We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful week at the Casa Pereyra”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oaxaca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Pereyra Hotel and Bungalows
Ranked #13 of 128 Oaxaca B&B and Inns
Stowe, Vermont
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful week at the Casa Pereyra”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

The Casa Pereyra is in a great location. The street is very busy but inside is quiet and charming. You enter a nondescript door and find a charming court yard with iron tables and chairs that can be used by guests to chat, eat a meal, share drinks or use your computer with they hotel's WiFi connection. Rooms are very clean. We found a tray of coffee outside our door each morning. Friends had a lovely suite with a fully equipped kitchen with eating bar, sleeping loft, and living area with an extra bed. The staff was very helpful.

Room Tip: We had room 8 on the second floor with a private balcony and queen sized bed. Lots of shelves and c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maryevslin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    9
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
24
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
US
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

We, like the previous reviewers, were in Oaxaca early January when the next door business decided to try to open an illegal club that made ALOT of noise on Friday and Saturday nights. We had stayed here on a previous occasion and were dismayed at the noise level. The Casa Pereyra owners hired a lawyer and convened a meeting with the municipal inspectors that raided the club one early Saturday morning and closed the place down. Thank God!
Now that the quiet is restored we are very happy.
Also, on another note is that a fellow traveler became seriously ill and needed emergency surgery and the Casa Pereyra owner quickly got an ambulance and had the visitor transported to the private hospital, Clinica Reforma, where she had surgery and has been receiving excellent post surgical care.

Room Tip: wifi works in apartments 4 and 5 but you have to sit in the patio to use it if you are staying in ap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank QuinnT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
75 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

In a few words here-- the proprietor of this hotel, the very sweet Patricia, faces a serious problem that is apparently out of her control. There is a pop-up night club that has sprung up in an empty building next door, and they BLAST music from midnight until 6 a.m. When I say BLAST, I mean that it sounds as if they have set up their giant sound system in your room at Casa Pereyra. I normally pride myself on sleeping through ANYTHING, but sadly this level of noise (volume 10) was intolerable, in fact it was actually quite torturous. When I say 6 a.m., we left at 6:45 am ("let's get the F*%# out of here!!!" were our actual words) and the music was still going. (Thank god they at least had a really good DJ. We should have just gotten up and danced until 7 am with them at the foot of our bed). Patricia doesn't live on the property, so she can't hear the noise. According to another guest that spoke to the hotel staff about the noise, one of the hotel staff said that the police can't catch these rouge club promoters because they are setting up in a nearby vacant building. Huh? They are blasting music on volume 10 to a crowd of hundreds of people that are hooting and hollering for 6-7 hours every night and they can't be found? I'll help the police out on this one...they are right next door to Casa Pereyra guys! Still, it makes it sound as if the staff has known of this problem before. They need to warn guests in advance that this might happen.

Judging from the previous reviews, which is how I booked in the first place, this pop-up nightclub must be new, because it isn't mentioned elsewhere. Therefore, rather than give the hotel a one-star review (I think it is reasonable to be able to expect to sleep at a hotel, and if that is impossible then the place deserves one star) I will give it three stars. If the pop-up club wouldn't have happened, twice, I would give it 5 stars for the value.

My advice to future travelers? Be sure to negotiate something up front with Patricia should the club promoters return (maybe we were simply unlucky and they only came for two nights while we were there during the New Years weekend?). If the club takes place, the room should be free that night since you will not sleep.

Other tips? The hotel is spotless, the staff are super helpful, the location is fantastic. If you want privacy, don't book studios 1-3 since other guests gather at the chairs and tables in the shared courtyard directly in front of these rooms. You can close your doors and windows of course, but that means you will lose all natural light. However, these are the rooms with kitchenettes, so if you plan to cook then I think these are the rooms to book.

Overall, had we been able to sleep, I would say that Casa Pererya is a great place for the price. A charming hotel in a great location- just 3 blocks from the zocolo. Patricia is a good host, and will point out sights worth visiting. There isn't any parking, so if you have a rental car expect to pay $8 per day in a garage, or follow the parking rules and just park on the streets about 4 blocks away where overnight parking is allowed. The hotel has free slooooow WIFI for those that need it. We didn't turn on the TV so I can't comment on it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaloneV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2011

We stayed 2 nights in this wonderful place.
The room was nice, with balcony and good hottub.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anatoly106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
1,029 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 691 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

It is not a B&B but feels like one. Flowery patio, warm colors. We had a kitchenette in our room: very practical to keep drinks cold.
Quiet patio with chairs & tables, coffee/tea served in the morning - a very good value very close to the center.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingCat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2011

Loved this place. I debated giving it 4 stars since our room didn't have a/c and there were a few nights we wanted it. But the free, delicious Oaxacan coffee each morning sent to our room made up for it :) Wonderful staff, ok location, very quiet in our room although we were nervous at first due to the noisy street. Our room was perfect, clean and quaint. Great way to spend some time in Oaxaca.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lindyannajones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
1,029 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 691 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2011

Very relaxing, great location, friendly staff.
We also had a room with kitchenette: perfect.
Complimentary coffee in the morning.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingCat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
0.4 mi away
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Quinta Real Oaxaca
#8 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa del Sotano
Hotel Casa del Sotano
#19 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel CasAntica
Hotel CasAntica
#16 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca
0.3 mi away
Casa de Siete Balcones
Casa de Siete Balcones
#4 of 113 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Pereyra Hotel and Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Pereyra Hotel and Bungalows

Property: Casa Pereyra Hotel and Bungalows
Address: Avenida de La Independencia No. 304 | Centro Historico, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 128 B&Bs / Inns in Oaxaca
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing