to the moment we left, the team at ollin looked after us. Judith helped us book our onward flight to Puerto Escondido as soon as we arrived which was ideal, and gave us lots of good advice about what to see and do in Oaxaca. The room was spotless, and exceptionally comfortable, with a huge bed. The location was quiet but only a few minutes on foot from everywhere you are likely to want to visit. Breakfasts, wow, different everyday and consistently delicious. Everyone speaks great English and is more than happy to help practice your Spanish. Lots of helpful options for trips to do and things to see, though beware, bring plenty of money and luggage space, you'll want to take a lot home with you! Computer and WiFi available for guests to use, laundry and groceries over the road. I would encourage everyone to visit Oaxaca and stay here, we wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed at Ollin for a couple of weeks at Christmas time. We enjoyed our stay there. The breakfasts are amazing and we always looked forward to whatever breakfast special Sophie created. We also booked a couple of activities through the Ollin that were absolutely wonderful. We visited several craft studios with Ernesto and saw the artisans weave rugs and other textiles, paint crazy colorful animal figurines and create beautiful black pottery. Ernesto is very knowledgable and was able to share all kinds of fun facts with us. We also signed up for a cooking class with Carla - she took us to the market first, to shop for supplies. Carla identified all kinds of fruits, vegetables and chiles - that we'd never seen before. We even stopped to try the atole at one of the booths. Then we drove to her lovely outdoor kitchen, where despite the fact that my husband and I are beginner cooks, we cooked an amazing lunch! I would highly recommend both Ernesto and Carla!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PamChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

My husband and I came to Oaxaca on our honeymoon -- we booked three nights at he world-famous, disgustingly expensive Camino Real as a treat, then another three nights at Casa Ollin. I can't stress how much nicer, cleaner, friendlier and all round better Casa Ollin was than the five-star Camino Real. The food at Ollin is delicious, the pool excellent, the rooms lovely and Judith is charming and interesting. The location is great, really central and of course it's a fifth of the price! I'd go back to Oaxaca just to stay at Casa Ollin again. We probably will actually! Top, top notch.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
88 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed at Ollin for around 5 days in August 2012 and found the hotel to be very nice indeed. The rooms are very clean and pleasant and the pool area is great.The kitchen and dining area make you feel very much at home with Oaxacan cookbooks laid out on the table and lovely cooked breakfasts consisting of an assortment of Oaxacan fayre and hot chocolate. The staff would always go out of their way to help us (and even drove us to catch our departing flight). The hotel is on a quiet street and there is a member of staff on hand in the central house area throughout the night should you need assistance.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Azrael84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.3 mi away
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Quinta Real Oaxaca
#6 of 112 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca
0.5 mi away
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Casona De Tita
Hotel La Casona De Tita
#1 of 112 in Oaxaca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.4 mi away
Los Pilares Hotel
Los Pilares Hotel
#11 of 112 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Oaxaca
Casa Oaxaca
#5 of 112 in Oaxaca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaxaca Ollin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaxaca Ollin

Property: Oaxaca Ollin
Address: Calle Andres Quintana Roo 213 | Oaxaca City, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ollin Features Mexican gourmet breakfast, Multilingual Staff, Upgraded beds and linen, Library. New -- computer with high speed connection available for guest use -- also available WiFi connection. Swimming Pool, Three outdoor patios to choose from. All rooms non-smoking. Assistance with all of your sightseeing needs. Free local calls, Free long distance calls to the United States. Laundry service available. Medical services on call. Roof Top Terrace. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing