We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place!”
Review of SP Restaurante

SP Restaurante
Ranked #91 of 484 Restaurants in Oaxaca
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Restaurante de comida oaxaquena con sugerencia de platillos libaneses ubicado a un lado del Centro Cultural San Pablo. Cuenta con terraza y zona de cafeteria.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent place!”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We went to this place in November last year and loved it. The food was one of the best meals we had in Mexico, delicious and interesting food with very generous serves. So generous we didn't have room for dessert but we went back the next day and had dessert then, which we were glad we did!

We can especially recommend the jamaica enchiladas and the tacos. And the hot chocolate too! The staff were attentive, helpful and friendly, and very kind about our terrible Spanish. The location and decor are perfect, we took in a free concert in the hall next door and for dinner we enjoyed sitting upstairs and looking out over the square and enjoying the night.

Make sure you give the cocktail list a go, we had some interesting and refreshing mezcal coctails. We'd highly recommend this place if you're in Oaxaca.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FNandez, Gerente at SP Restaurante, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Google Translation
Que tal Emma,
Gracias por su opinión. Nos da mucho que le hayamos dejado una maravillosa experiencia y que nos califique como una de las mejores comidas en México. Trabajamos día a día para satisfacer las expectativas de todos nuestros clientes.
Esperamos que en un futuro podamos contar de nuevo con su visita.
Excelente día!

Atte.
Personal de SP Restaurante
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    21
    7
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara CA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Getting it together”
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

Three of us US went for lunch twice - the first time with a local. The setting, yes, is spectacular - upstairs and down, but I could not find an earlier reported overview of the city. Decor simple and attractive. Staff welcoming and variable. Our terrific guy from visit 1 helped waiter at visit 2 - thank goodness. Of course we returned because our first visit was so satisfying. Had a side of eggplant; while not the babaganouge I am familiar with, it was delicious. Our local friend had ordered what at home we call Kafte and requested a side of yogurt sauce - a huge thick slice arrived alone on the plate smelling enticing & authentic, as in like back home: Santa Barbara's remarkable Zaytoon. On the return visit I ordered Kafte and got 3 something's en brochette (Kafte kebab, but not called that on the menu) which collapse when the skewers were removed - a mix of minced meat and onions and perhaps parsley - unseasoned. I'd asked for yogurt sauce when placing the order; it never came. On the plate was probably a house-made catsup and pale, cool hence greasy
French fries & undressed salad greens with tomato. We'd begun with a drink order - companions ordered margaritas which were "tart" - sent back and just fine on return. They were very pleased with what they'd ordered from the non-Lebanese section but I'm the one writing this up. Bottom line - be prepared to be kind. They are working really, really hard and will get it all together.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank hmsmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FNandez, Gerente at SP Restaurante, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Google Translation
Que tal,
Hemos leído su opinión acerca de su visita en el restaurante. Le pedimos una disculpa sí no logramos cubrir completamente sus gustos. Hemos pasado los detalles que nos menciona a cocina para que podamos mejorar y así poder cubrir con el ambiente, servicio y comida que esperaba.
Un gran saludo!

Atte. Personal de SP Restaurante
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Best Breakfast Best Ambiance”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

In the heart of Oaxaca maybe three short blocks off the Zolcalo this is a hip venue yet reaching to Oaxaca's magical past. The setting is fabulous located in the courtyard and building of a 18th Century monastery its refitting is done with great style that makes it modern and old in the same breathe. We had breakfast, the coffee was served in very modern ceramics and the waiters kept in coming. There were many choices, the baked goods were fresh and had a different take. Lets call it Lebanese/Zapotec. The prices were reasonable the staff was attentive. Whats not to like, a very pleasant Sunday breakfast.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nicnicoloff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oaxaca, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Ambiance.”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We dined on the lower level and you cannot beat the ambiance- an entire wall open to the Centro Académico y Cultural San Pablo courtyard- a stunning architectural achievement blending modern with ancient.
The service was excellent, the price very low, and the food was good enough.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hacesol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A must”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

SP Restaurant is beautiful, the service is superb, and the breakfast was delicious. If you're a big potion kind of person, don't come here. If you like beautiful food, well prepared with interesting flavors, this is the place. I couldn't be happier.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SP Restaurante also viewed

 

Been to SP Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing