We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (395)
Filter reviews
395 results
Traveler rating
120
165
56
26
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
120
165
56
26
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews presidential suite swimming pool valet parking delightful hotel quiet space rooms are small oaxaca city two twin beds breakfast was included street noise fluent in english hotel room recommend staying here the air conditioning amazing location hierve el agua points of interest
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 395 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2017

We were travelling with a baby, so it was a priority for us to get a suite that had a separate living room and bedroom, so the baby could sleep in the bedroom, while we were in the livingroom. There aren't many hotels that offer this in Oaxaca, so we waited with booking flights to Oaxaca, until we had found this place.

So we book the master suite, and book our flight tickets, and 2 days before arrival they send us an email saying "Sorry, that room isn't available anyway". We contacted them saying that that was unacceptable, but they just told us they "hadn't confirmed", which just isnt true since the room said "available" when we booked it, and we got an email receipt and all.

So now we have flights to Oaxaca, and no place to stay.

A very bad experience! Watch out.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Service
1  Thank BrogeStarck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2017 via mobile

The place has some charm (old convent) a great location in the center of Oaxaca and a nice heated swimming pool that comes very handy when you return from day trips, BUT:

The level of noise inside the patio is sometimes just unacceptable. The walls reverberate the noise and (especially if you come from Europe with kids and want to go to bed early) , it is really hard to get sleep at night when other guests come back from their day and walk thorough the patio.

Worst of all was New Year's Eve, when the hotel came up with the idea of organising a party (for guests and non guests) mainly consisting in a concert in the patio. Problem being that they volume was concert-like (really loud, with amplifiers and all) and, with reverberation in the stone walls, it was impossible to sleep (even with ear plugs).

Point is: If you are a hotel, you cannot choose to not let your guests sleep in order to get some extra bucks.

Spoke with the manager and he told me that all guests had been warned - which did not happen in our case. Also, there was not an alternative room as the hotel was full
- in any case most rooms face the patio so most guests had the same problem... And even if I had been warned which I was not, I would have never imagined a concert with amplifiers till 2:15 am. Great to have a party, but need to have it in a separate, well conditioned room, not in a patio where noise affects the experience of all guests

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank borgtp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2016

We enjoy staying in older buildings that have been updated and this hotel did not disappoint. It retains the charm of the convent that it used to be but has modern plumbing for its guests' comfort. Some of the rooms seem to have been more recently updated than others. Some of the rooms are a bit small like ours (a triple standard with single and a double beds) and others are roomy like the one for our daughter's family (a junior suite). The hotel itself was quiet but the first night we stayed there was very loud music until after midnight from somewhere in the neighborhood nearby. The rooms can be dark due to a lack of windows but the lighting is good so there was no difficulty reading in bed. The WiFi worked well even in our room. It was clean and there was plenty of hot water. The swimming pool was adequately heated even during the cool November days that we were there. Our grandkids loved splashing there every afternoon. The staff at the front desk was very helpful. The valet parking worked well. The hotel's location is excellent for walking around the historic center of Oaxaca.

The main problem that we had was with the restaurant. Our hotel stay included breakfast. But there is no buffet. You have to order from the eligible items on the menu. Not all items on the menu are included in the price of your room. We stayed here for a week and by the end of the week we were tired of the selection of these eligible items. Occasionally we would order not included items and then there was confusion with the wait staff as to what they delivered and what we had to pay extra for. Also we strongly suspected that on one day when we ordered coffee from the espresso machine, which was an extra, they served us the usual coffee from the kitchen and charged us for the special coffee. The breakfast experience left us with a negative impression about the hotel's operation. The hotel really needs to look at this and see where it could make improvements. How about a buffet?

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank astrobob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2016

I stayed here during the Day of the Dead tour with G Adventures, highly recommend them too!
The hotel itself was clean and well kept, great location walking distance to everything, local shops and main attractions.
The only issue was how noisy it was, all sound echoed around so TAKE EAR PLUGS! other than that, great!

Room tip: Take ear plugs
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank batty_bladie_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2016

This trip was for our 40th wedding anniversary. Great Surprise when we entered our room after checking in we had a beautiful Heart of Red Rose Petals and Two Swans out of Towels and a cooled bottle of Wine. Cleaning staff was excellent. And front desk was friendly. Location was also Great. Why do I give it 3 stars only ... well the room was very small and sadly breakfast was not included but others had breakfast included. Also the restaurant that is in the hotel is so so but staff is very friendly. The other issue is that most of the staff does not speak english (I happen to speak Spanish so had not problems but somebody with no Spanish knowledge would be lost).

Room tip: If a couple ..... do not take the cheapest smallest room as it is small including the bed and bathroom.
Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Bizca99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews