We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Perfect spot & price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Trebol

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Trebol
Ranked #20 of 111 Hotels in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
san antonio texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect spot & price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2010

We spent a week in Oaxaca, and found this to be our favorite hotel. Clean, hot water, perfect location for the activities, or getting a ride to other parts of the city. Price was great for location and room. I'm a designer, and can be picky, so I was happy to find a nice clean cheap place right off the square. Ohh and the tours were well priced and organized. english speaking guides and staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HowIroll10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    76
    26
    3
    6
See reviews for
27
76
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
MD
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2009

Our first hotel was a nightmare, so we were very pleased to find Hotel Trebol for the second half of our trip. Hotel Trebol is one block from the zocala, beautifully kept, comfortable beds, large clean rooms, wonderful staff and responsive service. If we return to Oaxaca we will be staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xenya_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2009

One block from the Zocalo and right across the street from the mercado, the location is very convenient. Rooms facing the street are noisy (traffic, people, loud music) but the interior rooms are very quiet. The entire property is well kept and the decor is sophisticated. What's wrong are the cheap beds, which are comparable to slim backpacker pads; that is, almost no padding. . The showers stalls were roomy, but adjusting the hot water was a challenge - either too hot or too cold. The restaurant was convenient and had good service. But you could eat across the street in the mercado for half the price. Hotel and travel staff were friendly and helpful. I recommend this hotel to young backpacker types who don't mind sleeping on a hard slab. Those who want a softer mattress, try The Principal (much cheaper) or Antequerra.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SanFranVoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idyllwild, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2009

Party of four stayed at this property for three nights in two rooms. Both were quiet interior rooms with updated decor and conveniences such as cable, modern bath, and comfortable albeit firm beds. I guaranteed the room with a credit card which they processed immediately and caused a problem with my credit card company's security arm. This resulted in the cancellation of the credit card. In addition, when we got there they had reserved the rooms for three nights beginning on our departure date. I would recommend no guaranteed reservations here unless absolutely necessary. The hotel does have an acceptable adjoining restaurant and at times hot water has to be requested by telephone. We had stayed at Posada Hotel Catarina last year but found service to be wholly indifferent. The hotel is very convenient to the Zocalo and market...and the room rate reasonable...Overall, I rrecommend it.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IDYFRANK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle, wa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed at here for our first 5 days in Oaxaca City. The staff wasn't necessarily the friendliest but they were, for the most part, efficient. The restaurant had exceptionally tasty food and delicious coffee along with great service, all at our a really low price.
The BIG problem we had was with the first room we were given upon arriving. Room 408: a windowless, tiny room that was nicely decorated but still reminded us of a basement apartment. It had no airflow- that's putting it mildy, as we discovered that it was actually cooler outside (Mexico in August!) than in the room, despite the high powered fan we had going at all times. We requested a different room and were told that weren't any available, despite the fact that I was sure I saw quite a few empty rooms every morning. Anyways, we said were going to leave and then magically they had a different room that we could move to the next day. That room was clean, open & well lit and generally a 110 percent more pleasant.
Aside from that, the location of the hotel is great: right next to a big indoor market and a lot of delicious food vendors, and only a few blocks away from the zócalo. Even the maid service here was pretty surprising: they folded our clothes and rolled up our socks!
So, to conclude: I would recommend this hotel with the advice that when making your reservation you specifically request "una habitación con una ventana." Seriously.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank xtinameow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2008

It was my mother and I's first time in Oaxaca and wanted a hotel that was central to the main happenings and moderately priced, nothing too extravagant. Hotel Trebol lived up to those expectations. The hotel was one block south of the Zocalo and very near the local markets. The rooms were very basic and, of course, the beds were extremely hard making it rather uncomfortable to sleep. There was a slight problem with the hot and cold faucets in the bathroom. The showers were too hot at times. The staff was only ok. Not the most vibrant and warm staff but were helpful. I did like that the tour desk was located in the hotel and she was able to arrange our accomations and flights to Huatulco at no charge. The breakfast downstairs was great. I usually had mexican hot chocolate, yogurt and gronala and egg/meat scrambler. Very good and inexpensive at 45 pesos. All in all good hotel if you want something basic and central to everything but maybe would try a bed and breakfast place next time, someplace that was more personable.

  • Liked — Location, breakfast
  • Disliked — Hard beds, so so customer service
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiki06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2006

It's a beautiful hotel, rooms are very nice, big and clean. The personel at reception are not te best, but they are OK. Te hotel is in a very buisy street, but once you are inside there is no noise at all. They have an available parking lot a walking distance of about 5 minutes. The hotel is very near the zocalo and the market.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank diankito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
7.5 mi away
Hotel Casa del Sotano
Hotel Casa del Sotano
#23 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
7.8 mi away
Casona Oaxaca
Casona Oaxaca
#14 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
7.9 mi away
Parador Del Dominico
Parador Del Dominico
#25 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca
8.0 mi away
Los Pilares Hotel
Los Pilares Hotel
#12 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hotel Aitana
Hotel Aitana
#36 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Trebol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Trebol

Property: Hotel Trebol
Address: Calle Flores Magon No. 201, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Trebol 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Trebol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trebol Hotel Oaxaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing