We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Oaxaca Ollin
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Oaxaca
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Catrina(Oaxaca)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (516)
Filter reviews
516 results
Traveler rating
470
39
5
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
470
39
5
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother guestsb bbed and breakfastevery morningquiet streetlibrary of bookshome away from homeowners and staffcooking classtamalesmonte albanhot chocolatewonderful weeka wonderful staynice poolmoleshistoric district
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
199 - 204 of 516 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed at Ollin for a couple of weeks at Christmas time. We enjoyed our stay there. The breakfasts are amazing and we always looked forward to whatever breakfast special Sophie created. We also booked a couple of activities through the Ollin that were absolutely wonderful. We visited several craft studios with Ernesto and saw the artisans weave rugs and other textiles, paint crazy colorful animal figurines and create beautiful black pottery. Ernesto is very knowledgable and was able to share all kinds of fun facts with us. We also signed up for a cooking class with Carla - she took us to the market first, to shop for supplies. Carla identified all kinds of fruits, vegetables and chiles - that we'd never seen before. We even stopped to try the atole at one of the booths. Then we drove to her lovely outdoor kitchen, where despite the fact that my husband and I are beginner cooks, we cooked an amazing lunch! I would highly recommend both Ernesto and Carla!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PamChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

My husband and I came to Oaxaca on our honeymoon -- we booked three nights at he world-famous, disgustingly expensive Camino Real as a treat, then another three nights at Casa Ollin. I can't stress how much nicer, cleaner, friendlier and all round better Casa Ollin was than the five-star Camino Real. The food at Ollin is delicious, the pool excellent, the rooms lovely and Judith is charming and interesting. The location is great, really central and of course it's a fifth of the price! I'd go back to Oaxaca just to stay at Casa Ollin again. We probably will actually! Top, top notch.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed at Ollin for around 5 days in August 2012 and found the hotel to be very nice indeed. The rooms are very clean and pleasant and the pool area is great.The kitchen and dining area make you feel very much at home with Oaxacan cookbooks laid out on the table and lovely cooked breakfasts consisting of an assortment of Oaxacan fayre and hot chocolate. The staff would always go out of their way to help us (and even drove us to catch our departing flight). The hotel is on a quiet street and there is a member of staff on hand in the central house area throughout the night should you need assistance.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Azrael84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We have stayed at many B&B's and boutique hotels, and I have to say that Casa Ollin is one of the best. It is very clean and comfortable and has a great staff. We found our king size bed very comfortable. For guests use, there are 2 sitting areas and a pool as well as a roof deck area. Casa Ollin has a good supply of books which can be used to get oriented on Oaxaca or to get in-depth information on special interests you may have. Although we did not use the pool, after comida I did spend several late afternoons lounging in the hammock, reading the Casa's books and sipping mezcal. Guests are invited to try the casa mezcal for a nominal cost.

Moreover, the staff is great. They are very personable, knowledgeable, and made us feel like we were at home. Sophie prepares an excellent breakfast and in the 10 days that we were there in November/December 2012, she never repeated a dish. Clara served breakfast and explained the meal – all original Oaxaqueno. Ernesto was a wealth of information on things going on in Oaxaca and in explaining the history of the area. He also provided good advice on tour agencies. In addition, Ernesto is a very good tour guide himself. Although you can purchase black pottery and woodcarvings throughout the city, Ernesto took us to see the better artists in the surrounding villages. Many of the pieces we saw were amazing. We attended the cooking school operated by Ernesto's wife, Karla, at their home. We prepared a 5-course meal, including squash blossom soup, chile relleno with grasshoppers, squash blossom soup, and chicken with red mole. This was one of the best comida meals we had during our stay. We hope to duplicate the meal at home.

Oh, did I mention Edmundo, one of the security staff? In addition to his security duties, he's the cook for Sunday breakfast. He says that he makes one thing – tamales. I've never been a big fan of tamales, but 'Mundo's tamales wrapped in banana leafs are delicious. I also cannot forget Lucas and Cecilia -- Lucas was the first person to greet us upon our stay and was a breath of fresh air after two plane delays and Cecilia kept our room meticulous throughout our stay.

When we return to Oaxaca, which we hope is soon, we will stay at Casa Ollin again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank scubadude222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed at the Ollin for two weeks in November, 2012, and completely agree with all the other reviewers. Comfortable, spotlessly clean, on a quiet street close enough to walk into the town center (even for two old folks like us). The breakfasts were amazing - coffee, tea or chocolate, fresh fruit and sweet breads to start, follwed by a different traditional Oaxacan specialty each day, so beautifully presented we brought our camera to breakfast! The house is large and beautifully decorated with lovely Oaxacan art. There is a comfortable sitting room beside the breakfast room that guests can use, as well as an open roof lounge for hotter days. We appreciated the large container of drinking water that was available to all the guests, as well as the use of a common fridge.

But the best recommendation for this lovely bed and breakfast home is the warm, helpful, and charming people who take such good care of you, from the owners, Jon and Judith, to the young men who stay overnight, Edmundo and Lucas, Sophie and Clara who prepare and serve the fantastic breakfasts, and Viki, Cecilia, and Vita who keep the house so spotless and attend to your every need. We should also mention Ernesto who provided excellent advice on places to go in and around Oaxaca, and who took us on three customized tours to sites outside of Oaxaca, at a very reasonable cost. Oaxaca is an incredible city, and it was so helpful to have Judith, Jon, and Ernesto, as well as the others, provide such good suggestions that we were able to experience so many wonderful places, activities, and food.

Throughout our stay at the Ollin, we felt safe, comfortable, and very well looked after. Thank you everyone at Ollin!

Room Tip: We stayed in room #6, the Calli, which we loved because it was very spacious (with an extra single bed and a separate sink outside the bathroom) and quiet, on the second floor. It cost a bit more than the others and probably larger than a couple would require, but for two weeks the spaciousness really was appreciated.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank maryh06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews