We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Place To Stay in Oaxaca” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oaxaca Ollin

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oaxaca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oaxaca Ollin
Ranked #1 of 126 Oaxaca B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Great Place To Stay in Oaxaca”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

We have stayed at many B&B's and boutique hotels, and I have to say that Casa Ollin is one of the best. It is very clean and comfortable and has a great staff. We found our king size bed very comfortable. For guests use, there are 2 sitting areas and a pool as well as a roof deck area. Casa Ollin has a good supply of books which can be used to get oriented on Oaxaca or to get in-depth information on special interests you may have. Although we did not use the pool, after comida I did spend several late afternoons lounging in the hammock, reading the Casa's books and sipping mezcal. Guests are invited to try the casa mezcal for a nominal cost.

Moreover, the staff is great. They are very personable, knowledgeable, and made us feel like we were at home. Sophie prepares an excellent breakfast and in the 10 days that we were there in November/December 2012, she never repeated a dish. Clara served breakfast and explained the meal – all original Oaxaqueno. Ernesto was a wealth of information on things going on in Oaxaca and in explaining the history of the area. He also provided good advice on tour agencies. In addition, Ernesto is a very good tour guide himself. Although you can purchase black pottery and woodcarvings throughout the city, Ernesto took us to see the better artists in the surrounding villages. Many of the pieces we saw were amazing. We attended the cooking school operated by Ernesto's wife, Karla, at their home. We prepared a 5-course meal, including squash blossom soup, chile relleno with grasshoppers, squash blossom soup, and chicken with red mole. This was one of the best comida meals we had during our stay. We hope to duplicate the meal at home.

Oh, did I mention Edmundo, one of the security staff? In addition to his security duties, he's the cook for Sunday breakfast. He says that he makes one thing – tamales. I've never been a big fan of tamales, but 'Mundo's tamales wrapped in banana leafs are delicious. I also cannot forget Lucas and Cecilia -- Lucas was the first person to greet us upon our stay and was a breath of fresh air after two plane delays and Cecilia kept our room meticulous throughout our stay.

When we return to Oaxaca, which we hope is soon, we will stay at Casa Ollin again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank scubadude222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    39
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
69
227
43
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed at the Ollin for two weeks in November, 2012, and completely agree with all the other reviewers. Comfortable, spotlessly clean, on a quiet street close enough to walk into the town center (even for two old folks like us). The breakfasts were amazing - coffee, tea or chocolate, fresh fruit and sweet breads to start, follwed by a different traditional Oaxacan specialty each day, so beautifully presented we brought our camera to breakfast! The house is large and beautifully decorated with lovely Oaxacan art. There is a comfortable sitting room beside the breakfast room that guests can use, as well as an open roof lounge for hotter days. We appreciated the large container of drinking water that was available to all the guests, as well as the use of a common fridge.

But the best recommendation for this lovely bed and breakfast home is the warm, helpful, and charming people who take such good care of you, from the owners, Jon and Judith, to the young men who stay overnight, Edmundo and Lucas, Sophie and Clara who prepare and serve the fantastic breakfasts, and Viki, Cecilia, and Vita who keep the house so spotless and attend to your every need. We should also mention Ernesto who provided excellent advice on places to go in and around Oaxaca, and who took us on three customized tours to sites outside of Oaxaca, at a very reasonable cost. Oaxaca is an incredible city, and it was so helpful to have Judith, Jon, and Ernesto, as well as the others, provide such good suggestions that we were able to experience so many wonderful places, activities, and food.

Throughout our stay at the Ollin, we felt safe, comfortable, and very well looked after. Thank you everyone at Ollin!

Room Tip: We stayed in room #6, the Calli, which we loved because it was very spacious (with an extra single b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank maryh06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness,CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

This is the place in Oaxaca to spend your time. So close to the city attractions; virtually everything is within reach via walking, or a quick taxi ride. Jon and Judith and their excellent staff are so helpful and provide a safe, clean, and comfortable retreat for the traveler. We stayed here 5 nights over the Dia de Los Muertos time period and were able to experience the amazing celebrations only blocks away from the hotel, and then return for a quiet night's sleep. We are B&B innkeepers from Inverness in Northern California and we appreciate all the owners have done to keep their place #1 in Oaxaca. Make a reservation and you'll not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Upstairs was nice for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philip J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

Jon and Judith are such wonderful hosts with the most friendly and accommodating staff. Sophia makes the best breakfasts to start us off for the day. You can join the other guests at the breakfast table for some interesting conversation or wait and eat separately in the beautiful breakfast room/lounge. It's a lovely setting and a short walk from downtown. Casa Ollin is a home away from home.

Room Tip: Rooms facing pool have best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeannine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Summary: Like staying at the home of a well to do and caring friend; will gladly return.

Pro's:
--Immaculate and well kept
--Quiet and safe street
--Excellent wifi on main floor
--Consistently helpful staff
--Firm comfortable beds
--Very good coffee, fresh fruit, pastries and either eggs cooked to order or a breakfast entree daily
--Excellent restaurant suggestions

Cons:
--There is some neighborhood noise
--Wifi was weak in the room. Our hi end laptop was ok, but both phones and tablet could not reliably connect.
--Mexican rolls and pastries for the most part look fantastic but rarely deliver.

For a modest amount of money, to have this incredible hospitality experience, is something to always value. Will gladly return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MRMW_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed at Casa Ollin for 6 nights. The staff were fantastic. It's peaceful, with a cute wee pool. They will do anything for you. And Sofia makes a delicious breakfast. It's only a short walk into the centre of Oaxaca. We had such a great time - we loved Oaxaca, and loved Casa Ollin. We'd definitely go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Went with my mother (who's never really been out of the US) in August for 5 days to visit my sister who'd be staying in Oaxaca for the month for school. We were thrilled with our room (we chose the large one with the king, twin and futon). The room and B&B were clean and comfortable. Please don't expect a 5 star resort hotel, authentically decorated, relaxing, comforable B&B. The pool was beautiful but we did not get to use it as we were out and about during the day.

Judith (the owner) was very welcoming and accomodating, and was there to assist with anything we needed. She called cars for us, suggested resturants, and was generally interested in what we were doing and if we were enjoying our time. In fact, one night I wasn't feeling well and couldn't eat dinner, and she was kind enough to call and order food to be delivered for my mother! If Judith was not at the B&B, Lucas or Edmundo were available, and very helpful. Sophia and Clara made awesome breakfasts, and the coffee was great. We also very much enjoyed our tour to Tulle, Mitla and Teotitlan del Valle that Ernesto took us on. I will say while we were on this tour we purchased some traditional hand woven rugs from the Teotitlan, and when I saw very similar ones in stores in the city later, I felt like they were better priced. I cannot be sure that they weren't of inferior quality though, so I'm hoping I actually got a decent deal.

The location of the B&B was ideal as it was near enough to most city sites one would want to see. We did the museum, Santo Domingo church, the Benito Juarez museum, zocalo and many resurants and shops. Outside the city we went to Tulle Mitla, and Teotitlan del Valle one day, and to Monte Alban another day. I wish we were there a bit longer so we could've seen more outside of the city.

The city of Oaxaca is very culturally rich and inspiring - I cannot really explain it, but I really loved it. In fact, I've since enrolled in a Spanish class so when I return, I can be more confiednt speaking with the people there. However, I will say, most of the hotel staff was well versed if not fluent in English, which was very helpful to us also.

Overall, an excellent stay.

Room Tip: We had what I think was the largest room. It was a king with a twin. The only (minor) issue we had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ralanga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.3 mi away
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Quinta Real Oaxaca
#6 of 112 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca
0.5 mi away
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Casona De Tita
Hotel La Casona De Tita
#1 of 112 in Oaxaca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.4 mi away
Los Pilares Hotel
Los Pilares Hotel
#11 of 112 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Oaxaca
Casa Oaxaca
#5 of 112 in Oaxaca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaxaca Ollin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaxaca Ollin

Property: Oaxaca Ollin
Address: Calle Andres Quintana Roo 213 | Oaxaca City, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ollin Features Mexican gourmet breakfast, Multilingual Staff, Upgraded beds and linen, Library. New -- computer with high speed connection available for guest use -- also available WiFi connection. Swimming Pool, Three outdoor patios to choose from. All rooms non-smoking. Assistance with all of your sightseeing needs. Free local calls, Free long distance calls to the United States. Laundry service available. Medical services on call. Roof Top Terrace. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing