We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Parador San Agustin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Parador San Agustin
Ranked #22 of 111 Hotels in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This was our first time in Oaxaca (AMAZING!) and we were very pleased with our stay at Parador San Agustin.

Very Clean, quaint, charming, a block from Zocalo and close to everything, extremely reasonably priced, nice restaurant and above all, exceptional service from staff. Thank you for the hospitality!

Room Tip: Showers are not great but work fine. We had a balcony which was very charming but noisy at nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ALLEN A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    53
    10
    6
    3
See reviews for
20
60
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Binningen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Pro
* very friendly staff
* free parking (a 4 min walk away)
* great breakfast
* good location
* hair dryer
* price 780 pesos incl. Breakfast

Contra
* room withouth window
* no aircondition but a ventilator

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank m_hofi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

This past winter my husband, son & myself stayed at the Parador San Agustin. We had a lovely large room upstairs amongst the pretty flowers in the hallway. Breakfasts were plentiful, the location is very central & safe with the best part being so well taken care of by their staff. Without being invasive the staff helped organize trips, gave suggestions of places to visit & eat & taught us much about life in the Oaxacan region. They even found us someone who took us into the Sierra Nevadas which was very difficult to arrange. Upon leaving they gave us Oaxacan gifts of treats in a typical woven basket. Thank you all for a great stay. We shall be back soon.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that does not face the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank born2travel71_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Level Contributor
79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Rooms are spacious and management is super friendly. Location is unbeatable (a block from the main square and 5 blocks from the food market). Parking is 2.5 blocks away and is free. It has a nice courtyard where kids can play and they serve breakfast. Beware: rooms around that area are very noisy. Room 103 is very stuffy and has no windows. Room 102 has a window and is less stuffy but you hear noise from the street and all sounds that anything or anyone makes in the courtyard. They start setting up tables for breakfast at 7am, so don't expect to sleep after that if your room faces the front courtyard. Rooms at the back are better for noise.
Breakfast is good and included with the room if you pay in cash. Kids are free but pay for breakfast. Breakfast is best had at the market, though. Cheap and great. They accept credit cards.

Room Tip: Choose rooms in the back courtyard. Room 103 is very stuffy and has no ventilation other than leavi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frontera60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Fourth time in oaxaca, best value stay ever, great location, across mercado where you can treat yourself in nice Oaxacan dishes, minutes walking from main square, and best of all great rates.

Room Tip: The further from the street, quieter guaranteed
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Return trip (prior stay was August 2010; see review). Everything is lovely -- hotel, staff, location, atmosphere. Breakfasts too. Comfortable rooms and absolutely immaculate -- everywhere. Didn't see a bug anywhere; walked barefoot in room and terrace without a second thought. Location can't be beat, nor can accomodating staff. You can't do better at this price point.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

We pulled into town without a place to stay and our first night we stayed at an average hotel. The next morning we stopped by this hotel and found they had an available room. The staff is incredibly friendly (Eli is fantastic....he is really funny and is willing to help you practice Spanish and he speaks English which is so helpful). The rooms are clean, safe and spacious. If you pay in cash, breakfast is included. We would highly recommend this place. It is just 2 blocks from the Zocalo.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room with a balcony. The doors block out the noise and make it completely dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa del Sotano
Hotel Casa del Sotano
#21 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 stars 264 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hotel Trebol
Hotel Trebol
#20 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 stars 156 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casona Oaxaca
Casona Oaxaca
#17 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 stars 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Azucenas
Hotel Azucenas
#23 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 stars 213 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
0.3 mi away
Hotel Posada del Centro
Hotel Posada del Centro
#25 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 stars 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Parador San Agustin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parador San Agustin

Property: Hotel Parador San Agustin
Address: Calle Armenta y Lopez # 215 | Col. Centro, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 111 Hotels in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Parador San Agustin 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelers with a taste for elegance and comfort will delight at the chance to stay at the newest in the series of Oaxaca's Parador Hotels, "Parador San Agustin". The Parador San Agustin was recently transformed from a deteriorating 16th century colonial estate into a charming, four star hotel with 16 rooms, and an excellent restaurant which, in itself, makes this hotel well-worth the visit. Whether you're a tourist determined to experience the wonders of Oaxaca, or a business person on the run, San Agustin's combination of efficiency, modernity and old-fashioned charm will fit the bill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Parador San Agustin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing