We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice small hotel in downtown Oaxaca” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Azucenas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Azucenas
Ranked #22 of 112 Hotels in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Nice small hotel in downtown Oaxaca”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2006

The Hotel Azucenas is a clean, comfortable and friendly small hotel within a 10 minute walk of the Zocale and other downtown attractions in Oaxaca, and it's quite reasonably priced. The highlights were the breakfast of cereals, yogurt and fresh fruit and juice on the rooftop terrace and the helpful advice on the what, where, and how, of seeing and enjoying the city and the surounding areas.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    71
    7
    10
    3
See reviews for
19
111
27
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corpus Christi, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2006

Azucenas is seven blocks from the Zocolo, which to me was just fine. It calls itself a hotel but it's closer to a small B&B, although the B is an additional US 4.40 pp.
The rooms are sufficient, although if one has claustophobia would go elsewhere. Only some rooms have windows and the street noise is fearsome, not just here but the entire city! Even with windows the rooms are uncomfortably warm and the fans cannot keep up with the heat, even with 50 deg F temps outside at night.
The rooftop breakfast area is wonderful, with great views of the city.
The people are very nice, thought most cannot speak much English, the owner, although a Canuk (just kidding), is also very nice and pleasant.
The prices are are of good value for this city. Most higher end hotels or B&B's have the same street noise problems so why pay more? We rented a car with our savings!

Helpful?
7 Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2006

Very nice small hotel ( really more a B&B ) in the centre of the city, only a few blocks away from the town square ( one of the nicest town squares I've seen ).

Found the place very clean, with helpful staff that were happy to make a myriad of suggestions . The rooftop sitting area is a delightful place to have breakfast while you look out over an old colonial city replete with many gorgeous old buildings.

Would certainly go there again if we returned for a second visit to Oaxaca city.

Helen and Evert, Kingston, Ontario

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2006

After a wild six hour minibus ride through the montains from Puerto Escondido, we arrived at the Las Azucenas hotel in Oaxaca and into the welcome embrace of Mexican/Canadian hospitality. The hotel is a turn of the century home beautifully converted into the perfect small hotel. It's style is Mexican in every detail. Rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. Coffee was ready mornings at 6:30 for those who went to the roof top patio to watch the sun rise over the mountains and city. A $4.50 breakfast followed of fruit, cereal and breads. The hotel is perfectly situated just blocks from the magnificent city square, cathedrals, museums, and restaurants. Donna, the owner and manager, is well informed about all the city and evirons have to offer, and she takes the time to share her knowledge and enthusiasm for the city with her guests. We highly recommend the Las Azucenas for those who don't want the expense and predictability of a Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse Yukon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2006

I stayed at this lovingly restored colonial hotel for a total of 7 nights and was very pleased.

The location was perfect. It was a quick walk along quieter residential streets to the Zocolo, great restaurants, museums and galleries. As a woman traveling alone, the hotel and neighborhood had a safe feel to them and I did not hesitate to venture out for a late meal or stroll after dark.

The rooms were on the smaller side but were bright, well ventilated, exceptionally clean and stylishly appointed, including comfortable beds complete with built-in backrests for reading!

The rooftop terrace was divine and the available breakfast with bottomless (and good)cups coffee was a great way to start the day!

The staff and owner were extremely helpful and friendly, assisting with everything from restaurant tips to finding good hotels on the coast.

Great value, great location, great service - what more does one need?

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fridavida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2006

I was a stranger to Mexico when I arrived at this wonderful hotel, and quickly oriented myself with the assistance of friendly and extremely helpful staff. I loved the tranquility of the hotel, I loved the decor of my (very clean) room and I loved the gorgeous rooftop garden terrace. I went there almost every day, be it for breakfast to fuel my excursions or later in the day for a quiet drink and some time to gaze over the city. Las Azucenas is really well situated - close to the main square, yet far enough away to afford some peace and quiet during fiestas, close to bus lines for out-of-city adventures and within easy walking distance to some great restaurants, galleries and museums. It was while I was staying at this hotel that I learned to love Oaxaca. I highly recommend it to you through this website, as I have to many others in person. It is a bargain and a delight.

Stayed December 2004
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, NJ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2006

We stayed in Azucenas for 3 nights in late August 2005. The place is very small, with nice service that is helpful and keeps the place clean. It is nice and perhaps charming in a way - a very good 2.5 hotel.

The best part of the hotel is the patio upstairs. Defenitely the best room is #10 upstairs - the brighest and most private one (and probably the largest).
Note that some of the rooms do not have windows!!! If you can, do ask for room 10.

The school outside across the street, and traffic may be noisy - true, but it the part of life in this city and you can live with that.

The location is no problem. Really the center of Oaxaca is so tiny, that everything is within easy walking distance. The zocalo is some 10 minutes away from Las Azucenas. And it is safe to walk back to the hotel at night - we did that many times. There is a very nice small coffee place just accross the intersection and a nice jazz place few block down the Matamoros - worth exploring.

Skip the breakfast they offer and instead buy goodies at the bakery near zocalo (unfortunately I forgot the name of the street), go back to the hotel and enjoy the fresh rolls and pies, while sipping coffee and sitting on the patio. Great way to start the day in Mexico.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thorgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa del Sotano
Hotel Casa del Sotano
#23 of 112 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Trebol
Hotel Trebol
#19 of 112 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.8 mi away
Los Pilares Hotel
Los Pilares Hotel
#11 of 112 in Oaxaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casona Oaxaca
Casona Oaxaca
#13 of 112 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Parador San Miguel Oaxaca
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aitana
Hotel Aitana
#35 of 112 in Oaxaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Azucenas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Azucenas

Property: Hotel Azucenas
Address: Calle Prof M Aranda 203, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Oaxaca
#8 Romantic Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Azucenas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Azucenas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azucenas Hotel Oaxaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing