We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and Perfect Hotel”
Review of Hotel Azucenas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Azucenas
Ranked #38 of 110 Hotels in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We spent 15 days at the hotel. The staff is friendly and very helpful. We love the rooftop patio with its riot of colorful plants and sun umbrellas on the tables. The breakfast is delicious and healthy. Fruit,granola, yogurt,bread,fresh juice and great coffee. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the downstairs open patio is delightful. Excellent wifi. It is a short walk to the Zocolo and various museums. Just enough exercise to keep us in shape. The owner is sharp and helpful and knows so much about Oaxaca. The managers are also organized friendly and helpful. Would stay there again. Thank you for a wonderful time. Accidentally rated the swimming pool. There is no pool so ignore the rating.

Room Tip: We love the room on the roof. We call it the penthouse. We were there during the full moon and had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelerisima, Owner at Hotel Azucenas, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Hi Michele H…Thanks for loving EVERYTHING about our hotel!
The wonderful thing about Oaxaca is that there is LOTS to do for 2 weeks or more…and we try to help our guests see a lot of it. Including some that is beyond the guidebooks.
It’s true that we don’t have a pool…but we do have a lovely fountain with 4 very handsome and congenial turtles.

We’re looking forward to seeing you again, Donna and the staff of Hotel Azucenas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (235)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 235 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2014

We spent six nights at Azucenas and loved it. This hotel is restful, quiet, cheerful, very very pretty and Mexican, and best of all it is well organized and functions very well. These people know how to make guests feel welcome! Anything you might need or want? They have it, will get it, or will call someone to bring it to you! The location is excellent for us b/c it is about 1.5 blocks from the plaza at La Soledad which is FULL OF ICE CREAM cafes. It's easy to get a cab to the Zocalo and markets, and the hotel's recommended taxis for longer trips are excellent. We felt right at home in this small friendly hotel. And, while we were there, the owner and staff were celebrating a birthday. We got up to the terrace for breakfast, and there was Donna the owner, offering us bowls of delicious celebratory bread pudding. I don't think you can go wrong with Hotel Azucenas! We'll be back.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a "bad" room at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Just returned from our first trip to Oaxaca and had the good fortune to stay at the Hotel Azucenas. Friendly and knowledgable staff and owner helped us make the most of our visit. Main floor room was clean and comfortable, albeit some traffic noise the first night that was subsequently masked by a white noise fan. Quality wi-fi accessible in all areas including the lovely roof top patio. Easy walk to all historico centro sites. Will return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PB_RB_761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelerisima, Owner at Hotel Azucenas, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Hola PB_RB_761… thanks for the compliments!
And we’re glad we helped you see Oaxaca…this is a big city with an astounding variety of things and places to see and enjoy…
We’re looking forward to your return, Donna and the staff at Hotel Azucenas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Just got back from 10 wonderful days in Mexico, which began at the Hotel Azucenas. This is a delightful spot, within easy walking distance of virtually any point in the city but just far enough removed from the hubbub to feel restful. I kept thinking of the movie A Room With a View, both because the rooftop terrace affords a spectacular view of Oaxaca and the hills beyond, but also because the other guests all seemed to be people of substance and intrigue, the kind of travelers who tend to venture off the beaten path that make you want to linger longer on the terrace to hear their stories and get their suggestions for places to explore around the city. The staff is warm and well-informed and go out of their way to make your stay a memorable one. Breakfasts were fresh and bountiful, flowers brightened every corner, and the mosaic work throughout the inn especially beautiful. You experience a real neighborhood, not a tourist zone, but once inside tranquility prevails. Our room was very quiet, and clean as a whistle. I don't think you'll find a better or more authentic place to perch in Oaxaca, nor a better roof with a view.

Room Tip: Our room was very quiet. The beds are VERY firm, a plus for some but I'm hoping there might be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanderingwretch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelerisima, Owner at Hotel Azucenas, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Hola Wanderingwretch – it was wonderful to have you with us for 10 days! It’s true that our terrace is a great place for relaxing…whether that means taking yourself off with a book…or meeting other travelers from all over the world. We get GREAT guests!!
The neighborhood is great, too! A very special little café, La Bizcocheria, with homemade goodies – just down the street; a place on the corner that opens at 8 pm every night to serve homemade tostadas and quesadillas filled with your choice of about 10 fillings (try “chileajo vegetables”); or the newer Pan-Am Panaderia (bakery) – baking filled croissants, muffins and breads…
AND FOR THOSE WHO PREFER A SOFTER BED – we now have “bed toppers” that can be added to your mattress!
Hope to see you again, soon! Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

My husband and I recently returned from our second stay at the Azucenas. The hotel is fabulous! First the basics: the rooms are clean and comfortable. Our rooftop room was quiet and our friends, of the main floor reported that hers was too. The staff is friendly and helpful. The location put us I easy walking distance of everything we wanted to do. The basics however are not enough to describe this hotel. The rooftop garden is beautiful, with a fabulous view of town. The breakfast buffet and honor system frig give the feeling of staying at a friend's home. The rooftop also creates a friendly atmosphere, inviting conversations with fellow travelers. The owner, Donna, and her staff answered 100 questions and helped us make arrangements for several special outings that added so much to our visit. We hope to return to Oaxaca and we will stay at the Azucenas when we do.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

This is a wonderful place to stay. It doesn't have TV - but does have free wi-fi - it doesn't have a swimming pool and the bathroom isn't all glass panelling but....... it is distinctively Oaxaca! Formerly a series of shops - postcards of contemporary photos show the building in the 30s - the 8 ground floor bedrooms at Hotel Azucenas are built around a central courtyard featuring a fountain, bougainvillea and poinsettia, not to mention four tortoises. The two other bedrooms are on the roof top with its lovely view over the town, its breakfast bar and its colourful garden dotted with umbrella-shaded tables. From the welcoming streetscape, the terra cotta colours continue inside and are complemented by lively mosaic work.

As well as character, Azucenas has all the essentials for comfort, very helpful staff, and a great location not far from the zocalo or the plaza San Domingo but quiet. Nancy's right about the lack of traffic noise.

I thought this was incredible value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Runningamok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

I just spent 10 days at Hotel Azucenas. This is my second stay here, and I recommend it to anyone looking for a charming, well-located and well-run hotel. Located near the zocalo, it is easy and safe to walk about to markets, museums, churches or restaurants. The staff is very helpful and able to arrange tours, trips and transportation. This is a small hotel with a convivial atmosphere. Breakfasts on the rooftop garden are simple but delicious and the garden is a lovely place to sit quietly or meet with friends to watch the sun set and the moon come up over the mountains. Flowers abound here ! The building is stone with an internal staircase so sounds can travel, but it is certainly not noisy. My room ( #1) was on the street, but with the well-designed, sound-dampening windows and shutters I slept very well. The "white noise" machines and ear plugs offered by the hotel were unnecessary, but available. The rooms are charming, clean, and comfortable. This is not an American motel - there is no TV. There is internet and a fountain with well-loved turtles. There are plenty of smiles from staff and Donna, the owner, is often around - laughing and chatting with her guests. She arranged to take a group of us to a great dinner at a very fine local restaurant, which was so far from the typical tourist path that we would not have found it ourselves. This hotel is more like staying with friends. . . a great place to stay !

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelerisima, Owner at Hotel Azucenas, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Hi Nancy W,
We love to see people again!
And we’re glad you enjoyed the atmosphere and our other wonderful guests – a sociable, curious and relaxed bunch.
Saludos from Donna, the staff and the turtles – “Azucenitas”, “Aranda”, “Tinoco” and “Palacios”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oaxaca hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aitana
Hotel Aitana
#45 of 110 in Oaxaca
238 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Del Marquesado
Hotel Del Marquesado
#21 of 110 in Oaxaca
64 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Antigua Curtiduria
Hotel Antigua Curtiduria
#61 of 110 in Oaxaca
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Parador San Agustin
Hotel Parador San Agustin
#17 of 110 in Oaxaca
174 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Trebol
Hotel Trebol
#18 of 110 in Oaxaca
226 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casona Oaxaca
Casona Oaxaca
#10 of 110 in Oaxaca
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Azucenas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Azucenas

Address: Calle Prof M Aranda 203, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Oaxaca
#8 Romantic Hotel in Oaxaca
Price Range: $44 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Azucenas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Azucenas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azucenas Hotel Oaxaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing