We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Highly recommended” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Trebol

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Trebol
Ranked #19 of 111 Hotels in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
MD
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2009

Our first hotel was a nightmare, so we were very pleased to find Hotel Trebol for the second half of our trip. Hotel Trebol is one block from the zocala, beautifully kept, comfortable beds, large clean rooms, wonderful staff and responsive service. If we return to Oaxaca we will be staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xenya_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    69
    24
    3
    6
See reviews for
25
68
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

One block from the Zocalo and right across the street from the mercado, the location is very convenient. Rooms facing the street are noisy (traffic, people, loud music) but the interior rooms are very quiet. The entire property is well kept and the decor is sophisticated. What's wrong are the cheap beds, which are comparable to slim backpacker pads; that is, almost no padding. . The showers stalls were roomy, but adjusting the hot water was a challenge - either too hot or too cold. The restaurant was convenient and had good service. But you could eat across the street in the mercado for half the price. Hotel and travel staff were friendly and helpful. I recommend this hotel to young backpacker types who don't mind sleeping on a hard slab. Those who want a softer mattress, try The Principal (much cheaper) or Antequerra.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SanFranVoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idyllwild, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2009

Party of four stayed at this property for three nights in two rooms. Both were quiet interior rooms with updated decor and conveniences such as cable, modern bath, and comfortable albeit firm beds. I guaranteed the room with a credit card which they processed immediately and caused a problem with my credit card company's security arm. This resulted in the cancellation of the credit card. In addition, when we got there they had reserved the rooms for three nights beginning on our departure date. I would recommend no guaranteed reservations here unless absolutely necessary. The hotel does have an acceptable adjoining restaurant and at times hot water has to be requested by telephone. We had stayed at Posada Hotel Catarina last year but found service to be wholly indifferent. The hotel is very convenient to the Zocalo and market...and the room rate reasonable...Overall, I rrecommend it.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IDYFRANK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle, wa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed at here for our first 5 days in Oaxaca City. The staff wasn't necessarily the friendliest but they were, for the most part, efficient. The restaurant had exceptionally tasty food and delicious coffee along with great service, all at our a really low price.
The BIG problem we had was with the first room we were given upon arriving. Room 408: a windowless, tiny room that was nicely decorated but still reminded us of a basement apartment. It had no airflow- that's putting it mildy, as we discovered that it was actually cooler outside (Mexico in August!) than in the room, despite the high powered fan we had going at all times. We requested a different room and were told that weren't any available, despite the fact that I was sure I saw quite a few empty rooms every morning. Anyways, we said were going to leave and then magically they had a different room that we could move to the next day. That room was clean, open & well lit and generally a 110 percent more pleasant.
Aside from that, the location of the hotel is great: right next to a big indoor market and a lot of delicious food vendors, and only a few blocks away from the zócalo. Even the maid service here was pretty surprising: they folded our clothes and rolled up our socks!
So, to conclude: I would recommend this hotel with the advice that when making your reservation you specifically request "una habitación con una ventana." Seriously.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank xtinameow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2008

It was my mother and I's first time in Oaxaca and wanted a hotel that was central to the main happenings and moderately priced, nothing too extravagant. Hotel Trebol lived up to those expectations. The hotel was one block south of the Zocalo and very near the local markets. The rooms were very basic and, of course, the beds were extremely hard making it rather uncomfortable to sleep. There was a slight problem with the hot and cold faucets in the bathroom. The showers were too hot at times. The staff was only ok. Not the most vibrant and warm staff but were helpful. I did like that the tour desk was located in the hotel and she was able to arrange our accomations and flights to Huatulco at no charge. The breakfast downstairs was great. I usually had mexican hot chocolate, yogurt and gronala and egg/meat scrambler. Very good and inexpensive at 45 pesos. All in all good hotel if you want something basic and central to everything but maybe would try a bed and breakfast place next time, someplace that was more personable.

  • Liked — Location, breakfast
  • Disliked — Hard beds, so so customer service
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiki06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2006

It's a beautiful hotel, rooms are very nice, big and clean. The personel at reception are not te best, but they are OK. Te hotel is in a very buisy street, but once you are inside there is no noise at all. They have an available parking lot a walking distance of about 5 minutes. The hotel is very near the zocalo and the market.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank diankito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2006

This was my second time staying there. The hotel is literally across the street from the Mercado Benito Juarez, which is a colorful & fun place day & night, and only one block from the zocalo. The hotel lobby & restaurant are lovely, the staff is very friendly & helpful, everything is very clean and bright & colorful, and our room--ground floor facing the courtyard--was very comfortable and as quiet as could be, despite the VERY central location of the hotel. Also, the restaurant in the hotel (Chacho's) is very inexpensive but very tasty.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casa del Sotano
Hotel Casa del Sotano
#20 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 stars 264 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca
0.3 mi away
Hotel Posada del Centro
Hotel Posada del Centro
#25 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 stars 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casona Oaxaca
Casona Oaxaca
#18 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 stars 92 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
0.1 mi away
Hotel Parador San Agustin
Hotel Parador San Agustin
#21 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 stars 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Trebol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Trebol

Property: Hotel Trebol
Address: Flores Magon No. 201, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Trebol 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Trebol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trebol Hotel Oaxaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing