We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (306)
Filter reviews
306 results
Traveler rating
163
100
31
4
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
163
100
31
4
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private taxi large step great hotel two blocks perfect location city square sweet bread walking distance will stay there again corner room front desk personnel inside room mexican charm mezcal tasting hotel is located rooms are large loved our stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 306 reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2019

One and a half blocks from the Zocolo, nice clean room and helpful friendly staff. Access to all the major sites in the city within walking distance. We took two days to see the main museum in the city and then took tours to Mont Alban, Mitla, El Tule and Hierve Agua. They are really worthwhile!

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank vjrechel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2019

This was our first time to visit the beautiful town of Oaxaca. There was a group of over 40 of us. The Hotel Casona Oaxaca could not have been more accommodating and hospitable. Fabulous staff and the most quaint, lovely hotel. My girlfriends and I are going to travel back to Oaxaca and stay here again.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sueturned60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2019

We enjoyed our stay at The Casona. It's a compact, efficient, central hotel within five minutes' walk of the principal sights of Qaxaca. Rooms are beautiful and the breakfast is buffet-style but fairly comprehensive. A really good option and relatively inexpensive. A good recommendation.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Diptych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2019 via mobile

We had a group of 42 people that stayed 5 nights in Casona Oaxaca. The location was great just 1 block from the Zocalo - close to lots of the downtown restaurants
and activities. The sales manager, Francisco was absolutely great to work with In Planning our trip: he accommodated all of our requests for meals, menus and happy hours! The staff was very friendly and also knocked themselves out to give us great service. Almost all the staff good English which was helpful with our group. Rooms were spacious ,comfortable ,very clean. It appeared that the hotel is making many recent improvements like adding a nice bar in the courtyard. Towels were new, bathrobes in Room, iron and ironing board in the room, safe, new hair dryers and even magnifying mirrors ....all quite nice for Mexico hotels. This hotel is a great value! Hope to return!

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank PVAmigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2019

Absolutely cannot beat the location and price of this property. Our double/double room was large and very clean. The bathroom is just slightly larger than one on a cruise ship. Breakfast was fine, nothing exceptional.
One caveat (and this has nothing to do with the hotel per se), we did arrange for an all-day tour with the front desk with Descubre Oaxaca tours to Monte Alban and other outlying areas. The price was fantastic at about $12US per person. The front desk also offered a private taxi option with a minimum of 3 hours. In hindsight, we wished we had done that option. The tour lasted from 10am until we were finally dropped off at 7:30pm. The tour director was lax in determining a departure time at each stop so we were constantly waiting for other passengers. Plus it included a long stop for lunch at a restaurant that we chose not to eat at. In all, with a private taxi, the tour could have accomplished everything in 4-5 hours depending on your level of interest at each stop. And we would have been back in Oaxaca for another great meal for lunch!

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DianefromWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews