We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (202)
Filter reviews
202 results
Traveler rating
91
84
18
6
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
91
84
18
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pay cash room was large great location santa margarita varied breakfast menu without windows free breakfast family atmosphere parador san seven nights central courtyard water pressure oaxaca city facing the street no air conditioning few minutes walk front desk staff
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 202 reviews
Reviewed March 1, 2019 via mobile

The location was great and so was the breakfast which is made fresh everyday! Also the staff was really nice and helpfull.
Our room was spacious and clean but facing the very busy and loud street - if you wish for more quietness, ask for rooms that don‘t face the street. The temperatures dropped at night so you could sleep without aircon, etc., which was very nice.

A few things that could be improved though:
- water pressure almost non existent
- as was warm water - we showered cold most times

But all in all a really nice hotel with a great location and good value for money!

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 373DeniseP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2019

Hotel is located just next to the Zocalo in Oaxaca and within close walking distance to most of the things you could want to see there. Staff there was really friendly and helpful, we were even offered complementary breakfasts during our stay if we pay in cash which was lovely. Rooms are big with nice and comfortable beds containing everything you would want during your stay. The only problem we had is that our room had no windows and it got ridiculously cold during the night because of its size and building material but nothing an extra blanket can't solve. Overall if we return to Oaxaca we would definitely return in this hotel for their great staff, amazing location and great price!

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bart09v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2019

The Parador San Agustin is located in the center of Oaxaca City. It is within 5 minutes walk of the Zocalo and minutes from many of the really good sights and restaurants of the city. A small hotel, it is very comfortable, good sized rooms and a marvelous balcony for gathering with friends. The staff is amazing for its friendliness and warmth. They cannot do enough for their guests - very much a family atmosphere. Full breakfasts with rooms are excellent and service equally excellent. With a group of friends we stayed two weeksl Priced reasonably, I would not hesitate to recommend or return to the Parador San Agustin. In fact, I certainly hope to.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanagus2, Helper at Hotel Parador San Agustin, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2019

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope as well that you and your friends come back again soon. - Fernando

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2019

We are almost reluctant to reveal this gem. The Parador San Agustin – one block from the Zócalo – is such a treasure we are tempted to keep it to ourselves. A former rest house for the colonial San Agustin church – half a block away – the building has great charm and character. Birds flutter down to the upper courtyard among potted plants and small trees, where one can hear the staff laughing together. We’ve noticed each time we’ve come here – and we have been doing so for than ten years – that part of the joy of the place is how kind the staff is and how much they seem to enjoy working with one another.
The rooms we have seen are all large and comfortable, but for a surprisingly small amount more one can rent the Santa Margarita Suite, which provides a separate sitting area, access to the rear – and more private – court yard, a shower stall almost large enough to play handball in, and a king-size bed.
The prices are less than those at similar re-converted colonial hostels, and the rooms are as good or better. And if you pay cash, the wonderful breakfasts (make sure you have hot Oaxacan chocolate con leche!) are included.
An added benefit is that it is within a two minute walk of the zocolo, but is far enough away to be quiet and peaceful at night. It occurs to us occasionally to try another place, but what’s the point? The Parador is perfect and feels like home!

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanagus2, Helper at Hotel Parador San Agustin, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2019

Thank you so much for your kind words and continued patronage. We really appreciate you choosing us over the many other good options Oaxaca has to offer and hope you continue to do so for your next visits. I understand you may be reluctant to spread the word, but I must say we'd appreciate it if you did as we doubt it will somehow tarnish the hotel or the staff if we get more customers. It may, though, be harder to get a room so make sure you make your reservations on time! Thanks again. - Fernando

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2019 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights. There is more than enough room for 2. We had two queen beds. Helpful and pleasant staff. WiFi is free but slow in the room. There was a balcony but standing room only. Two short blocks to the Zocalo. With the balcony door shut all the noise and lights are blocked out. Sparse toiletries and we had to ask for more towels.

Date of stay: January 2019
Thank BJoyous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanagus2, Helper at Hotel Parador San Agustin, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2019

Thank you for your kind words. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you'll choose us again if you find yourself in Oaxaca again. We will take your critique about the toiletries to heart and see what we can do to make it better next time. - Fernando

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews