We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpaid!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casa de Sierra Azul
Ranked #25 of 109 Hotels in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Overpaid!”
Reviewed April 21, 2011

With $150 a night, we were given a standard room without air conditioning (the temp was 38C). We brought the broken digital clock to the attention of the front desk, we were not given another one from another room. On top of that, we were told we had to pay for breakfast. The mushrooms inside the omelette tasted sour. It was not sliced fresh mushroom. It was from a can! After we requested a change of room due to heat, we were given a larger room with air conditioning. With the shifting toilet seat, the crooked soap dish due to a missing screw, and another dead digital clock, we truly believe the hotel overcharged for its rooms. Oh, I should not forget to mention that there are no windows at all in the rooms. We had no view of the interior courtyard nor of the streets. It was claustrophobic. However, we learned not to order mushrooms with the omelette. The only thing going for this hotel is its convenient and relatively quiet location.

Room Tip: Request a room with air con in warmer months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hisakyuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    54
    14
    7
    10
See reviews for
39
67
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2011

I recently visited oaxaca and chose casa sierra azul for its location, only a feww blocks to the main square. i like small hotels in wich you really feel where you are .
The staff is very frindly, the house is beoutiful, but the cleanliness and mantinance are not quite ok.
Our party used " double rooms. both air condiotners were broken, the tv were old and didnt work properly. The beds had small matresses so I kept bumping my legs into the wood, I had to ask them to please sweep the room, the curtins were old an shaby.
Breakfast was ok, but in thr rest of the cityyou get MAGNIFECENT food,.
You could listen to the people talking, and they weren´t loud, in the next room, and in the top room, so its hard to rest.
I just feel we overpaid. unfortunatly we paid in advance for the whole week, otherwise i would have changed hotel the first night, specially after seeing there are many options just steps away.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mayetis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, Manager at Casa de Sierra Azul, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Google Translation
Estimado Ing. Crispin,
Agradecemos de antemano se tome la molestia de hacernos saber de su pasada estancia con nosotros y nos es de mucho agrado el saber que su estadía fue placentera.
Esperamos tener el placer de recibirlo nuevamente en un futuro no muy lejano.

Andrea Pastrana
Gerente General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xanadu
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2011

Quaint restoration, anchored by a spectacular central patio fringed with high-ceilinged rooms that are a tad on the darker side (common to this type of layout where the rooms border the courtyard on one side and the street on the other, and skylights provide illumination without dispensing with privacy.)

Rich in charm, marvelously located (a few short blocks from the Zocalo and a few more from the Santo Domingo area which boasts a glut of top eateries), surprisingly quiet for its location.

Particular mention must be made of the front desk staff - without exception they went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. My check out at 12 noon was graciously extended to midnight to accommodate my late bus back to DF. I cannot imagine too many hotels that would extend this courtesy without a price tag.

At the sub $100 price tag that can be snagged online, this casa is a steal. Let's face it, if you choose to come to Oaxaca, you should choose to imbibe some of the character. If it's the Holiday Inn you seek, hmmm, may I recommend Minneapolis instead?

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abeona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, Manager at Casa de Sierra Azul, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Mr.

Thank you for your comments and for taking the time to express how was your past stay with us!
It is our pleasure to learn that you had a memorable vacation and that you have had the chance to enjoy not only our property but our beautiful Oaxaca.
We take pride in providing the best facilities and personal service to all our guest.

On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Sierra Azul we would like to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a near future.

Andrea Pastrana
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2011

Stayed here Christmas 2010 with my husband.
Location, just 3 minutes walking from the Zocalo, is hard to beat.

Hotel is situated in a very nice house with an inner patio, like there are many in Oaxaca. Nicely restaurated, but at this moment our room needed a bit of attention. No major things, but just bits of paint missing, cracked wash basin, that show a bit of wear.

We had a junior suite, which was not overly big, but adequate. Very nice shower, good waterpressure!!
Cleaning very good, allthough the times were unpredictable (morning/afternoon).

Staff very friendly and at the reception very adequate as well.
In the restaurant area friendly as well, but sometimes they looked a little bit untrained..... Tried very hard, but although we were the only custumors to attend at the moment we had breakfast, it seamed hard to get things organised (like eggs being ready, but no bread until five minutes later.....). No big issues though.

Overal, nice hotel, but you expect a bit more when you see the rates. With a bit more effort it could go from good to excellent.....

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Turtlelito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2010

As already noted by others, the location of this hotel is ideal for various Historic District Oaxaca activities. The architecture and interior courtyard are lovely, and a very pleasant place to eat breakfast before venturing out into the hubbub of Oaxaca City. The price is reasonable for the location and quality.

They've done a pretty good job of sound-proofing their rooms bordering the very busy street just west of the hotel, HOWEVER: if you're used to total quiet while sleeping, some street noise seeps through and any chatter in the courtyard isn't dampened. Nothing a pair of earplugs can't resolve, but do be warned ...

Also, some rooms get little natural light, and a lot of small maintenance details seem to go unaddressed -- loose plumbing fittings, poor use of space (e.g., no table where a small one would be useful), inadequate lighting, chipped walls and paint that should be easy to address, etc. These are small things, but they add up to a less-than-ideal experience.

Finally, I found the staff to be genial but not aggressive about addressing problems. Sometimes they needed to be told two or three times before an issue was taken care of (and I speak fluent Spanish). Not due to surliness; the young staff often just seemed more interested in surfing the web than in striving to meet customer needs.

All in all, this was a good but not great hotel experience. I'm not a particularly demanding customer, but it does annoy me when relatively simple and obvious things to improve the client experience don't get addressed.

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GonzoDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, Manager at Casa de Sierra Azul, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear valued guest,
I thank you for taking the time to express how was last vacation with us!
We are happy to learn that you had an enjoyable vacation and that you had the chance to enjoy all our amenities. We are sorry that your room was not of your lacked. Our ground floor rooms although accessible as you said and due to the traffic can be for some a little open.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you in a near future.
Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for your next vacation, it will be my pleasure to assist you and make sure we accommodate your requests.

Thank you and warm regards,
Andrea Pastrana
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2010

My husband and I and another couple booked this delightful surprise. The hotel is located in central Oaxaca city, just two short blocks from the Zocalo. If you plan on renting a car, wait a couple of days and explore the city from this central location on foot. It is walking distance from a lot of restaurants, the Theater, museums, the Central Market and lots of the daily markets. It is a small, intimate hotel that has been lovingly restored from a former hacienda. There are pictures in the courtyard showing the former structure. The renovations carefully retained some of the old touches, such as the old paint and arches.

Our rooms were stylishly decorated and larger than I expected. We had a huge bathroom with a tub that was large enough for four people. Every day we had a fresh bouquet of alstrameria flowers. The rooms were located around a central courtyard. Each morning we had breakfast there. There was a nice variety of fruits, juices, sweet bread, coffee, chocolate and various styles of breakfasts, ie Continental, American and Oaxacan.

The staff was small but wonderful. The front desk staff spoke a little English and were eager to be of assistance. There is a computer in the lobby that can be used to send e-mails or whatever. They assisted us in getting a rental car. (We did have to go off-site to pick it up) They were terrific about giving us directions. The person who performed the breakfast service, also did our laundry. You put it in the bag that is provided, give it to her, and when you return from you day out, it is waiting for you in your room.

The facility is very clean. One day, there was a problem with the hot water in our room. Once we brought it to their attention, it was repaired immediately. There is also cocktail service in the evenings in the courtyard. There are pictures of the hotel on their website.

It was a wonderful week. The price was surprisingly reasonable. We found it on the internet after we decided that we wanted to go to Oaxaca. When we go back (not if), we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ticklmelm0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mesa az
Level Contributor
108 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2010

Very friendly and charming small hotel. Close to the zocolo and all the cathedrals. Beautifully restored and comfortable. The family who runs it are charming and gracious. I would recommend this whole heartedly. I have spent lots for time in Oaxaca and this is as good as it gets.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misspiggy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique De La Parra
0.3 mi away
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
0.3 mi away
Hotel CasAntica
Hotel CasAntica
#17 of 109 in Oaxaca
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Los Pilares Hotel
Los Pilares Hotel
#12 of 109 in Oaxaca
134 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marialicia Suites
Marialicia Suites
#3 of 109 in Oaxaca
146 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Azul
Hotel Azul
#16 of 109 in Oaxaca
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Sierra Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Sierra Azul

Property: Casa de Sierra Azul
Address: Calle Hidalgo 1002 | Colonia Centro, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Oaxaca
#6 Family Hotel in Oaxaca
#11 Romantic Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa de Sierra Azul 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de Sierra Azul is an elegant and beautifully restored 200-year-old colonial home offers quiet, unusually spacious rooms in the heart of the city. It is only two blocks from the bustling Zocalo with its many cafes, strolling musicians, and artisans offering Oaxaca's famous painted animals and other high quality hand crafts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Casa de Sierra Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Sierra Azul Hotel Oaxaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing