We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel & good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa de Sierra Azul

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa de Sierra Azul
Ranked #19 of 111 Hotels in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
anywhere
Level Contributor
317 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Nice hotel & good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

stayed one night here. Nice old mansion with patio. Rooms are around the patio execept some rooms that are in the back and are more quiet. Did just sleep here so cant judge on the food. Rooms was good and very complete with iron, cable tv, wireless, snacks. Nice terrace on top surrounded with cactusses. Centrally located just a few blocks from Santo Domingo.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pelowelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    49
    12
    5
    9
See reviews for
32
59
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This is a very pretty property with a decent management. The rooms are all different and most have all promised amenities. You do however need to watch for rooms which are missing the advertised amenities (a/c, safe deposit boxes, etc). The check-in experince here was the worst I have had in a while (and I stay in hotels everyweek). We had booked 2 rooms for 4 persons each through booking.com, however on arrival (past the check-in time) we were told that only rooms with single king beds were available. After pressing the attendant we were offered a sub-par attic room with a day bed big enough for a child, but still not big enough for 4 adults. When refused this room were told the only option we had was to check out the next day! (Yes they told us to leave). Once we explained this was unacceptable another room magically became available, this time with 2 double beds! We decide to make do with the other king room and this one since the check-in attendant was hard to reason with.

The service at this hotel could also improve. We had multiple instances of requests for water and towels being completely ignored by the front desk. The service in the restaurant was also spotty and at times took a while to get an extra piece of toast or a coffee refill.

Overall, a very charming hotel however they do need to work hard on their service and customer interaction.

Room Tip: Cross your fingers and pray that you get what you think you booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FarhanMehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This place is excellent- the courtyard arcade architecture right in the middle of Oaxaca by the museums, zocolo etc. is part of it... but then the rooms and the gardens are amazing. The restaurant for breakfast was very very good. Recommend the ex-convent a block away for dinner- amazing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robert d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We had seen a bad review complaining about noise, and we thought it was just bad luck for the reviewer, but it wasn't. We could not sleep and decided to leave the next day. Unpolite guests and bad infrastructure made it impossible to sleep and first some people gathered in the atrium, speaking loudly, after 12AM, and later, some guys in front of our room did not have the courtesy of closing their door as they yelled and listened to loud music, at 2AM. My second complain with front desk got them to close their door (!).. still... not a coincidence... the mattress could also be better.

Room Tip: If they have an isolated room, take it! Away from other rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Igor_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012 via mobile

Place is ok, food was regular, rooms were ok and service good but slow. W

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonogarciag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012 via mobile

Is a hotel with an artist touch. Famous painters such as Toledo and Zarate, among others, made their contribution to de design.

Very well situated, quiet, good food.

Try it

Stayed May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alejo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, TX
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

We have stayed 3 times at Casa de Sierra Azul in the past 10 years or so. The first time was very pleasant, the second not so (air conditioner not working properly) and the third time was the charm. I'm glad we didn't give up on it because it certainly lived up to it's initial intrigue. We stayed here on our last night in Oaxaca and service was excellent from the get-go (including an early check in). We paid slightly more for a superior room, but it was worth every bit, plus it included a continental breakfast. Our room was No. 3, towards the back and it had access to a very private roof top area, where my husband and I enjoyed a bottle of wine as we winded down from our long trip. The best part of this hotel is it's courtyard and the size of the property. A small elegant Colonial charmer close to the Zocalo, with good service, works for us every time.

Room Tip: Choose a superior room. We've stayed in a standard room in the past and they're ok. A supe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loveofmex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.6 mi away
Los Pilares Hotel
Los Pilares Hotel
#12 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 stars 106 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Centro Historico Oaxaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quinta Real Oaxaca
Quinta Real Oaxaca
#9 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 stars 444 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel CasAntica
Hotel CasAntica
#8 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 stars 301 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casa del Sotano
Hotel Casa del Sotano
#20 of 111 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 stars 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Sierra Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Sierra Azul

Property: Casa de Sierra Azul
Address: Calle Hidalgo 1002 | Colonia Centro, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Oaxaca
#11 Romantic Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa de Sierra Azul 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de Sierra Azul is an elegant and beautifully restored 200-year-old colonial home offers quiet, unusually spacious rooms in the heart of the city. It is only two blocks from the bustling Zocalo with its many cafes, strolling musicians, and artisans offering Oaxaca's famous painted animals and other high quality hand crafts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Casa de Sierra Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Sierra Azul Hotel Oaxaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing